1. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

[Q]Droid 2 Global Overclock

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid 2 Global Development' started by Winning, Jun 18, 2011.

  1. Winning
    Offline

    Winning New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I've wanted to overclock this since i got it 4 months ago. I have searched far and wide and haven't found anything. Someone, show me a tutorial, or teach me how. I hear that i need a custom kernel or something. I'm running the latest version of Fenom.
  2. User2Abuser
    Offline

    User2Abuser New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    X2 except I'm running b&w angel.

    Sent from my DROID2 GLOBAL using DroidForums
  3. Winning
    Offline

    Winning New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I've searched EVERYWHERE, countless times. self bump.
  4. jt1359
    Offline

    jt1359 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2011
    Messages:
    165
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Just use Droid Overclock by JRummy16. It works fine. You will lose the fifth cpu scaling slot but oh well. And make sure to pick the Experimental Module in Settings before you pick your scaling frequencies, cuz that's the one that works. It's module 1.4.6.1 or something I think
  5. Winning
    Offline

    Winning New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Which experimental module? Theres a few. Interactive Governor, Conservative Governor, and Smartass Governor. All experimental. Still wont let me go past 1200MHz. Help :heart:
  6. jt1359
    Offline

    jt1359 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2011
    Messages:
    165
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Check "Latest Module"
  7. Winning
    Offline

    Winning New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    It didn't work.
  8. jt1359
    Offline

    jt1359 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2011
    Messages:
    165
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    What didn't work?
  9. Winning
    Offline

    Winning New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Still wont let me go past 1200MHz. Even if i do the custom frequencies. BTW, quote me when replying.
  10. jt1359
    Offline

    jt1359 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2011
    Messages:
    165
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    You have to make sure that in the about phone slider thing that it says module 1.4.6.1, sometimes the app doesn't do the changes right away, just make sure the box is checked, maybe exit out of the app using the back button and then go back in and try it again and make sure the module is correct, not that "something" patch one. Then pick some frequencies, and then you can mess with scaling. FYI, moving the slider won't overclock it, you have to go into "Set Scaling Frequencies" or "Advanced Mode" to actually overclock it, and then you can mess with the slider.
  11. bikedude880
    Offline

    bikedude880 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2011
    Messages:
    156
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Another fun thing to mess with is the smarta** cpu governor and a few power profiles. I'm pulling 24-28 hours on one battery atm :)

    Sent from my White DROID 2 GLOBAL.
  12. jt1359
    Offline

    jt1359 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2011
    Messages:
    165
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Damn, I don't get that good, but then again I don't use profiles (I don't feel like they help that much) and I leave autobright on.
  13. bikedude880
    Offline

    bikedude880 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2011
    Messages:
    156
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yeah, I keep close watch on my device... more battery = less chance of taking off the case and swapping batts :)

    Sent from my White DROID 2 GLOBAL.
  14. Winning
    Offline

    Winning New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yeah, it doesn't say module 1.4.6.1. It has that "something" patch one you're talking about.
  15. wildbill86
    Offline

    wildbill86 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2011
    Messages:
    229
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    How fast can you overclock the d2g without having issues. I am still on the stock rom though. I havn't brought myself to rom yet as I havn't done enough research on which ones I will have NO issues with.

    Sent from my rooted D2G
  16. clouse2013
    Offline

    clouse2013 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2011
    Messages:
    396
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Columbus, OH

    I have mine to 1.3Ghz without any problems. I tried to go to 1.35 and kept getting reboots.
  17. Matveh
    Offline

    Matveh New Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2011
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I'm using Milestone Overclock and Setcpu with the setcpu.txt on my sd card to set the profiles. In MilestoneOC the 'Settings' menu option lets you set a custom frequency and custom vsel. I have mine set at 1300MHz and max vsel 67. Works quite well.

    I picked this up from a thread buried somewhere in the forums about overclocking the D2G. Looking, but haven't found it yet...
  18. Matveh
    Offline

    Matveh New Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2011
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
  19. JEDeatherage
    Offline

    JEDeatherage New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I use this same technique and have been running stable at 1340 and 69 vsel for a few months now. It took some fooling with it but I also got setcpu function correctly with five profiles instead of four. I had been having a lot of trouble with that. I use 300000,600000,800000,1000000,1340000.

    Dont know if thats going to help anyone but, I figured Id add my two cents... And my setcpu.txt :icon_ deal:

    Attached Files:

  20. callis
    Offline

    callis New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    i followed this tutorial and used the set cpu you provided, yet when i look at my systempanel app it shows im running at like 300mhz? even slower then stock? why is this? i also downloaded droid overclock app and that only allowed me to go to 1000mhz also seems to make my battery hot.
Search tags for this page
best overclock for droid2 global
,
d2g oc kernel
,
droid 2 global kernel update
,

droid 2 global overclock

,
droid 2 overclock kernel
,
droid global kernel
,
droid2 custom vsel for overclock
,
how good is droid 2 global with overclocking
,
how to overclock droid 2global
,
kernel droid 2 global
,
kernel for droid 2 global
,

overclock droid 2 global

,
overclock kernel d2g
,
overclocking droid 2 global
,
replace kernel droid 2 global