Qualcomm Confirms New LG Superphone with Quad-Core Snapdragon S4 Pro

Discussion in 'Android News' started by dgstorm, Aug 23, 2012.

  1. dgstorm
    Offline

    dgstorm Editor in Chief Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2010
    Messages:
    7,136
    Likes Received:
    1,323
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    [​IMG]

    For months now we have heard rumors of a mythical super-powered phone coming from LG. The phone will supposedly come equipped with a quad-core Snapdragon S4 Pro and Adreno 320 GPU that will dominate all benchmarks. That phone has now been confirmed (perhaps inadvertently) by Qualcomm. The chip manufacturer let this info slip in a public statement,

    Although no names or specifics are given, these details seem to confirm that the device will also come using the APQ8064 platform alongside an MDM9x15 LTE baseband. This "leak" was interesting timing right before IFA, and suggests that this was a planned teaser... clever marketing department. We will share more info as it comes out of IFA in a few says.

    Source: Anandtech
  2. 94lt1
    Offline

    94lt1 DF Super Moderator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2012
    Messages:
    11,480
    Likes Received:
    673
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    SE TX
    It'll be interesting to see if the US version is quad core or if it follows the s3's footsteps...
    Just my thoughts...
  3. armeddroid
    Offline

    armeddroid New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    Messages:
    1,653
    Likes Received:
    30
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Traffic Capital
    Did the overseas S3 Quadcore have LTE?
    I cant remember. Thought it was just regular 3G.
  4. dgstorm
    Offline

    dgstorm Editor in Chief Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2010
    Messages:
    7,136
    Likes Received:
    1,323
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    That shouldn't occur. The architecture of this platform is designed to facilitate LTE as well as the quad-core chip. ;)
    1 person likes this.
  5. Nemo Aeternamn
    Offline

    Nemo Aeternamn Droid X Rescue Squad Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2011
    Messages:
    793
    Likes Received:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Mo-ab
    The European version didn't..... but the Korean version had the quad core, 2 gigs of ram and 4g lte

    Cellar Door

    "Who are you people and where is my horse?"
  6. armeddroid
    Offline

    armeddroid New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    Messages:
    1,653
    Likes Received:
    30
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Traffic Capital
    Ahh ok.
    And just as DGSTORM said, "The architecture of this platform is designed to facilitate LTE as well as the quad-core chip"
    Thas wassup.
  7. 94lt1
    Offline

    94lt1 DF Super Moderator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2012
    Messages:
    11,480
    Likes Received:
    673
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    SE TX
    Cool.. so this phones gonna be a brute..
  8. cybertec69
    Offline

    cybertec69 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2010
    Messages:
    1,764
    Likes Received:
    72
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Staten Island, NY
    The Korean version of the quad core was the Samsung Eqynox chip, not Qualcomm. Koreans LTE modems run on a different spectrum than in the US.
  9. jerry12
    Offline

    jerry12 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2012
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Eastern North Carolina
    just the one over seas have quadcore and until the chips run on LTE you want have quadcore here. :icon_eek:
Search tags for this page

lg logo

,
lg phone logo
,
logo lg android
,

qualcomm avatar