Question About Roms

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by petemac85, Feb 6, 2010.

  1. petemac85

    petemac85 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I am reading into the different roms and trying to figure everything out for the first time.. I understand that first i must root my phone in order to get any of them to work.. I also see that there is a way to back everything up so that you can switch back if necessary.. I really have 2 questions.. Which roms seems to be the best in everyones opinion? and the other is, so we first back up the phone and then root? or so we root and then back up?
     
  2. R1Lover

    R1Lover Senior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    1,701
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Northern Ca
    Ratings:
    +0
    just use the updater in the app store, works like a charm and does it all for you.
     
  3. petemac85

    petemac85 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    i think i want to back everything up just to make sure.. which is the best way to do that?
     
  4. natediddy1120

    natediddy1120 Silver Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    Messages:
    3,180
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Location:
    ???
    Ratings:
    +0
    This app from Sholes makes nandroid backups for you....installs SPRecovery and everything, and roots if you haven't done that yet! It's really handy if I was you I would go for that one and save yourself a lot of time
     
  5. petemac85

    petemac85 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    i just dont understand how i can go back if i dont like it
     
  6. KZIWarrior

    KZIWarrior Silver Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    2,609
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Nashville, TN
    Ratings:
    +2
    Well you don't really 'go back' you just flash whatever you want to put on next. This will generally just be another cooked ROM but if you do want to 'go back' to stock than you just flash an image of the stock ROM.

    The other option (which you should STILL DO REGARDLESS) is BEFORE you flash any ROM enter into SPRecovery and do a COMPLETE backup (means go into custom recovery and check all the options). Then no matter what happens you can just reenter recovery and restore that backup (note: a best practice is to give each backup a custom name so you can keep them straight).
     
  7. petemac85

    petemac85 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    im only worried about this rom because im reading about alot of problems with it.. are you familiar with these?
     
  8. roberj13

    roberj13 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    878
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    Ratings:
    +0
    Petemac, you have to do what you are comfortable with. I personally thought about the whole idea of rooting and getting a custom ROM for a while before I actually went ahead and did it. I felt more comfortable with it after being on this forum for a while and seeing how much support everyone gives on here, (not to mention, I don't think a case of anyone actually 'bricking' there phone has happened.)

    I first used Bugless Beast .74 (for two days..:)) which was great, then tried the SholesMod when they came out with the SMUpdater.

    Bugless Beast was great, SMUpdater gives Sholes the edge for ease of install, roots your phone and everything.

    Every ROM has its few little problems (I haven't run into anything I couldn't fix yet on this one though). These dev's seem committed to getting them ironed out though. I'm confident all the problems being reported will be corrected soon.
     
  9. petemac85

    petemac85 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    thank you so much.. that really made me feel better.. did you back everything up on your own? or did you let sholes do it?
     
  10. roberj13

    roberj13 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    878
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    Ratings:
    +0
    The SMUpdater makes a backup before it installs, I already had SPRecovery installed manually from when I originally rooted though so I had previous backups as well.

    Edit: To make myself more clear..

    SmUpdater, installs SPRecovery, does a Nandroid backup, then installs everything else.
     
    Last edited: Feb 7, 2010
  11. KZIWarrior

    KZIWarrior Silver Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    2,609
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Nashville, TN
    Ratings:
    +2
    BB (Bugless Beast) is pretty stable. I've only heard of a few people having issues and most of those, IMHO are probably them doing updates over an previous ROM (instead of a 'clean' install) or other things (app conflicts ect.) that they haven't correctly identified before 'blaming' the ROM.
     
  12. roberj13

    roberj13 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    878
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yeah I agree, didn't have any problems with Bugless Beast. It was stable and actually bugless for me. I FEEL like Sholes runs a lil bit faster, but that may be just my mind telling me that because thats what I have installed. Maybe the 50Mhz higher max? Doubt I could really tell a difference.

    Anyhow, can't go wrong with either IMO.
     
  13. roberj13

    roberj13 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    878
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    Ratings:
    +0
    BTW KZI, just moved from Nashville in November to Austin. Just in time to miss the snow you guys got! :icon_ banana:
     
  14. petemac85

    petemac85 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    thanks for your help guys! im trying to install now.. which music do i want to install?
     
  15. KZIWarrior

    KZIWarrior Silver Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    2,609
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Nashville, TN
    Ratings:
    +2
    LOL, lucky you. It wasn't the snow that was bad but the 1-2" of ice that came after the snow... then the random 'warm and sunny' day that was just enough to melt it only to have it refreeze the next day.... But my best-friend is in Northern Va. and they are getting HAMMERED. nearly 20" from what he was telling me earlier today.