Question about "Copy / Paste" text on the Pro

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid Pro' started by spydergirl, Nov 21, 2011.

  1. spydergirl
    Online

    spydergirl Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2010
    Messages:
    372
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Pennsylvania, USA
    This might sound silly, but I just can't seem to figure it out. I've had trouble learning to copy & paste text on my Pro since I've had it. I LOVED the option on my BBerry because I could just hold down a key and roll over the text I wanted to select and it would highlight it easily for me. Not so much luck with the Droid Pro.

    Since the recent software update, I noticed a new feature where a little "bar" shows up in the area where I'm texting that I can move around. I noticed that it also sometimes shows up in text from emails or websites and when I accidentally moved it around, it highlighted various text! Surprise surprise! But I have no idea how to GET that feature to work when I want/need it. It looks like exactly what I need, but I just have to figure out how to make it work. *LOL*

    Hope that made sense. Thanks in advance if you can help. :)
  2. badcat
    Offline

    badcat New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2011
    Messages:
    67
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Connecticut
    It makes sense to me because I came from the BB world and some functions (like cut and paste) just worked so well. One problem I've found is a lack of consistency between apps. Browsers seem to have their own method which is different then say, GMail. In GMail long press the text you want to copy and you should see two bars appear. Drag the bars so the contain they entire text you want to copy, then long press the text again and you should see a pop up that says "text copied to clipboard". It does work but takes a little practice. In some apps you might find you'll get a dialogue box that asks you what you want to do and select text will be one of the options.
    Last edited: Nov 27, 2011
  3. SAVVY_1
    Offline

    SAVVY_1 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2011
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I've also noticed sometimes when I've highlighted the text to be copied (orange color);
    * long pressing on the highlighted portion doesn't always work
    * pressing menu & "c" doesn't work sometimes
    *** But double clicking the highlighted area is successful.
    I have found the latest OTA update to have some major drawbacks & the copy/ paste feature is one of them.
    Also, the clipboard is no longer there. It used to automatically temp store a list of the last 10+ copied info. It was great! I've resorted to a clipboard app in the interim.


    Sent from my DROID Pro using DroidForums
  4. SAVVY_1
    Offline

    SAVVY_1 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2011
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Badcat, well-stated! You summed it up well.

    Sent from my DROID Pro using DroidForums
  5. badcat
    Offline

    badcat New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2011
    Messages:
    67
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Connecticut
    Wait... I was right??? :biggrin:
Search tags for this page
android wont paste
,
copy page motorola pro
,
droid razr wont paste what was copied
,
how do i copy & paste on facebook with my android phone
,
how do you copy and paste on the droid pro
,

how to copy and paste on a droid pro

,
how to copy and paste on facebook on motorola
,
how to copy and paste on motorola droid pro
,
how to copy and paste text on motorola droid 4
,

how to paste a link on droid pro

,
motorola android copy paste text
,
motorola droid pro how to paste