Program updates

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid Bionic' started by Bfp, Jun 26, 2012.

  1. Bfp

    Bfp Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2012
    Messages:
    82
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    My Bionic says i have 19 updates which appears to be programs(software) related..( i assume). There was more than that the other day i updated some of them but most of the stuff i dont use..so does it matter if i update or not....and does it go against data plan.

    TIA
     
  2. aaf709

    aaf709 Nice Guy
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    4,180
    Likes Received:
    49
    Trophy Points:
    178
    Location:
    So Cal
    Ratings:
    +49
    It shouldn't matter, you'll just get notices that you need to update those apps. Take a look to see what's new on the apps you do use; an update may just add a new translation or it might add a new option.

    If you update via WiFi it won't hit your data plan, but 3G or 4G will.
     
    #2 aaf709, Jun 26, 2012
    Last edited: Jun 26, 2012
  3. welsalex

    welsalex Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2011
    Messages:
    559
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    Ratings:
    +11
    By default your phone will notify you of updates that are available to apps. If you don't use some of them then theres no reason to update those apps. I would uninstall any apps that are not used. Some of the apps are what is called bloatware and you cannot remove them so you would just have to leave them just don't update.

    If you are not on a wifi connection then. updating apps will count against your data usage. I am 1 of those unfortunate people stuck with a 4 gigabyte plan so I only update my apps over wifi so it will not count against my data usage. I also have it set so the play store will not notify me of updates I just go and check the updates myself every week or so.
     
  4. Bfp

    Bfp Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2012
    Messages:
    82
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    So if i find a wifi hot spot to connect too it wont cost me huh.
     
  5. CBMGGM

    CBMGGM Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2010
    Messages:
    369
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Medinah, IL
    Ratings:
    +5
    Yes No hits on your data usage
     
  6. bbucks36

    bbucks36 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2012
    Messages:
    309
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Orlando,FL
    Ratings:
    +1
    rooted it and freeze the unwanted programs. will stop from updating. also uncheck auto updates.
     
  7. aaf709

    aaf709 Nice Guy
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    4,180
    Likes Received:
    49
    Trophy Points:
    178
    Location:
    So Cal
    Ratings:
    +49
    Just watch where you go. I've found that some "free" WiFi places (like AT&T's spot at McDonalds) will give a network error when connecting to anything that's going to move a lot of data. The Public Library is good.
     
Search tags for this page

i cannot connect to mcdonalds wifi