[Q] that I am confused on

Discussion in 'Droid 2 Roms' started by nerdslogic, Feb 13, 2011.

  1. nerdslogic

    nerdslogic Silver Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2010
    Messages:
    2,531
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Cybertron
    Ratings:
    +1
    So....I have to ask....does ROM Manager work or not for the D2? I see it has great options but I have read it doesn't work. From my understanding that is why I needed Droid 2 Bootstrap Recovery because ROM manager doesn't work. Is there an expected update anytime soon?

    I am asking because I have been told there is a problem with D2Bootstrap's clockwork not making usable backup's.....is this true? Have I been running with a false sense of security?
     
  2. nerdslogic

    nerdslogic Silver Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2010
    Messages:
    2,531
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Cybertron
    Ratings:
    +1
    anybody ?
     
  3. pc747

    pc747 DF Administrator Staff Member Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    18,381
    Likes Received:
    1,627
    Trophy Points:
    958
    Ratings:
    +1,666
    Rom manager works sort of. I use it to make backups and to restore backups. As far as installing roms I prefer downloading it via computer and move it to my sdcard.
     
  4. nerdslogic

    nerdslogic Silver Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2010
    Messages:
    2,531
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Cybertron
    Ratings:
    +1
    oh....I see. So is the issue described regarding Clockwork making unusable backups not a problem with ROM manager?
     
  5. trook

    trook Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2010
    Messages:
    616
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Lake Elsinore Ca
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have made alot of useable backups with clockwork, I've never heard of the backups made with clockwork not working.
    I would trust clockwork over rom manager any day. Not that rom manager is bad, it just doesn't work well with our phones.
    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums App
     
  6. nerdslogic

    nerdslogic Silver Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2010
    Messages:
    2,531
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Cybertron
    Ratings:
    +1
    Are you using Droid 2 Bootstrap Recovery?
     
  7. trook

    trook Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2010
    Messages:
    616
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Lake Elsinore Ca
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yes I am using droid 2 bootstrap, and I have been using it since it first came out, I've flashed every rom multiple times and ran many many nandroid backups. I tried using rom manager once......my mistake. Clockwork recovery is your friend.

    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums App
     
  8. jkieffer46

    jkieffer46 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2011
    Messages:
    77
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    im stuck at that stupid boot screen. is there a way to force it to make it to clockwork? ive tried the hold x and the power button and wipe/reset but still stuck at that blasted m.
     
  9. devator22

    devator22 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2010
    Messages:
    112
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Mid-West United States
    Ratings:
    +0
    Not that I'm an expert on droid2s, but I believe you have a semi-bricked phone. I would go to the recovery squad's section for help.


    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums App
     
  10. cydetrakd

    cydetrakd Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Messages:
    209
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    you can plug your phone into the wall and when the moto logo comes up take out your battery which will cause the phone to go into clockwork it works everytime for me and i thought it was common knowledge for the dx/d2 wonder why no has posted it all last night know that will work for you if done right. lemme know how it works for you.