Professional Help Needed!! Widgets and Apps slow to Re-load on Homescreen!

Discussion in 'Android Tech Support' started by TopDroid, Sep 12, 2010.

  1. TopDroid
    Offline

    TopDroid New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2010
    Messages:
    77
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Atlanta,GA
    Hey Guys,
    This has been a ongoing problem with my phone it seems like. I have a normal ammount of widgets and apps on my 5 homescreens. Nothing too crazy. So whenever I go into a app or use my browser or just get away from my homescreen for a small ammount of time, it takes like 5-7 secs for all my widgets to reload! It doesnt matter what rom im on either. Im currently running LFY 1.6 with Black and bold theme and Slayher's 1200 kernel with ADW(LFY didnt seem to come with a stock launcher)but ive ran other roms with lower OC speeds and with out themes as well. Even when i was stock un-rooted it happened. Will playing around with my profiles in SetCpu help? I Reboot every 2-3 days and that seems to help for a bit but not a solid solution. Im looking for some guidence here. Lets me know any ideas you have have . Im open to any suggestions. I just want speed and no lag on my reloading widgets!!
    Thanks guys!!!
  2. joeybarclay
    Offline

    joeybarclay New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010
    Messages:
    708
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    use adw and turn on system persistent in adw settings i had the same problem
  3. BayouFlyFisher
    Offline

    BayouFlyFisher Rescue Squad Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    4,966
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Baton Rouge, LA
    Do an advanced search, titles only, for "redraw". You'll find a lot to read on this issue.

    Good luck.
  4. TopDroid
    Offline

    TopDroid New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2010
    Messages:
    77
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Atlanta,GA
    Thnaks guys for the Help!!
  5. datacreek
    Offline

    datacreek New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yeah, you'll find a lot to read but no "real solution". That's why you were'nt answered here.
    The devs need to come out with a patch with an icon cache or something.
    Very frustrating and hard to believe it happened.
  6. Rsswga
    Offline

    Rsswga New Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2010
    Messages:
    707
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    bowdon, georgia
    how many apps are on your sd card?
  7. datacreek
    Offline

    datacreek New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Does that make a difference?
  8. Rsswga
    Offline

    Rsswga New Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2010
    Messages:
    707
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    bowdon, georgia
    i would think so
  9. furbearingmammal
    Offline

    furbearingmammal DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    10,354
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    So far north in NY I smell maple syrup when the wi
    Redraws are the bane of 2.2. The built-in task killer "kills" the launcher to free up RAM, and the result is a reload/redraw of your home screens. Some ROMs have workarounds that help, but nobody is redraw-immune. Hopefully there will be a fix soon.

    Apps on the SD card have no impact whatsoever. ADW has an option that might help, but it might also cause the occasional crash.
  10. datacreek
    Offline

    datacreek New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Exactly.
    When using memory intensive apps the memory used to draw screens is released. That's what I said some kind of icon or screen cache might be a the solution.
  11. furbearingmammal
    Offline

    furbearingmammal DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    10,354
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    So far north in NY I smell maple syrup when the wi
    Not a hijack, because it's still on-topic...

    Some ROMs include compcache, which DOES help tremendously.

    compcache - Project Hosting on Google Code
  12. furbearingmammal
    Offline

    furbearingmammal DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    10,354
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    So far north in NY I smell maple syrup when the wi
    Compcache requires both a ROM and a kernel that enable it, however.
  13. datacreek
    Offline

    datacreek New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Regardless, the devs should fix this number 1 complaint. Should have been addressed in 22d.
  14. tommyz
    Offline

    tommyz Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Messages:
    271
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    18
    I thought it was just me. I'm glad to see there is a problem with the system. I was thinking it was an app on my phone.
  15. Rsswga
    Offline

    Rsswga New Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2010
    Messages:
    707
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    bowdon, georgia
    apps being slow to load ?? mine loaded apps faster when i put the most used apps onto the phone off of the sd card.
    oh well
  16. TopDroid
    Offline

    TopDroid New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2010
    Messages:
    77
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Atlanta,GA
    Well i just checked off "System Persistent" (turned it on)in my ADW settings and things have been wonderful. No redraw at all!!!!! However, Im wondering why it says "dangerous" if enabled?
  17. furbearingmammal
    Offline

    furbearingmammal DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    10,354
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    So far north in NY I smell maple syrup when the wi
    Your phone could run out of RAM, basically. As a result the OS could try to kill the launcher and when it does the launcher refuses, the phone gets locked, and you'll have to do a battery pull.
Search tags for this page

widjets slow to load