Question about Droid

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid' started by cwiggler, Nov 29, 2010.

  1. cwiggler

    cwiggler New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hello everyone. i am new in the forum. first of all i don't own a droid but soon i will have it in my hands because i will buy from craigslist.

    i really like this smartphone and im dying to have it but i have a few questions to ask just to clear up my mind.

    1. is this phone a GSM phone where i can use a sim card to other countries aside from US? i am going to use the phone in singapore..

    2. is this phone already running android 2.2? or if still using the old 2.1, can i update to 2.2 even though i am here in singapore?

    3. once i rooted the phone, is it possible to install a themes?

    my concern is that maybe i cannot use this phone in a GSM countries and i cannot update the OS.

    thank you.
     
  2. cwiggler

    cwiggler New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi phonewiz thanks for the reply. my concern is the GSM thing. is the phone capable to GSM network? i know in US it is CDMA.
     
  3. cwiggler

    cwiggler New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    no ones answer my question. does verizon motorola droid has a gsm or sim card capability?
     
  4. spaz33g

    spaz33g Rescue Squad Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2010
    Messages:
    6,374
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Location:
    orange county, ca
    Ratings:
    +0
    No it is not. You would need the d2g for that.

    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums App
     
  5. cwiggler

    cwiggler New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    spaz33g i think you missed the content of your reply. there's no message except Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums App
     
  6. cwiggler

    cwiggler New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    oh im soo sad to hear that.. i thought i would have that phone.. what about motorola backflip? sorry im off topic now :(
     
  7. myriad46

    myriad46 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009
    Messages:
    473
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Upstate, NY
    Ratings:
    +0
    Go to www.attwireless.com and www.t-mobile.com . All those phones are GSM.

    Go to www.verizonwireless.com. All those phones are not.

    You will also be able to see what software version they were sold with.

    Once you root, you can change anything you want, including themes.

    Good Luck.
     
  8. takeshi

    takeshi Silver Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    4,581
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Ratings:
    +0
    Don't forget you can always check the manufacturer's site for specs:
    DROID by Motorola - Android phone - Tech Specs - Motorola USA
    Try looking for the Milestone.
     
  9. mttj

    mttj New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2010
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    OS for Verizon?

    Does anyone know if the Droid via verizon is running 2.1 or 2.2. I'm thinking to get a Verizon acct (ATT is lousy here) with the free droid but want to know what I'm getting myself into
     
  10. spaz33g

    spaz33g Rescue Squad Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2010
    Messages:
    6,374
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Location:
    orange county, ca
    Ratings:
    +0
    I believe it is 2.2 out of the box

    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums App
     
  11. cwiggler

    cwiggler New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    thank you everyone for the advice. it helps a lot for a newbie like me. till next time :)
     
Search tags for this page

does the droid 2 r2d2 use a sim card

,

motorola droid r2d2 sim card location

,

verizon r2d2 droid 2 sim card

,

verizon r2d2 droid sim card location