Question About Backing Up ROMs

Discussion in 'Android Roms' started by johnsorrick, Dec 20, 2010.

1. johnsorrick

johnsorrick New Member

So I'm fairly new to having a rooted Droid and using different ROMs but I seem to be getting the hang of it. When I download and install a ROM (for example, I am running the newest Bugless Beast ROM), then install all of my own apps and configure settings, views, etc. When I use ROM Manager to backup the ROM, does it only back up stock apps/settings, or does it back up all of the ones I've installed as well?

I'm wondering for when I switch back and forth between different ROMs, I don't want to have to re-install and re-configure everything. Any advice would be appreciated... thank you.

John
  2. mtnbkrbob

mtnbkrbob New Member

im not an expert but i use sp recovery and when i chose evrything when making a nand back up it backs up EVERYTHING! so when i go to flash back to a previouse rom (aka back up) it sets everything back the the way it was when i made the back up. you can also make just a data back up then flash that after you flash a new rom and most of the time it will just install the data so your setting and apps and stuff like that will but alread done when you reboot. ive tried it even with the new gingerbread rom and it worked i didnt have to dl nothing.

hope this helps?

bob
  3. johnsorrick

johnsorrick New Member

Ok, like I said, I'm still new to this, but I have a couple of questions...

#1 How do you make a nandroid backup or is that what I'm doing when I backup my ROM through ROM Manager?

#2 What's the difference between flashing a new ROM and Installing a ROM from the SD card (which is the option I get through ROM Manager)?

Sorry if I sound like an idiot...
  4. corman324

corman324 New Member