Question about LauncherPro or ADW Launcher

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid X' started by CilyDroidX, Oct 31, 2010.

  1. CilyDroidX
    Offline

    CilyDroidX New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2010
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Hershey
    Do they void Warranty?
    Just got my Droid, want to customize it but not looking to hack it, nope.
    Just wish to add cool look to it. dont want it to look basic.dancedroid
    Im not finding this anywhere so i thought i would ask.
  2. jchargu3
    Offline

    jchargu3 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2010
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    No they do not, they are just simple software add ins


    You'll need homeswitcher and then whichever launcher you decide to use.

    I use Launcher Pro and Ibought the plus version so I can resize widgets/etc
  3. chkmate
    Offline

    chkmate New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2010
    Messages:
    2,242
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Round Rock, TX
    No. They do not void warranty.

    I like them both. ADW has themes that change a little of the look. Icons and such. Their both good apps.

    c]=[k(V)8's Droid X Tapatalk
  4. JustLeft
    Online

    JustLeft Guest

    Homeswitcher says it doesn't work with Froyo, so I have been hesitant to install LauncherPro. Any way to switch between the stock launcher and launcherpro? When I tried launcherpro the only way I could switch back to the stock launcher was to uninstall launcherpro. I must be missing something.

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums App
  5. mentaloaf
    Offline

    mentaloaf New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2010
    Messages:
    196
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Whats homeswitcher? I got my new droid 1 in the mail and immediately installed launcher pro with no problems at all....now Im rooted and feeling much better
  6. chkmate
    Offline

    chkmate New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2010
    Messages:
    2,242
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Round Rock, TX
    I've used home switcher on froyo. It will usually pick one of the switchers, ADW or Launcher Pro as your default. And I only put one launcher on at a time. Ran good for me:)

    But that's me.

    c]=[k(V)8's Droid X Tapatalk
  7. chkmate
    Offline

    chkmate New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2010
    Messages:
    2,242
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Round Rock, TX
    Home Switcher lets you switch between default, ADW or Launcher Pro by the hit of a button. Instead of uninstalling a launcher to get back to the blur launcher.


    c]=[k(V)8's Droid X Tapatalk
  8. spaz33g
    Offline

    spaz33g Rescue Squad Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2010
    Messages:
    6,379
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    orange county, ca
    Home switcher will work for switching between homescreens but as for setting a default its a little spotty, in fact I don't know if it works at all but I still use it every day.

    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums App
  9. JustLeft
    Online

    JustLeft Guest

    To be clear, you are able to switch between launcherpro and the stock homescreen and you are on froyo?

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums App
  10. spaz33g
    Offline

    spaz33g Rescue Squad Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2010
    Messages:
    6,379
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    orange county, ca
    Yes. I can switch between lp stock and adw all day everyday with no issues. Just a basic tip for using multiple launchers though, remove all widgets from the launchers you aren't using.

    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums App
  11. chkmate
    Offline

    chkmate New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2010
    Messages:
    2,242
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Round Rock, TX
    The only reason I didn't keep them both on, ADW and LP is cause every time I hit the home button it would bring up the Switcher option. Did you find an option to turn that off? Cause when you only have one installed you have to launch it.

    Got tired of trying to back out of somewhere and it popping that screen up.


    c]=[k(V)8's Droid X Tapatalk
  12. spaz33g
    Offline

    spaz33g Rescue Squad Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2010
    Messages:
    6,379
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    orange county, ca
    When that screen shows up there should be a little checkmark at the bottom that says default. If you check that and then click which launcher you use most it will make it the default (at least it should) and that pop up won't show up anymore.

    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums App
  13. erict
    Offline

    erict New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2010
    Messages:
    292
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ok, I have a question. I'm running 2.1 on my x and would launcher pro work? Also, do I need homeswitcher? And last, can I just delete launcher pro if I don't like it and it will just revert back to my stock one?

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums App
  14. gunz.jones
    Offline

    gunz.jones New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2010
    Messages:
    336
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Adw and lp work on 1.5 up I think. Cyanogenmod used them in a few versions and it worked fine. Do not need home switcher unless you have different tastes from day to day. And if you uninstall it goes back to stock....
  15. erict
    Offline

    erict New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2010
    Messages:
    292
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Do I have to delete any wigets or anything before I load LP? If not, do my current ones stay the same if I switch back to stock? And do they carry over to LP?

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums App
  16. chkmate
    Offline

    chkmate New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2010
    Messages:
    2,242
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Round Rock, TX
    Some widgets do not work with launcher pro. But if you buy the full version there are widgets with it that are cool.

    c]=[k(V)8's Droid X Tapatalk
  17. chkmate
    Offline

    chkmate New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2010
    Messages:
    2,242
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Round Rock, TX
    Yea spaz. I don't know why but selecting default would never work for me.

    c]=[k(V)8's Droid X Tapatalk
  18. spaz33g
    Offline

    spaz33g Rescue Squad Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2010
    Messages:
    6,379
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    orange county, ca
    Yeah I think it has to do with froyo permissions but I don't really know.

    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums App
  19. spaz33g
    Offline

    spaz33g Rescue Squad Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2010
    Messages:
    6,379
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    orange county, ca
    Nothing will carry over, when you load up lp the first time it will be a blank slate. I would remove all of the widgets from the stock launcher before starting lp.

    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums App
  20. smalltowngirl13
    Offline

    smalltowngirl13 DF Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Messages:
    6,562
    Likes Received:
    322
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Kansas
    Both are good home screen replacements - home switcher will work on 2.2 but you cannot set the default from there...if you currently have either LP or ADW set as default, you would have to clear the default in the system settings (settings - applications - manage applications - find the app, open, press clear defaults) and now when you press the "home" button, you can select a new default.

    There is another app called "home manager" - I have not tried this one but it is to work in a similar fashion.

    @erict - your current home screen will not carry over to a replacement app - you would have to customize it how you want - after all, that is half the fun :)...
Search tags for this page
adw launcher warrenty
,
android launchers do they void warranty
,
change launcher void warranty
,
do third party launchers void warranty
,
does adwlauncher void warranty
,

does go launcher void warranty

,

does launcher pro void warranty

,
does launchers void phone warranty
,
installing launchers void my warranty?
,
use a droid launcher and void warranty?
,
warranty problems of using launcher
,
will launcher void warranty