Problems with Roms and D1

Discussion in 'Android Themes' started by droidDOES.duh, Apr 1, 2011.

  1. droidDOES.duh
    Offline

    droidDOES.duh New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2011
    Messages:
    149
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Indiana
    It might be official, my fiances droid1 will not let me install any Roms...I have the best setup on my Dx, liberty 2.0, epic blue theme, overclocked just right, but I can't for the life of me get my girls to accept anything..Ive had experienced help too, any ideas?

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums
  2. droidlady05
    Offline

    droidlady05 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2011
    Messages:
    247
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Somewhere Over the Rainbow
    What root method did you use? What happens when you try to flash a rom?

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums App
  3. guidot
    Offline

    guidot Developer Relations Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    Messages:
    7,350
    Likes Received:
    270
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    Yes, more info please.
  4. droidDOES.duh
    Offline

    droidDOES.duh New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2011
    Messages:
    149
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Indiana
    Sorry my work hours got my sleeping messed up but I rooted the phone like I applied this update and rsdlite and what not, don't know The specific nameof that method but after a number of tries I finally got it and CJM has been helping me with the Roms we tried project elite and cm.. it goes through and says it updated but doesn't do it..

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums
  5. droidDOES.duh
    Offline

    droidDOES.duh New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2011
    Messages:
    149
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Indiana
    When I flash a rom after doing a wipe it just does what happens when u first turn on the phone when you get it, another problem is when I try to flash clockworkmod recovery it gives an error of authorization, rom manager isn't helping at all so that's all I've been able to do..

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums
  6. maniaryan
    Offline

    maniaryan New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2010
    Messages:
    108
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    If you wipe everything then you are going to start from scratch

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums
  7. droidlady05
    Offline

    droidlady05 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2011
    Messages:
    247
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Somewhere Over the Rainbow
    If you're using rom manager, try alternating between CWR and the alternate recovery three times to make CWR stick.

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums App
  8. Taco
    Offline

    Taco New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2010
    Messages:
    355
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New York
    When you wipe and install a new rom you have to setup your accounts all over again ... aswell as market apps and settings. Did you check your about phone to see if the update actually stuck or are you returning to stock/root everytime you see the setup screen?

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums App
  9. droidDOES.duh
    Offline

    droidDOES.duh New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2011
    Messages:
    149
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Indiana
    It actually wouldn't go past the M logo for like 2 hours and finally got it to load up and back to normal almost and then I was able to restore it and it restored so I left it be till I can figure out what's going on, it didn't show that recovery stuck, keep getting that error on and type of trying to recover..like I was saying before does her phone having that update cause a big problem?

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums
  10. droidDOES.duh
    Offline

    droidDOES.duh New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2011
    Messages:
    149
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Indiana
    Sorry if nothing is making sense, I'm at work right now but yeah nothing is sticking and we tried two different roms

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums
  11. CJM
    Offline

    CJM Developer Relations Staff Member Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010
    Messages:
    9,344
    Likes Received:
    540
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Mississippi Gulf Coast
    To bring everyone helping up to date, he used Motocache1's process. We tried using rom manager to flash Clockwork recovery but got "error occurred while trying to run privileged commands". I'm thinking the 'root' didn't stick.

    Swyped from a Droid
  12. Taco
    Offline

    Taco New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2010
    Messages:
    355
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New York
    So download drocap2 from the market and see if you can give it permissions.

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums App
  13. gmb92
    Offline

    gmb92 New Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I agree it sounds like root did not stick. Maybe try rooting again. Try Z4root or superoneclick. If that doesn't work, then you're probably going to have to.sbf back to stock. You will need RSDlite and a stock sbf file restore to stock. Then you can reflash Rom Manager and Clockwork Recovery

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums
  14. guidot
    Offline

    guidot Developer Relations Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    Messages:
    7,350
    Likes Received:
    270
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    Z4root doesn't work on a d1 using 2.2+. Please stop suggesting it.

    Superoneclick or just reroot using motocache1's method.

    SBF is not necessary.

    Why do you need to use ClockworkMod?

    Sent from my Droid using Tapatalk
  15. gmb92
    Offline

    gmb92 New Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I apologize, I use Z4root on my dx. I actually used it for D1, but it was probably on 2.1. I remember it worked on my D1, but not my 2 friends at the time. Thanks for the correction. I suggested reflashing Clockwork Recovery so that he can flash one of the custom roms he wants. You can of course use SBF RECOVERY, or RZrecovery if you prefer. This would be needed if they end up doing the sbf. Like I said, try to root again. If it does not work, then it may need the sbf. I have had this issue once after root failed with an older version of super one click. I couldn't get any other root methods to work.
    Superoneclick or motocache1's will probably do it though.

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums
    Last edited: Apr 2, 2011
  16. CJM
    Offline

    CJM Developer Relations Staff Member Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010
    Messages:
    9,344
    Likes Received:
    540
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Mississippi Gulf Coast
    If you have SP recovery, just reflash the update.zip from motocache1's guide.

    @guidot I suggested clockwork to make flashing easier. To keep from renaming everything update.zip. Seemed that was confusing him.

    Swyped from a Droid
  17. droidDOES.duh
    Offline

    droidDOES.duh New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2011
    Messages:
    149
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Indiana
    Ill try to reflash the update tonight, should I go through the whole process, rsdlite and all or just reflash

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums
  18. CJM
    Offline

    CJM Developer Relations Staff Member Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010
    Messages:
    9,344
    Likes Received:
    540
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Mississippi Gulf Coast
  19. droidDOES.duh
    Offline

    droidDOES.duh New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2011
    Messages:
    149
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Indiana
    Yes that's what it looks like

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums
  20. CJM
    Offline

    CJM Developer Relations Staff Member Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010
    Messages:
    9,344
    Likes Received:
    540
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Mississippi Gulf Coast
    Now follow steps 14 - 17 in motocache1's guide

    Swyped from a Droid