question about droid overseas

Discussion in 'Android General Discussions' started by Aquaman791, Jan 27, 2010.

  1. Aquaman791
    Offline

    Aquaman791 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hi everyone,

    I have a question and I realize it might sound dumb to some people, so please forgive me...

    I work on merchant ships and I will be going on a ship within the next few weeks. I am not sure yet where I am going, but it will be overseas. I know that the droid is not a "world phone," but I still want to use it as a music player/alarm clock. Will I get screwed over with any roaming charges if I have it on while I'm overseas? And I know that my old phone had to have a signal to have the clock work, is this the same way with the droid? I also thought that I could put it on airplane mode while I am at sea because I think this prevents the droid from accessing the network. Can anyone shed any light on the subject for me? Thanks a lot in advance.


    -John
  2. roflcopters
    Offline

    roflcopters New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    Messages:
    172
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Savannah, GA
    Just turn airplane mode on to disable all connections
    On a further note though, since the Droid is a CDMA phone, it takes CDMA signals. It can't roam off a signal type it doesn't support in the first place
    Last edited: Jan 27, 2010
  3. LifeIsABeach
    Offline

    LifeIsABeach New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2009
    Messages:
    1,290
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I would put it in airplane mode. Nothing burns my battery life faster than being in a dead spot and constantly searching for a network signal.
  4. zero7starz
    Offline

    zero7starz New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010
    Messages:
    142
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Kansas
    You shouldn't be hit with roaming charges unless you're actively using your services (making calls, using data, SMSing ect) the clock/mp3 player functions shouldn't cost you at all.

    If you can figure out where you're going, you might check with CC to see if you COULD get signal there, as CDMA network works in all of North America, and extends into some other parts of the world, too. Obviously the Droid can't roam on GSM with out a SIM card, but it never hurts to check. They might also have some inexpensive "international" features you could add, as well, so IF you can get service you can use it without being charged a ton.

    Otherwise, airplane mode would probably be wise so no one could contact your phone resuling in charges.
  5. takeshi
    Offline

    takeshi New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    4,600
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Just wanted to clarify as the wording of the statement above makes it sound as if you have a SIM card you can roam on GSM networks with the Droid. The Droid isn't GSM capable at all so even if you have a SIM card it won't operate on GSM networks.
  6. Rettocs
    Offline

    Rettocs New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009
    Messages:
    177
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    This. But as others have said anyway, if you are away from an active connection, the phone will get into a searching cycle that will rip through the battery life. Airplane mode is great!
  7. Aquaman791
    Offline

    Aquaman791 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    great, thanks a lot for all the help guys
  8. jkwakopo
    Offline

    jkwakopo New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2010
    Messages:
    82
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0

    S.Korea has CDMA Tech just like N.A.. It will probably work there... I haven't been to Korea with droid yet but my older phones used to work in Korea..
  9. scottl
    Offline

    scottl New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I am heading to S. Korea tomorrow, so I will let you know for sure once I get back...
Search tags for this page

can i use a droid charge in korea

,

moto x verizon data doesn't work in korea

,

using my droid x in korea