Question about easiest way to update after z4root

wesdo2gg

Reaction score
I've read several posts here about doing updates after z4root and maybe some of vets on this board can help out. Am I understanding that once an OTA comes out, I need to backup USER .apk using titanium backup, unroot the device, accept the OTA, reboot/ battery pull, then reroot, and then install the backup .apk's?

A little background: I am using a droid X with a stock ROM and I rooted for some basic abilities like tethering. I'm currently on .340 but I know that a new OTA will come eventually and I'm looking for a better way to disable the OTA's without having to change the file to a .bak where it would continue to draw off of the battery. Again, it seems like the more I read different forums, the more confused about things I become, as there is still much to be learned about Droid. I'm still learning this OS but I'm pretty good with many other devices. I've not removed any bloatware and besides the root, nothing much has really changed besides adding some apps for root users. Thanks again for the help.

tatuud

Reaction score
I've read several posts here about doing updates after z4root and maybe some of vets on this board can help out. Am I understanding that once an OTA comes out, I need to backup USER .apk using titanium backup, unroot the device, accept the OTA, reboot/ battery pull, then reroot, and then install the backup .apk's?