question about kernel and oc

Discussion in 'Bugless' started by Joey77042, May 25, 2010.

  1. Joey77042
    Offline

    Joey77042 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2009
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    If i installed the 1.0GHz 7 Slot LV kernel, Does that mean i still need to do something else to OC up to 1.0Ghz? Or Is it already running at that speed?

    Thanks for your time.
  2. Abe21599
    Offline

    Abe21599 DF Super Moderator Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    6,345
    Likes Received:
    29
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Ohio
    a kernel will allow you to overclock to its max speed

    so no, you will not have to (but you need setcpu to still set the speed)
  3. SupAll
    Offline

    SupAll New Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2010
    Messages:
    203
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Not if he has kept Pete's file. In this case, setCPU won't be needed as the file will automatically adjust the speed of the kernel in accordance to demand.
  4. Abe21599
    Offline

    Abe21599 DF Super Moderator Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    6,345
    Likes Received:
    29
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Ohio
    i thought you had to change it to be able to overclock the new BB?
  5. lee__D
    Offline

    lee__D New Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2010
    Messages:
    246
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    nah BB v1.0 it overclocks itself, from what i've read

    u can still use setCPU for profiles, but u dont have to have it to overclock.
  6. tameone
    Offline

    tameone New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2010
    Messages:
    262
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Already running at that speed. You don't have to do anything.
  7. pdroid
    Offline

    pdroid New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    2,252
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Philly
    Since you posted this in the Bugless forum, if you're running BB 1.0, you don't have to do anything further.
  8. groovydeus
    Offline

    groovydeus New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2010
    Messages:
    188
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    39.8° N 84.2° W
    ...trust in Pete. dancedroid