question about cyanogenmod

Discussion in 'Cyanogenmod - D2' started by mgarney26, Sep 4, 2011.

  1. mgarney26

    mgarney26 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2011
    Messages:
    592
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    mobile alabama
    Ratings:
    +0
    trying to download cyanogenmod from rom manager premium but all i get is a blank screen after clicking it wth?
     
  2. pressguy27

    pressguy27 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2011
    Messages:
    181
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    michigan
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yeah I get that to. I don't think they use that section anymore. If you want cyanogen just download the newest nightly and you will be all set

    Sent from my DROID2 using CM7
     
  3. idefiler6

    idefiler6 Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2011
    Messages:
    243
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
  4. mgarney26

    mgarney26 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2011
    Messages:
    592
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    mobile alabama
    Ratings:
    +0
    does the file need to be extracted to my computer and placed on my sd card from my computer or can i just download the entire .zip file directly to my phone, and install from zip when i get into recovery using bootstrap? also i have never had cyanogen mod on my phone before this should place the actual rom on there am i right? thanks alot guys
     
  5. idefiler6

    idefiler6 Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2011
    Messages:
    243
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    Find RSDLite for windows online, then follow the installation instructions in the thread I linked. You will need to wipe back to stock, then go to About Phone and check for updates. Get the newest update (gingerbread) and then you'll have to root it, get bootstrapper, then load the zip file from your SD card, no need to extract.
     
  6. mgarney26

    mgarney26 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2011
    Messages:
    592
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    mobile alabama
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ok im currently on it's stock gingerbread and I rooted that last night using the DROID 3 method...why do I need to go back to group?

    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums
     
  7. mgarney26

    mgarney26 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2011
    Messages:
    592
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    mobile alabama
    Ratings:
    +0
    Edit im on DROID 2 it's that I rooted using DROID 3 method so why do I need to go back?

    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums
     
  8. idefiler6

    idefiler6 Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2011
    Messages:
    243
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    If you got the OTA GB update and rooted with D3, then all that's left is to flash the rom in recovery. Put the CM7 zip file on your SD card, reboot recovery, then choose install zip from SD card > select the file and hit it. You'll also want to get gapps too, flash that at the same time.
     
  9. mgarney26

    mgarney26 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2011
    Messages:
    592
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    mobile alabama
    Ratings:
    +0
    Is there a link I need for the gaps as well?

    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums
     
  10. mgarney26

    mgarney26 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2011
    Messages:
    592
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    mobile alabama
    Ratings:
    +0
    And how do I flash both at the same time? Do I flash one first then the other?

    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums
     
  11. idefiler6

    idefiler6 Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2011
    Messages:
    243
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    goo-inside.me - gapps downloads

    Flash CM7GB first, when that completes, choose the same option but flash the gapps zip file instead. All of this is covered in the official thread.
     
  12. OleGent

    OleGent New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2011
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I just flashed the CM7GB and i am stuck in a boot loop. I had the OTA Gingerbread on my droid 2. I wiped data, cache, and dalvik. any help?
     
  13. idefiler6

    idefiler6 Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2011
    Messages:
    243
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
  14. mgarney26

    mgarney26 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2011
    Messages:
    592
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    mobile alabama
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks bro

    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums
     
  15. OleGent

    OleGent New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2011
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Cm4d2-gb-2011-9-03