Qualcomm Confirms New LG Superphone with Quad-Core Snapdragon S4 Pro

Discussion in 'Android News' started by dgstorm, Aug 23, 2012.

  1. dgstorm

    dgstorm Editor in Chief Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2010
    Messages:
    8,420
    Likes Received:
    2,158
    Trophy Points:
    378
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    Ratings:
    +2,241
    [​IMG]

    For months now we have heard rumors of a mythical super-powered phone coming from LG. The phone will supposedly come equipped with a quad-core Snapdragon S4 Pro and Adreno 320 GPU that will dominate all benchmarks. That phone has now been confirmed (perhaps inadvertently) by Qualcomm. The chip manufacturer let this info slip in a public statement,

    Although no names or specifics are given, these details seem to confirm that the device will also come using the APQ8064 platform alongside an MDM9x15 LTE baseband. This "leak" was interesting timing right before IFA, and suggests that this was a planned teaser... clever marketing department. We will share more info as it comes out of IFA in a few says.

    Source: Anandtech
     
  2. 94lt1

    94lt1 DF Super Moderator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2012
    Messages:
    14,009
    Likes Received:
    1,953
    Trophy Points:
    693
    Location:
    SE TX
    Ratings:
    +2,174
    Current Phone Model:
    Droid Turbo
    It'll be interesting to see if the US version is quad core or if it follows the s3's footsteps...
    Just my thoughts...
     
  3. armeddroid

    armeddroid Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    Messages:
    1,641
    Likes Received:
    30
    Trophy Points:
    78
    Location:
    Traffic Capital
    Ratings:
    +30
    Did the overseas S3 Quadcore have LTE?
    I cant remember. Thought it was just regular 3G.
     
  4. dgstorm

    dgstorm Editor in Chief Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2010
    Messages:
    8,420
    Likes Received:
    2,158
    Trophy Points:
    378
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    Ratings:
    +2,241
    That shouldn't occur. The architecture of this platform is designed to facilitate LTE as well as the quad-core chip. ;)
     
    • Like Like x 1
  5. Nemo Aeternamn

    Nemo Aeternamn Droid X Rescue Squad Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2011
    Messages:
    793
    Likes Received:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Mo-ab
    Ratings:
    +13
    The European version didn't..... but the Korean version had the quad core, 2 gigs of ram and 4g lte

    Cellar Door

    "Who are you people and where is my horse?"
     
  6. armeddroid

    armeddroid Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    Messages:
    1,641
    Likes Received:
    30
    Trophy Points:
    78
    Location:
    Traffic Capital
    Ratings:
    +30
    Ahh ok.
    And just as DGSTORM said, "The architecture of this platform is designed to facilitate LTE as well as the quad-core chip"
    Thas wassup.
     
  7. 94lt1

    94lt1 DF Super Moderator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2012
    Messages:
    14,009
    Likes Received:
    1,953
    Trophy Points:
    693
    Location:
    SE TX
    Ratings:
    +2,174
    Current Phone Model:
    Droid Turbo
    Cool.. so this phones gonna be a brute..
     
  8. cybertec69

    cybertec69 Silver Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2010
    Messages:
    2,011
    Likes Received:
    198
    Trophy Points:
    128
    Location:
    Staten Island, NY
    Ratings:
    +213
    The Korean version of the quad core was the Samsung Eqynox chip, not Qualcomm. Koreans LTE modems run on a different spectrum than in the US.
     
  9. jerry12

    jerry12 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2012
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Eastern North Carolina
    Ratings:
    +0
    just the one over seas have quadcore and until the chips run on LTE you want have quadcore here. :icon_eek:
     
Search tags for this page

lg logo

,
lg phone logo
,
logo lg android
,
qualcomm avatar