1. You want that $100.00 in your pocket or an Amazon Fire TV don't you? Well here's the deal. With our new updated look we are in desperate need of an updated logo. The 'old' one has certainly served us well, but it's time. Find all the details here: bit.ly/1q0k6Wa
  2. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

Problems with Titanium Backup

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by voydas, Mar 9, 2010.

  1. voydas
    Offline

    voydas New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    117
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Just installed a new rom (ESE53) and was excited to use Titanium Backup and when I restore everything, everything remains exactly the same. I clicked the Problems? button and updated to the right version of BusyBox. On the home page it says I may not be rooted properly if when you

    his instructions are:
    Code:
    If the "Problems?" button fails to work, you can still do it manually:
    Download busybox 1.15.3 and unzip it.
    Copy the "busybox" file to the root directory of your phone's SD card.
    Remount the SD card in the phone.
    Open a shell on the phone, using either "adb shell" or the free "ConnectBot" app.
    su
    cd /data/data/com.keramidas.TitaniumBackup/files
    cat /sdcard/busybox > busybox
    chmod 755 busybox
    rm /sdcard/busybox
    Exit the shell and restart Titanium Backup. If it says "busybox 1.15.3 from app" then it's a success !
    
    Check if your phone is properly rooted:
    su
    whoami
    You must see "root" or "whoami: unknown uid 0". If you see something different, your phone is not properly rooted.
    busybox ls -l /data/data/ | busybox wc -l (to test your system's busybox)
    cd /data/data/com.keramidas.TitaniumBackup/files/ ; ./busybox ls -l /data/data/ | ./busybox wc -l (to test Titanium Backup's busybox)
    You must see a number. If you get "Permission denied", your phone is not properly rooted.
    heres what I get:

    Code:
    Last login: Tue Mar  9 18:46:09 on console
    STEVE-MAC:~ steven$ adb shell
    * daemon not running. starting it now *
    * daemon started successfully *
    $ su
    # whoami
    whoami: not found
    # busybox ls -l /data/data/ | busybox wc -l
    77
    # cd /data/data/com.keramidas.TitaniumBackup/files/ ; ./busybox ls -l /data/data/ | ./busybox wc -l
    77
    # STEVE-MAC:~ steven$ 
    
    Do I need the Donate version to properly restore my apps? I dont want to use my MyBackUp pro, it wasnt very recent and was very much looking forward to having the Market links synced.

    Thanks.
  2. voydas
    Offline

    voydas New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    117
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    and if it matters:

    # STEVE-MAC:~ steven$ adb --help
    Android Debug Bridge version 1.0.25
  3. xMyStiCx
    Offline

    xMyStiCx New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2009
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    1. Are you rooted?
  4. voydas
    Offline

    voydas New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    117
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yes, I'm rooted. Running bugless beast 0.7, comes rooted.
  5. thatguychuck
    Offline

    thatguychuck New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009
    Messages:
    433
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    SD
    I haven't used Titanium backup, so I won't be much help there.

    But...I don't think whoami is included in the system/bin of Bugless 0.7, I wonder if that is causing the issue.
  6. cvhovey
    Offline

    cvhovey Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2009
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Christmas Valley, Oregon
    My experience has been that some custom ROMs cause the busybox change the busybox permissions back to 644. As a result, Titanium Backup will erroneously report that you don't seem to properly have root.

    What I've done in that case, using Root Explorer (available through the Market), is go into /system/xbin/, click on Mount R/W in the upper right corner, press/hold on busybox, select Permissions, and then be sure the 3 Read boxes are checked, the top Write box, and the 3 Execute boxes. Then click OK ... giving busybox 755 permissions. Finally click Mount R/O at top corner, back out of Root Explorer, and you should be able to use Titanium just fine. This has happened to me multiple times when trying out new ROMs.

    Alternately, some people choose to click on Titanium's Problems? box on the bottom and do an auto-upgrade for busybox.

    Hope either one of those solutions fixes the issue for you. I don't check this forum often, so need further help beyond this, there's always a one-size-fits-all iPhone ... because having a rooted phone means working through issues that crop up like this. :icon_eek:
  7. thatguychuck
    Offline

    thatguychuck New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009
    Messages:
    433
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    SD
    That seemed a little uncalled for.
  8. voydas
    Offline

    voydas New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    117
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I've tryed to update to their busybox and no luck. I'll try the alternative you suggested and report back.
  9. voydas
    Offline

    voydas New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    117
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    On another note, it does say that I have root and all the right permissions to be able to restore my applications and data. Must I have the donated version in order to restore my apps? I mean it appears to be a problem with my root?

    when i su i get the #
    but whoami and which are not known commands.

    halp.
  10. voydas
    Offline

    voydas New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    117
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    if that it is the issue how could it be resolved?
  11. voydas
    Offline

    voydas New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    117
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I'm at my wits end. I had everything setup the way I wanted it and relied on titanium to work to restore my data and apps while I upgraded ROMs.. now i'm basically starting all over.

    I've got the titanium backup folder all setup and everything, it just does _nothing_ when I click restore....

    It runs through the Restoring process yet none of the data is there, the applications dont install, and the desktops stay the same.

    Useless.

    Any ideas?
  12. thatguychuck
    Offline

    thatguychuck New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009
    Messages:
    433
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    SD
    I just pulled it up on the market, and it appears that you need the donate version to restore,
  13. voydas
    Offline

    voydas New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    117
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Wonderful..

    I donated but im in "disputes" or whatever with PayPal. I pray he got the funds.
  14. thatguychuck
    Offline

    thatguychuck New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009
    Messages:
    433
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    SD
    That not might be it, you are going into "Batch" for the restore right?
  15. voydas
    Offline

    voydas New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    117
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    bump. permissions for busybox are correct.
  16. voydas
    Offline

    voydas New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    117
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yes..

    Batch..

    Redo all applications and system data




    Now im getting an error that I dont have root privileges. F*ck all this garbage. I'm just going to redownload all these apps.

    What a pain in the ass.
  17. voydas
    Offline

    voydas New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    117
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Now it says I am rooted.

    and I attempt to Run Restore all apps with data, and I've also tryed Restore missing apps +all system data do no avail.

    This is the free version if that is what the problem is.
  18. voydas
    Offline

    voydas New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    117
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    After getting registered I'm told that my backups are bad... Will delete and try again.

    Should I use the busybox from app or the newest BB?
  19. voydas
    Offline

    voydas New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    117
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I think I'm cursed.
  20. voydas
    Offline

    voydas New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    117
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Got everything working. Had to use the busybox from the app (Problems? button). Turns out all my app backups were no good. Got the donate version, verified backups and it works like a charm.

    Developer provided AMAZING support.
Search tags for this page
backup
,
busybox aktualizacja titanium
,

busybox titanium backup

,
busybox titanium problems
,
galaxy s3 titanium backup keramidas sã¼rã¼m indir
,
how to open a shell titanium backup
,
issues with titanium backup on s4
,

titanium backup alternative

,
titanium backup and busybox
,
titanium backup restore problems
,
titanium backup root issues
,
titanium backup will not update
,
titanium license busybox android problems
,
update busybox titanium
,
you have problem with busybox titanium backup