[Q] that I am confused on

Discussion in 'Droid 2 Roms' started by nerdslogic, Feb 13, 2011.

  1. nerdslogic
    Offline

    nerdslogic New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2010
    Messages:
    2,540
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Cybertron
    So....I have to ask....does ROM Manager work or not for the D2? I see it has great options but I have read it doesn't work. From my understanding that is why I needed Droid 2 Bootstrap Recovery because ROM manager doesn't work. Is there an expected update anytime soon?

    I am asking because I have been told there is a problem with D2Bootstrap's clockwork not making usable backup's.....is this true? Have I been running with a false sense of security?
  2. nerdslogic
    Offline

    nerdslogic New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2010
    Messages:
    2,540
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Cybertron
    anybody ?
  3. pc747
    Offline

    pc747 DF Administrator Staff Member Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    17,802
    Likes Received:
    1,235
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Rom manager works sort of. I use it to make backups and to restore backups. As far as installing roms I prefer downloading it via computer and move it to my sdcard.
  4. nerdslogic
    Offline

    nerdslogic New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2010
    Messages:
    2,540
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Cybertron
    oh....I see. So is the issue described regarding Clockwork making unusable backups not a problem with ROM manager?
  5. trook
    Offline

    trook New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2010
    Messages:
    617
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Lake Elsinore Ca
    I have made alot of useable backups with clockwork, I've never heard of the backups made with clockwork not working.
    I would trust clockwork over rom manager any day. Not that rom manager is bad, it just doesn't work well with our phones.
    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums App
  6. nerdslogic
    Offline

    nerdslogic New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2010
    Messages:
    2,540
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Cybertron
    Are you using Droid 2 Bootstrap Recovery?
  7. trook
    Offline

    trook New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2010
    Messages:
    617
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Lake Elsinore Ca
    Yes I am using droid 2 bootstrap, and I have been using it since it first came out, I've flashed every rom multiple times and ran many many nandroid backups. I tried using rom manager once......my mistake. Clockwork recovery is your friend.

    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums App
  8. jkieffer46
    Offline

    jkieffer46 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2011
    Messages:
    77
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    im stuck at that stupid boot screen. is there a way to force it to make it to clockwork? ive tried the hold x and the power button and wipe/reset but still stuck at that blasted m.
  9. devator22
    Offline

    devator22 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2010
    Messages:
    112
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Mid-West United States
    Not that I'm an expert on droid2s, but I believe you have a semi-bricked phone. I would go to the recovery squad's section for help.


    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums App
  10. cydetrakd
    Offline

    cydetrakd New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Messages:
    209
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    you can plug your phone into the wall and when the moto logo comes up take out your battery which will cause the phone to go into clockwork it works everytime for me and i thought it was common knowledge for the dx/d2 wonder why no has posted it all last night know that will work for you if done right. lemme know how it works for you.