Pulling the Camera APK

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by OneTenderRebel, Dec 8, 2010.

  1. OneTenderRebel
    Offline

    OneTenderRebel New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    3,326
    Likes Received:
    63
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Hampton Falls, NH
    I am currently running a Rom and the camera is really grainy for me, I love the rom but the camera issue is big for me. Rather than switching Rom's I am wondering what I need to do to pull a camera apk from another Rom? Say I wanted to pull the camera apk from a stock rom, is it as simple as downloading the stock rom to my comp, unzipping it and finding the apk and putting it in system/app to replace the current one, then fix permissions?? I don't know if that will work or not, can anyone give me a step in the right direction?

    Edit: I tried it the way I though it should work and it worked perfectly!!!
    Last edited: Dec 8, 2010
  2. justin.graeff
    Offline

    justin.graeff New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2010
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Do you think you could post that APK? My camera is also grainy so I was wondering if the one you had was better. Think you could post it?
  3. OneTenderRebel
    Offline

    OneTenderRebel New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    3,326
    Likes Received:
    63
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Hampton Falls, NH
    yep no problem

    CameraGoogle.apk

    Credit goes to metiCKone, I pulled this from his MetiCKMod FRG83-V1 ROM.
  4. OneTenderRebel
    Offline

    OneTenderRebel New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    3,326
    Likes Received:
    63
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Hampton Falls, NH
    You may have to rename it Camera.apk depending upon what your current camera is named in system/app.
  5. justin.graeff
    Offline

    justin.graeff New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2010
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thank you very much!
  6. justin.graeff
    Offline

    justin.graeff New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2010
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Well I replaced the app in the system/app folder and now my camera app has disappeared. Mine was also named CameraGoogle so I just directly replaced it. What happened?

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums App
  7. OneTenderRebel
    Offline

    OneTenderRebel New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    3,326
    Likes Received:
    63
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Hampton Falls, NH
    you have to fix permissions, do you have terminal emulator installed?
  8. DF Smod
    Offline

    DF Smod New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2010
    Messages:
    11,477
    Likes Received:
    93
    Trophy Points:
    0
    How did you "replace it" - also does it show after a reboot ?
  9. justin.graeff
    Offline

    justin.graeff New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2010
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I fixed permissions and restarted, but no avail. Suggestions?

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums App
  10. OneTenderRebel
    Offline

    OneTenderRebel New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    3,326
    Likes Received:
    63
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Hampton Falls, NH
    when you put it in system/app it should have asked you to replace the current apk, did it do that?
  11. justin.graeff
    Offline

    justin.graeff New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2010
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yeah, I did that.

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums App
  12. OneTenderRebel
    Offline

    OneTenderRebel New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    3,326
    Likes Received:
    63
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Hampton Falls, NH
    what method did you use to fix permissions?
  13. justin.graeff
    Offline

    justin.graeff New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2010
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I used the fix permission script in bbtoolkit

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums App
  14. OneTenderRebel
    Offline

    OneTenderRebel New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    3,326
    Likes Received:
    63
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Hampton Falls, NH
    do you have terminal installed?
  15. justin.graeff
    Offline

    justin.graeff New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2010
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Oh I just ran fix permissions in Rom Manager and it worked. Thank you =]

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums App
  16. OneTenderRebel
    Offline

    OneTenderRebel New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    3,326
    Likes Received:
    63
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Hampton Falls, NH
    awesome, glad you got it figured out!
  17. interfac9
    Offline

    interfac9 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2010
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Newport News, VA.
    how do you run fix permissions from terminal?
  18. OneTenderRebel
    Offline

    OneTenderRebel New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    3,326
    Likes Received:
    63
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Hampton Falls, NH
    type "su" with quotations hit enter
    type "fix_permissions" hit enter
Search tags for this page
download milepics android
,
download milepics android apk
,
how to install stock camera apk
,

htc incredible camera apk

,
htc rezound camera apk
,

milepics apk

,

milepics.apk

,
my camera app disappeared
,
pulled camera apk
,
what happens with milepics
,
where can i find camera apk in system