Question About Acutality of Results of "Forced Stop"

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid Turbo' started by TxDoc, Sep 15, 2015.

  1. TxDoc

    TxDoc Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    465
    Likes Received:
    73
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    TEXAS
    Ratings:
    +75
    Current Phone Model:
    XT1635-01
    This may need to be posted in a completely different part of the total forum. If so, just move it.

    When you "Force Stop" an app:
    1-the app is still available for access and use..correct? It's just suspended?
    2-The app is not running in the background...correct?
    3-If you have the box checked for "show notifications"...you will be alerted that updates are available?
    4-If you force stop an app...when you restart the phone, will it remain as forced stopped?
    5-When force stopped, the app will not be consuming RAM memory space..correct?
    6-If you have an app that you do not use, i.e. daily weekly, and want to access it faster than having to re-install it, and update it, is it feasible to just force stop it and when you click on the shortcut, it will run fine and need to be re-force stopped? Or, is it really best to uninstall the app and simply find it, re-install it and run it?

    If there are any things that you know about the forced stop state that I, or others, may not be aware of or should know, please include that info.

    Thanks for the help and replies.
     
  2. mountainbikermark

    mountainbikermark Super Moderator
    Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2010
    Messages:
    7,455
    Likes Received:
    3,886
    Trophy Points:
    1,563
    Ratings:
    +4,348
    Yes to all but #4 and possibly #6.
    #6, if it's consuming cpu (battery) when idle I'd suggest either uninstall and install only as needed or look for a more battery friendly alternative app that does the same thing.
    Without knowing which app you're writing about it's hard to elaborate further.

    Support Our Troops !!!
    <><
    Beast Mode 4
     
    • Like Like x 2
  3. Mustang02

    Mustang02 Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2010
    Messages:
    7,625
    Likes Received:
    5,115
    Trophy Points:
    1,563
    Location:
    Ohio
    Ratings:
    +6,073
    Current Phone Model:
    Nexus 6P/5X
    Are you confusing Force Stop with Disable? Force Stop is like End Task in Windows. It kills the process for that second and restarts it when you request the app again.
     
    • Like Like x 2
  4. Jonny Kansas

    Jonny Kansas Administrator
    Staff Member Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    16,488
    Likes Received:
    7,065
    Trophy Points:
    1,278
    Location:
    Michigan's Upper Peninsula
    Ratings:
    +8,407
    Current Phone Model:
    Pixel XL
    Twitter:
    jonny_ks
    To add to this, you don't always have to "request" the app again. If it's an app that runs in the background, force stopping it will stop it momentarily, but I believe they can start up their background processes again.

    If an app starts on boot, rebooting the phone will definitely start it back up in the background.

    However, unless an app is running background processes, even if it's listed in RAM usage, if it's not in the foreground, it's not running or using up resources for the most part. It's basically in suspended animation. Some exceptions to this are Music players, youtube (if you've got the ability to listen in the background), and anything else that does things behind the scenes while other apps are running.

    If you've got a specific case scenario, we may be able to offer you a bit more information to help you decide what the best practice will be for you.
     
    • Like Like x 4
  5. TxDoc

    TxDoc Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    465
    Likes Received:
    73
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    TEXAS
    Ratings:
    +75
    Current Phone Model:
    XT1635-01
    My apologies to mountainbikermark, Mustang02 and Jonny Kansas.
    I was looking in on the forum and was shocked to see that I had not replied. I know that I read the replies and typed a reply. This was after being up for about 29 hours. I either did not hit post reply or something. Wow. My apologies.


    Very helpful information and straightened me out. I uninstalled a few I rarely use. I disabled others that I use only once a week, or so. And, forced stopped some I use every couple of days. I have less running in the background, for no useful reason and it did help.

    I remember how little, but valuable, having all the available RAM memory was to my computer in the late 80's. Adding memory helped a lot. I guess that is hard to forget. I seem to remember paying a lot for 1 meg of RAM memory in 1987. But, the more you had, the better your computer ran. I know other things help speed, but that is hard to get away from.

    Anyway, thanks so much for the quick and helpful replies, and again, please accept my apologies for the slow reply.
     
    • Like Like x 6
  6. Jonny Kansas

    Jonny Kansas Administrator
    Staff Member Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    16,488
    Likes Received:
    7,065
    Trophy Points:
    1,278
    Location:
    Michigan's Upper Peninsula
    Ratings:
    +8,407
    Current Phone Model:
    Pixel XL
    Twitter:
    jonny_ks
    No apology necessary. We all get back to threads when we can & even if you forgot about us completely, the information we have could be beneficial to others.

    That's what we're all here for.
     
    • Like Like x 2
  7. mountainbikermark

    mountainbikermark Super Moderator
    Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2010
    Messages:
    7,455
    Likes Received:
    3,886
    Trophy Points:
    1,563
    Ratings:
    +4,348
    As Jonny wrote, no need to apologize. It's what we're here for. I totally get becoming forgetful after being up that long.
    Thank you for posting back that you got the replies and they were helpful.
    It's funny I've been dealing with Android and portables (tablets and phablets) so long I forget my Windows machine doesn't clear out as needed on its own and get infuriated when my desktop slows top a crawl after my young daughter uses it for school related stuff.

    Support Our Troops !!!
    <><
    Beast Mode 4
     
    • Like Like x 2