Program prl on an htc droid

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by montosw, Dec 24, 2009.

  1. montosw
    Offline

    montosw New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2009
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Can someone tell me how to change the prl on an HTC Droid. I used ##778 to get to prl update, however I am unable to get the prl changed. Please advise.Thank you.
  2. phone
    Offline

    phone New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2009
    Messages:
    189
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Have you tried *228? That's how I've always done it on the Verizon network.
  3. montosw
    Offline

    montosw New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2009
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    got it

    got prl loaded. woohoo
  4. montosw
    Offline

    montosw New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2009
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    *228 didn't work

    *228 didn't work. i figured out how to do it manually. thank you tho. :)
  5. mammlouk
    Offline

    mammlouk New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2009
    Messages:
    316
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Maybe you can post the instruction so that when somebody else searches the forum and comes across this thread they don't have to ask how you finally did it... :)
  6. catfishk
    Offline

    catfishk New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2009
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    i have no idea what an HTC Droid is but i have a Motorola Droid, and have used various HTC devices on many CDMA networks. to program the PRL manually, as *228 (*22801/*22802, etc) may not always work, you can use CDMA Workshop, QPST or the more difficult QXDM in Windows XP/Vista/7. in Linux it is more difficult to explain, and don't ask me about a Mac...

    for the FREE QPST:

    1. install HTC modem drivers for your O/S here (courtesy PPCgeeks)
    2. put the phone in DIAG mode, or turn on debug mode in Android Settings (under Applications)
    3. navigate to Computer Management in Windows (Right click -> Manage on the My Computer icon, or Computer in Windows 7)
    3. under COM ports take note of the port of the HTC device
    4. start QPST and set the COM port accordingly
    5. CONNECT to the phone
    6. SEND the 6 digit MSL/SPC to the phone to unlock it
    7. on the Roam/PRL pane upload a new PRL from file. you can get some PRLs for different carriers here
    8. either click WRITE or try to exit the program and it should prompt you to save the items edited to flash

    now when you dial a number the voice on the other end should be that of your chosen network. but you do need to activate the ESN with the chosen carrier, of course, to get service. you can *try* to *228 now, but it may not work :/

    if you are referring to the non-HTC Motorola Droid, then you can use QPST in the same manner. you will need Motorola's drivers, found here (gotta register). put the phone in Debug/Diag/Modem/whatever mode (power it on by plugging in the USB data cable, while holding 'X' on the slide out keyboard). now you will need a Virtual Serial Port configured to IP 192.168.16.2, port 11008. this creates a COM port. there is a way to do it wirelessly as well; search the forum. to get a Hardware Virtual Serial Port, look here for free software on Windows XP. Windows 7 you need to find something else, i never found a free solution, only a trial

    i hope it helps!
    Last edited: Dec 24, 2009
  7. JhankG
    Offline

    JhankG New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    3,098
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Summerfield, NC
    The Droid Eris is considering to be part of the Droid family, which is why he referred to it as an HTC Droid. Although it is not THE Droid, it is still a Droid.
  8. jpv190
    Offline

    jpv190 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    It doesn't work for me

    Ok so I did all you told us but how does your droid appear in your computer, in mine shows up as: Mot Composite ADB interface, is that OK? That is how it must appear to change the PRL file:

    What mode must it be in and how and how do I setup it go the apropiate mode?
Search tags for this page

22802 prl download

,
how enter ##778# prl
,

how to change prl on htc incredible

,

how to get spc htc incredible

,

htc droid incredible 2 prl

,

htc incredible prl

,

htc incredible spc code

,

pb00100 prl

,

prl htc incredible

,

prl htc pb00100

,

prl para htc incredible

,

update prl incredible 2