Problems with Yahoo mail

Discussion in 'Android Tech Support' started by gstreez, Nov 25, 2009.

  1. gstreez

    gstreez New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2009
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I keep getting a username and password problem when setting up my yahoo e-mail.

    I have typed it in a dozen times... I can't be wrong every time. I retyped it in on my desktop and get into the account.

    What the heck is going on here? Any ideas?

    I have read the instructions on several sites, watched the video on you tube. Typically a Username/password is a pilot error problem, but I don't know what I am doing wrong.
     
  2. New2u

    New2u Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2009
    Messages:
    3,721
    Likes Received:
    68
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Location:
    Tallahassee, Fl
    Ratings:
    +82
    If you don't have the right server settings it might kick back a bad username / password error. (This was happening on my exchange server) Other then that I don't know what else to try. What settings are you using?
     
  3. gstreez

    gstreez New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2009
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ah... then I might NOT be going crazy...

    I have been using imap.mail.yahoo.com

    and

    port: 143

    path prefix: None

    That seems to be the recommended config that I have found in multiple places.

    Any other ideas are welcome.


    optional:
     
  4. New2u

    New2u Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2009
    Messages:
    3,721
    Likes Received:
    68
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Location:
    Tallahassee, Fl
    Ratings:
    +82
    correct, does it go to the next screen after this asking for your outbound settings?
     
  5. gstreez

    gstreez New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2009
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Nope, at this point it says, 'username password problems...'

    I have typed it in with the keyboard, the virtual keyboard, and then typed it in again on my pc and it always works on the pc, never on the Droid.
     
  6. brandon4256

    brandon4256 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2009
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Mile High
    Ratings:
    +0
    Try this:

    Imap server - imap.mail.yahoo.com

    SMTP Server- smtp.mobile.mail.yahoo.com
     
  7. gstreez

    gstreez New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2009
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Brandon - that is the incoming server I am using and I never get far enough to enter the SMTP server...

    Any other ideas?

    Pretty frustrating, seems like it should be a pretty simple thing.
     
  8. brandon4256

    brandon4256 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2009
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Mile High
    Ratings:
    +0
  9. gstreez

    gstreez New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2009
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Brandon - thanks, I'll give it a try....

    I also wondered if my inbox was too full, so moved ALL e-mail into a folder that was NOT my inbox.

    Sometimes, there is no 'simple' answer, but pulling battery, erasing settings, etc... may hit on one of the many possible causes.

    Thanks - I'll let you know how it goes.

    Just picked up the Droid today - torn between impressed with some apps and some impressive potential and frustration with some nonintuitive interfaces and some hinky implementations.

    I want to love it...
     
  10. gstreez

    gstreez New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2009
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I declared victory too early...

    After pulling the battery, it let me add the incoming server, checked/accepted it, but did not like the smtp server name suggested above.

    Closer...
     
    #10 gstreez, Nov 25, 2009
    Last edited: Nov 25, 2009
  11. sktech

    sktech New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    My understanding is Google will not support Yahoo mail... kinda make sense.
     
  12. gstreez

    gstreez New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2009
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    It now accepts the 'incoming' server, but not the outgoing server...

    Any ideas on alternate smtp server names or alternate ports?

    On a GoDaddy account they suggested four different ports and it didn't work until I tried the third port.
     
Search tags for this page
9/5/13 yahoo mail problems
,
andriod yahoo mail password error
,
android 4.2.1 can't sync email incorrect username and passwo
,
android problems with yahoo mail
,
android yahoo bad username or password incorrect
,
android yahoo mail password incorrect
,
yahoo email problems 9/5/13
,
yahoo sync bad user name and password
,

yahoo sync bad username or password

,
yahoomail android issues username password worng error