Question about ICS update for Root

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid Bionic' started by BeyondReality, Oct 26, 2012.

  1. BeyondReality
    Offline

    BeyondReality New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New Jersey
    Hey Guys... I know that if you are rooted the easiest way to update right now is to use the RSDlite to install .246. But as I understand it than I will lose root and my phone will reset back to stock.

    Right now there is no other option but what are the chances of this being changed in the upcoming weeks? Do you guys think someone will develop a method to update where I wont have to reset my phone to stock or lose root?

    If you guys tell me there is no way that is going to happen than I will update the RSDlite method, but knowing the android community I find that hard to believe. Someone has to develop an easier method pretty soon right?

    Im running Stock ROM, root 5.9.905

    Thanks
  2. Crazebeats
    Offline

    Crazebeats New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2012
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    You lose root regardless, it's a complete /system change. Just reroot it after its like a 4 reboot process.

    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using Tapatalk 2
  3. sst45jeff
    Offline

    sst45jeff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    313
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    18
    If you use voodoo root keeper & take the OTA you will not lose root.
  4. Zregnier
    Offline

    Zregnier New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2011
    Messages:
    234
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    ICT
    +1 - worked for me too
  5. BeyondReality
    Offline

    BeyondReality New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New Jersey
    Hey guys, Thanks for reply. I tried the OTA root keeper for update. I download it and go to install. It restarts and than fails. I get a message saying that the update failed. That is after I used the rootkeeper to temp disable the root and I unfrosted all of my apps. I dont know why else it would fail.
  6. Mustang02
    Offline

    Mustang02 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2010
    Messages:
    1,106
    Likes Received:
    44
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Cleveland Ohio
    Just FXZ to 246 then run Razr's edge to get root back. You don't need to use "Root Keeper" or anything of the sort.
  7. DeSoto
    Offline

    DeSoto New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2011
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I had the same problem with the OTA not installing
    I did exactly what Mustang suggests
    FXZ to 246 & Razr's edge to root
    It worked great
  8. reebz
    Offline

    reebz Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    192
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Fresno, CA.
    ditto. piece of cake.
  9. pchmst
    Offline

    pchmst New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2010
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    +1

    If you used safestrap your /preinstall partition is all jacked up. And fixing it isn't worth it.

    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using Tapatalk 2
Search tags for this page

how to update a rooted droid bionic

,

ics root update

,

root use update ics

,

update root ics