ps3 to droidx 3g hotspot, does it work?

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid X' started by volsportsfan, Aug 8, 2010.

  1. volsportsfan
    Offline

    volsportsfan New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Gatlinburg, TN
    Ratings:
    +0
    Sorry guys im a newbie, just needing to know if anyone has done this.
     
  2. brian4120
    Offline

    brian4120 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm sure it would work, but I would worry about the bandwidth limitations of using a ps3 on 3g
     
  3. scoder
    Offline

    scoder Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Messages:
    140
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Cedar Grove, NJ
    Ratings:
    +0
    My 360 doesn't suffer much. Once in a while I get some lag. If i get a call, I'm screwed lol. Just be careful and don't use too many gigs of data or Verizon may come knocking.
     
  4. volsportsfan
    Offline

    volsportsfan New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Gatlinburg, TN
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks for the reply. Im out in the middle of nowhere and would love to download different things for my ps3.
     
  5. igknight
    Offline

    igknight Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2010
    Messages:
    134
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Michigan
    Ratings:
    +0
    I can't get my PS3 nor my Wii to connect to my Droid X. They can see the network, but wont connect. Same when I had the droid.
     
  6. N0S4ATU
    Offline

    N0S4ATU New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Is your X rooted or are you using the paid hotspot?

    I've searched and searched and I can't seem to find a clear answer on whether or not the PS3 can connect to the X's hotspot, either rooted or paid.

    Anyone know for sure?
     
  7. xeene
    Offline

    xeene Silver Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2010
    Messages:
    2,039
    Likes Received:
    400
    Trophy Points:
    148
    Location:
    usa
    Ratings:
    +416
    I can answer part of it. My x is rooted running wireless tether. Wii can see network but will not connect to it getting an error message. Ps3/psp can't see network. Anything microsoft works on it without problems, can connect multiple pcs, xboxs, winmo phones. Take it for what its worth.
     
  8. volsportsfan
    Offline

    volsportsfan New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Gatlinburg, TN
    Ratings:
    +0
    Had my droidx 4 days now and i can assure you that it does work.
    I pay for the 3g hotspot and i have already successfully downloaded tecmo super bowl. Ps3 recognized my phone i typed in my security code and i was immediately surfing the ps3 store. One quick tip, i had to turn my phone sideways to get best reception.
     
  9. igknight
    Offline

    igknight Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2010
    Messages:
    134
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Michigan
    Ratings:
    +0
    My Droid X is rooted, and so was my Droid1. Have tried both the Wireless Tether and Barnacle Wifi Tether. Both Wii and PS3 see but can not connect.

    Only think I can thin of is they won't connect to an Ad-Hoc network? Volsportsfan, does the 3ghotspot program say its an ad-hoc when you search for it on your PS3?
     
  10. volsportsfan
    Offline

    volsportsfan New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Gatlinburg, TN
    Ratings:
    +0
    igknight it is not an Ad-hoc network i am using. I hit 3g mobile on my x, i then set my ps3 to wireless, it recognized my phone, it automatically received all my phones wireless info and all i had to do is type in my phones wep or wpa (can't remember) password and i was in. Media station really helps my phones signal strength. Can't stay online more than a min. without it.
     
  11. shadowgodd
    Offline

    shadowgodd New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I love False ads

    i bought my X2 mainly so i can use its 3G Hotspot, it would be nice if my crap would connect to it. ever since i got this phone i have grown to hate it even more, "Droid the dumbest smart phone on earth". i think ima sell this X2 and get a PSP Vita at least it will do what it says it'll do! feed my PS3 3G, message friends, play games with friends, run apps, take pics, record video, and even call friend via skype or ATT phone plan. idk, i hate droid now, that much is for sure. bought X2 for its mobile hotspot and for its HDMI features... and not getting the cord with the phone like it should have been also pissed me off... sorry im just pissed that i spent 300$ on a phone... thats pretty much all it is, is a phone and a flashlight... games lag to much to play or even get into, videos have issues playing, recorded videos have issues transferring, and i have had to reformat the damn thing twice already and because of that I dont use it for apps now or really anything but txt and calls... hell even my music glitches and lags so i dont use it as an music player either. like i say its just an expensive walkie-talkie not worth buying in my opinion take it from an unhappy droid owner Droid X2 sucks
     
  12. jeepxj96
    Offline

    jeepxj96 New Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2010
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    PA
    Ratings:
    +0
    i couldnt get it to work with wireless tether. but i used easytether on my laptop. did a shared connection. took a ethernet cable from laptop and connected it to the ps3. worked great, but downloading anything is slow. gaming online worked pretty well tho.
     
  13. steelersfan
    Offline

    steelersfan Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2011
    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I use wireless tether 2.0.7 and have no problems with my d2d. Not sure if it will work with the Droid x though.

    D2G CyanogenMod7
     
  14. flip8882
    Offline

    flip8882 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2011
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    i use pdanet and wire tether into my computer to my xbox 360 i can get you a video to learn how to do it pretty easy if you decide to do this i can help out if you have problems i have been doing this for about a year or so now, ( i have the unlimited plan for internet so i have been up to about 30 gb used in one month they haven't screwed around with my internet so i wouldn't worry about usage) and whatever your signal is i run about 88 to 87 dBm and i don't lag very often.

    and if you get a text or phone call your screwed if your doing good on a game.

    doing this with hotspot all you have to do is connect wireless with your phone to your computer and wire with ethernet to your PS3 then you have to do a couple things on your computer then your connected.
     
    Last edited: Aug 19, 2011
Search tags for this page
can a hotspot from a phone work on a ps3
,
connect ps3 to mobile hotspot phone
,
droid x hotspot ps3
,
how much data does the droid x mobile hotspot use for ps3?
,
how to connect ps3 to mobile hotspot
,
my ps3 wont stay connected to my phone
,
ps3 mobile hotspot
,
ps3 not reading android hotspot
,
ps3 wont connect to hotspot
,

ps3 wont connect to mobile hotspot