Problems with Yahoo mail

Discussion in 'Android Tech Support' started by gstreez, Nov 25, 2009.

  1. gstreez
    Offline

    gstreez New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2009
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I keep getting a username and password problem when setting up my yahoo e-mail.

    I have typed it in a dozen times... I can't be wrong every time. I retyped it in on my desktop and get into the account.

    What the heck is going on here? Any ideas?

    I have read the instructions on several sites, watched the video on you tube. Typically a Username/password is a pilot error problem, but I don't know what I am doing wrong.
     
  2. New2u
    Offline

    New2u DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2009
    Messages:
    3,629
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    Tallahassee, Fl
    Ratings:
    +17
    If you don't have the right server settings it might kick back a bad username / password error. (This was happening on my exchange server) Other then that I don't know what else to try. What settings are you using?
     
  3. gstreez
    Offline

    gstreez New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2009
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ah... then I might NOT be going crazy...

    I have been using imap.mail.yahoo.com

    and

    port: 143

    path prefix: None

    That seems to be the recommended config that I have found in multiple places.

    Any other ideas are welcome.


    optional:
     
  4. New2u
    Offline

    New2u DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2009
    Messages:
    3,629
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    Tallahassee, Fl
    Ratings:
    +17
    correct, does it go to the next screen after this asking for your outbound settings?
     
  5. gstreez
    Offline

    gstreez New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2009
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Nope, at this point it says, 'username password problems...'

    I have typed it in with the keyboard, the virtual keyboard, and then typed it in again on my pc and it always works on the pc, never on the Droid.
     
  6. brandon4256
    Offline

    brandon4256 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2009
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Mile High
    Ratings:
    +0
    Try this:

    Imap server - imap.mail.yahoo.com

    SMTP Server- smtp.mobile.mail.yahoo.com
     
  7. gstreez
    Offline

    gstreez New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2009
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Brandon - that is the incoming server I am using and I never get far enough to enter the SMTP server...

    Any other ideas?

    Pretty frustrating, seems like it should be a pretty simple thing.
     
  8. brandon4256
    Offline

    brandon4256 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2009
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Mile High
    Ratings:
    +0
  9. gstreez
    Offline

    gstreez New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2009
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Brandon - thanks, I'll give it a try....

    I also wondered if my inbox was too full, so moved ALL e-mail into a folder that was NOT my inbox.

    Sometimes, there is no 'simple' answer, but pulling battery, erasing settings, etc... may hit on one of the many possible causes.

    Thanks - I'll let you know how it goes.

    Just picked up the Droid today - torn between impressed with some apps and some impressive potential and frustration with some nonintuitive interfaces and some hinky implementations.

    I want to love it...
     
  10. gstreez
    Offline

    gstreez New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2009
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I declared victory too early...

    After pulling the battery, it let me add the incoming server, checked/accepted it, but did not like the smtp server name suggested above.

    Closer...
     
    Last edited: Nov 25, 2009
  11. sktech
    Offline

    sktech New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    My understanding is Google will not support Yahoo mail... kinda make sense.
     
  12. gstreez
    Offline

    gstreez New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2009
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    It now accepts the 'incoming' server, but not the outgoing server...

    Any ideas on alternate smtp server names or alternate ports?

    On a GoDaddy account they suggested four different ports and it didn't work until I tried the third port.
     
  13. gstreez
    Offline

    gstreez New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2009
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Sk - plenty of folks have been able to set it up.

    If Google won't let me read yahoo mail on my phone, that would be the end of the Droid for me.... then off to a blackberry or iPhone.

    I have used this e-mail account longer than google has been around and am NOT dumping it for google.
     
  14. cgarnes
    Offline

    cgarnes Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2009
    Messages:
    112
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Ohio
    Ratings:
    +0

    WOW! I am glad that I came upon this thread, and if this is true, that is just one more reason to return my Droid. I have, like those before me here in this thread, been working, tirelessly, to get my Yahoo mail on my Droid, and I have gotten nowhere.

    Granted, I love the Verizon network (not their rate plan!). I'm a former AllTel customer, and I hate to say this, but I just very well may go back to where I came from, and that is AT & T (was a customer for over eight years).

    As a Mac user, that makes sense all by itself. The iPod/iPhone just work flawlessly with my Mac, and I don't have to worry about potentially unstable applications...
     
  15. Cindy
    Offline

    Cindy New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2009
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    i had this same issue and after a little research found a very odd solution....
    change where u are to asia this unlocks everything that you need to enter you have to to it all manually but it work i dunno why
     
Search tags for this page
9/5/13 yahoo mail problems
,
andriod yahoo mail password error
,
android 4.2.1 can't sync email incorrect username and passwo
,
android problems with yahoo mail
,
android yahoo bad username or password incorrect
,
android yahoo mail password incorrect
,
yahoo email problems 9/5/13
,
yahoo sync bad user name and password
,

yahoo sync bad username or password

,
yahoomail android issues username password worng error