Question about Incredible Phone Activation

Discussion in 'HTC Droid Incredible' started by jkhonea, Apr 21, 2010.

  1. jkhonea
    Offline

    jkhonea DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010
    Messages:
    3,016
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Snellville, GA
    I've been thinking harder about what the online sales rep told me regarding activating the Incredible when it comes in. He said when you get the phone, one of the first things you do on activation is enter the phone number that the phone will be accredited to. This detail is important to me as I'm purchasing the phone through my secondary line upgrade discount. So basically, the phone will actually be on a different line than what I purchased it through.

    Anyone have any experience or thoughts on this? Does this sound right or does anyone know for sure? Trying to make this process as painless as possible when it arrives.
  2. LtKen
    Offline

    LtKen New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    2,637
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    It doesnt matter what line you purchase the phone through, only the line it's activated on. I bought my Droid using someone else's line upgrade, and had no problems activating the phone. VZW does this all the time, so it's a non-issue.
  3. jkhonea
    Offline

    jkhonea DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010
    Messages:
    3,016
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Snellville, GA
    Ahh great, heard something different from a woman that works at Verizon tonight. I always love hearing conflicting information. LOL
  4. LtKen
    Offline

    LtKen New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    2,637
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yeah, not sure how it works with internet orders or anything, but it shouldnt be a big deal at all. You may have to physically visit the store to make sure numbers work out, but I'm certain that the phone line used and the phone line purchased do not need to be the same thing.
  5. jkhonea
    Offline

    jkhonea DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010
    Messages:
    3,016
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Snellville, GA
    Yup, you're correct about that. Apparently the main thing she said is that the phone MUST initially be activated on the line you purchased it on and then the numbers switched back in system or its very possible to end up a couple months down the road getting a bill for the remainder of the FULL price of the phone. Definitely don't want to have the surprise hit me.
  6. Weapondrift
    Offline

    Weapondrift New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2010
    Messages:
    278
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    St. Simons Island, GA
    I was told that when I recieve my phone, I am to turn off my existing phone (the phone that has my current number) and dial *228>1 then going through the steps the "over the phone" person will port my current number over to the Droid.
  7. jkhonea
    Offline

    jkhonea DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010
    Messages:
    3,016
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Snellville, GA
    That's where it gets tricky. The phone I'm using the upgrade discount from isn't the same phone I'm replacing with the Incredible. I'm using the upgrade from my second line to change the phone on the primary line.
  8. LtKen
    Offline

    LtKen New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    2,637
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    There's no trick, there's no trouble. Just call VZW when you get the phone and explain what you want done. I really think you guys are overthinking this thing.
  9. jkhonea
    Offline

    jkhonea DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010
    Messages:
    3,016
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Snellville, GA
    Oh I can pretty much assure you I'm doing that. I'm notorious for it. LOL
  10. THE WITCH
    Offline

    THE WITCH New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    MA & NH
    When someone receives their new HTC Incredible, would you post how you activated your existing phone number onto the new HTC.

    I have a Blackberry and I am not sure how to activate the new HTC. I wish that Verizon would provide better instructions with their phones. When I received my Blackberry two years ago, it was very frustrating trying to activate the phone.

    I can't wait to see how everyone will react to the phone.
  11. MiXoLoGiSt
    Offline

    MiXoLoGiSt New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2010
    Messages:
    1,334
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    SoCal
    Easiest and probably best thing i can think of is when it arrives don't even take it out of the box and head to your local Verizon Corporate store and have them activate it. There should be no charge for it to be done at all.
  12. givmedew
    Offline

    givmedew New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2009
    Messages:
    175
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    St Pete, FL and Aurora, IL
    You must place the order from the phone that is eligible then when you get the phone you must accept the terms and conditions.

    Important part that makes it all easy. At the end of accepting the terms and conditions it asks you if you want to activate the phone now push 1 later push 2 select later. Now that was accurate last I bought a phone that way which was a storm last year. Then you can go online and hit activate phone select the number you want and type in the esn from the phone then fallow the programming instructions on the phone.

    Boom done no need to call vzw or drive and wait in line to bother a rep at a store! Make sure you run backup assistant on the old phone first!!! As you will not be doing a phone book transfer at a vzw store since some don't have the cell brites others charge 20 to use and most won't be able to do it at launch anyways!

    If your are planning on bringing this thing into a store just wait and buy it from the store.

    Enjoy that phone!
  13. givmedew
    Offline

    givmedew New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2009
    Messages:
    175
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    St Pete, FL and Aurora, IL
    Absolute worse thing I could think of doing. If they activate they will bypass the terms and conditions that wad set up for you and it is possible that you could end up paying the diff between the 2yr price and full retail on your bill.

    This is why they include step by step instructions on how to activate it lol. Why would anyone want to waist time driving then waiting in line to have a vzw rep open they box grab the sheet of paper turn the phone around and tell you to dial the 800 numbed in the activation instructions and that's if your lucky and they don't just activate it at the terminal!
  14. Weapondrift
    Offline

    Weapondrift New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2010
    Messages:
    278
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    St. Simons Island, GA
    As soon as I get mine Ill post how I did it but Im telling you *229 >1 should get it done for us.

    +1
  15. deltomto
    Offline

    deltomto New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    about the activation. Its called an alternate upgrade they are done everyday without any issues the computer system generally takes care of it. Worst case scenario you do an esn change after the initial activation to the MTN you want it on.

    About the Terms and Conditions. At the store they will not be able to activate the phone until the Terms and Conditions have been accepted so no worries about the two year price changing to full retail.
  16. papaskispartan
    Offline

    papaskispartan New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2009
    Messages:
    146
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    MA
    I will tell you this, I got jacked with an extra bill a month or so ago. I added an additional line to get my Droid back in December. As soon as I got the phone from Fedex, before I even turned the phone on, I called the big red and activate the droid, and switched the phone to my primary line. Well two months later I get a $18+ fee for pro rated data use.....what Verizon claimed, that I must pay that use of data that was on the original Droid line that I transfered an old phone too. Basically they said I was using data on a non Data line.....
  17. MiXoLoGiSt
    Offline

    MiXoLoGiSt New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2010
    Messages:
    1,334
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    SoCal
    I did my Droid this way. I used a different lines upgrade and just had the phone and smartphone plan put onto my line. I will do it this way with the Incredible also. There is no risk of you getting charged the full retail price of the phone. They activate it on the line you choose while you are there. There is more of a risk activating it from home than there is doing it in store. I buy all my phones in store so i don't got to deal with the stupid BS.
    Where do you come up with this idea that they could charge you full retail for the phone for activating the phone on a separate line? And how is a VZW Rep bypassing the terms and conditions for activating a phone for you? These things are their JOB!!
Search tags for this page
activate htc droid incredible
,

activate htc incredible

,
activate verizon incredible#gsc.tab
,
droid forum incredible.2 activation
,
how do i activate my htc incredible to verizon on-line
,
how to activate htc incredible from home screen
,

how to activate htc incredible verizon

,
how to bypass activation on htc droid incredible for verizon
,

htc droid incredible willnot activate

,

htc incredible activation number

,
if i activate my droid incredible on a new line do i get to