1. You want that $100.00 in your pocket or an Amazon Fire TV don't you? Well here's the deal. With our new updated look we are in desperate need of an updated logo. The 'old' one has certainly served us well, but it's time. Find all the details here: bit.ly/1q0k6Wa
  2. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

Q's using Cucusoft Ultimate DVD+Video Converter Suite

Discussion in 'Android Audio and Video' started by LilJayV10, Jan 16, 2010.

  1. LilJayV10
    Offline

    LilJayV10 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I bought this program a while back to to put DVD's on my wife Ipod. It was very easy to use and she could convert stuff on her own.

    I want to use it to put movies on my Driod. I used the Ipod classic H.264 setting. The video is fantastic and fills up 95% of the screen. The audio is also very good. The only problem I have is every once in a while the video jumps. The video then catches back up to the audio and its fine. I do know enough about this stuff to start changing things. The settings seem very close I just don't know what to change. If someone can tell me what I need to change that would be great. I know it will be trial and error. Here are the settings that it is using.

    Video
    Video Encoder: H.264/AVC
    Video bitrate: 1201
    Frame rate: 29.970
    Video Size: 640x480

    Audio
    Audio Encoder: AAC
    Audio bitrate: 128K CD quality
    Sample rate: 48000
    Channels: 2(stereo)

    Advanced Video Options

    Threads optimization: Quad Core CPU
    Quality Scale: 26 Great quality/Fast speed
    Min Q scale: 2
    Max Q scale: 31
    Max Q scale step: 3
    Aspect ratio: auto
    Bix exact algorithims: yes

    The program has all sorts of options as far as what device to convert to. However the Driod being so new isn't on there.

    Thank you for any advice on this. It's close it just needs some tweaking.

    Jason
  2. dvdcatalyst
    Online

    dvdcatalyst Guest

  3. LilJayV10
    Offline

    LilJayV10 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    That Iron Man 2 trailer looked awesome.

    I used the Ipod settings which were different but there were no sync issues.

    Is there a difference between a mp4 format and H264?
  4. dvdcatalyst
    Online

    dvdcatalyst Guest

    Thanks :)

    I suggested to start with the ipod/iphone settings basically to make sure that at least those would work. If they did not, making changes would not help either.

    From there, I would first try and increase the screen size alone. Dont worry about quality at this point, first see if the file at a higher resolution works. If it does, boost the video quality up a bit and try again.

    mp4 is a so-called container. It can contain video encoded using a few different formats, such as H264 (aka MPEG 4 AVC), H263(aka 3gp) and MPEG4 SP

    H264 is currently the best quality, and is used for iTunes movies as well as Bluray.. It is quite processor demanding, but most devices (including the Droid) have an accelerator chip for this format build-in.
  5. LilJayV10
    Offline

    LilJayV10 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    For ten bucks I think I might just get your program and not have to worry about it. I don't mind paying for good products.
  6. LilJayV10
    Offline

    LilJayV10 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I used the free version to check it out. The video/audio quality is great. I converted Bad Boys 2 and have black bars on top and on the sides. Is there a way to make it full screen?
  7. dvdcatalyst
    Online

    dvdcatalyst Guest

    The free version doesnt have black bar removal options.

    Have a look at the first post in the trailer thread. I have the 3 different methods of black bar removal explained in detail.
  8. LilJayV10
    Offline

    LilJayV10 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I tried the Catalyst 3 demo and tried to convert Bad Boys 2. When I tried to play it on my Driod it says the file can not play. I must have done something wrong but don't know what.
  9. LilJayV10
    Offline

    LilJayV10 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Disregard my lost post. I think I had some things selected I shouldn't have like upscaling. Can you tell me what the difference is between Driod, Droid HQ, etc.

    I went back and re read how to take the black bars out. Sorry I skipped over it the first time. Great product.
  10. dvdcatalyst
    Online

    dvdcatalyst Guest

    Sorry I didnt see your post earlier, I was asleep :)

    Anyway, the difference in profiles is just a couple of settings they set in DVD Catalyst.

    Droid: 800kbps video, 128kbps audio
    Droid HQ: 1000kbps,160kbps audio
    Droid HQ2 1500kbps, 160kbps audio

    The trailers are done using the HQ2 profile.
    Hesides the quality settings, the HQ profiles convert using higher quality settings internally, so even if you would use the same settings as the non-hq profile, it will look better.
  11. LilJayV10
    Offline

    LilJayV10 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    For some reason it won't let me convert it to Driod HQ. It says it can't play the file.
  12. dvdcatalyst
    Online

    dvdcatalyst Guest

    Did you change any other settings?
    Does the file play on your computer (in quicktime for example)

    Also, make sure you have the Boosterpack installed (www.tools4movies.com/dc3b.zip)
    Last edited by a moderator: Jan 17, 2010
  13. LilJayV10
    Offline

    LilJayV10 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    That was the only thing I changed. It will however let me convert it to HQ2 which looks fantastic by the way.

    I will add that booster pack.
  14. dvdcatalyst
    Online

    dvdcatalyst Guest

    Thats strange.
    The ONLY difference between HQ and HQ2 is that HQ2 uses 1500kbps for the video and HQ 1000kbps. Something else must have caused some complications.

    The boosterpack will make things a bit faster without quality-loss. Also have a look in the Android section on the website for some tips
  15. wooball
    Offline

    wooball New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Jason: I use almost exactly the same with 2 differences (cucusoft):

    Video bitrate: 1198
    Video Size: Keep Original Size (Recommended)

    It seems that Cucusoft sees the "DVD Info" as 720x480. I believe that keeping original size actually makes it smoother than downsizing.?... I had stutter when I set Video Size to 640x480.

    Anyway resulting file looks great and runs smooth.

    cheers - Mike
    Last edited: Apr 5, 2010
Search tags for this page
best settings for cucusoft?
,
cucusoft advanced video options
,

cucusoft dvd to android

,
cucusoft dvd to ipad converter audio video sync
,
cucusoft dvd to ipod video suite choppy
,
cucusoft dvd to ipod video suite stutter
,

cucusoft quality scale

,
cucusoft set max volume
,
cucusoft settings for dvd to ipad choppy video
,
cucusoft sound sync
,
cucusoft video choppy
,
issues with my cucusoft dvd to ipod ripper ultimate
,
settings for converting dvds to mp4 using cucusoft
,
video stuttering cucusoft
,
why are cucusoft videos so jumpy