Problems with OTA update (ICS)

Discussion in 'Droid 4 Tech Support' started by mhzero21xx, Aug 13, 2012.

  1. battlecanary

    battlecanary New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    California
    Ratings:
    +0
    Will do, i'll check it out once i get home and see if there was more to it.
     
  2. orangechoochoo

    orangechoochoo Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2012
    Messages:
    1,109
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    On a caboose
    Ratings:
    +12
    I know it's a PITA to fastboot 219, but it does resolve most of all the update failures. Just take a look at the Razr forums, a lot of people had update problems until they fastbooted gingerbread which gave them a pristine system to update from.
     
  3. mhzero21xx

    mhzero21xx New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2012
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    How do I get to the bootloader menu? When I try to hold down the vol up, down, and power all I get is the phone getting turned off until I let go of the power button, where it starts booting up.

    EDIT: ignore that, I got it

    EDIT AGAIN: Just got back up after everything was reset, phone is not letting me update though. I am hoping it will come in the next hour or so.
     
    #15 mhzero21xx, Aug 13, 2012
    Last edited: Aug 13, 2012
  4. battlecanary

    battlecanary New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    California
    Ratings:
    +0
    Okay so you learn something new everyday...

    The reason I couldn't see why the update was failing is because you have to press the volume up/down at the same time to see the actual display of the installation process. Otherwise all you see is the droid guy and the open box, until it brings up the triangle with the ! in it and then auto-reboots.

    So I figured out the problem... seems to be an edit I did to my audio.conf file ages ago to get my bluetooth working properly with my car.

    The text was something like:

    Installing update...
    Deleting facebook cache folder...
    Verifying current system...
    assert failed: apply_patch_check("/system/etc/bluetooth/audio.conf", ***bunch of numbers here***)
    E:Error in /tmp/sideload/package.zip
    (Status 7)
    Installation aborted.



    So I restored the old audio.conf.bak file I had and I still couldn't get the patch to apply but at least I'm on the right track. Interesting to note that a factory reset does not touch these system files, as I did one before and apparently the audio.conf file remained edited.

    EDIT: Wondering if I could just delete audio.conf and see if the system would remake it. Probably not though lol

    Also, since the system erases and wants to redownload the 300mb patch each time it fails you can choose to install it later after you download and then copy it to another folder if you have root. That way you can just copy it back in and run the "system updates" deal from settings again and it won't redownload.

    EDIT2: I got it finally, turns out if you turn on R/W and then edit a file and it has the wrong permissions I think it upsets the verification. I recopied the audio.conf and then set it properly and the install seems to be running smoothly.

    Thanks a lot choochoo for getting me in the right direction!
     
    #16 battlecanary, Aug 13, 2012
    Last edited: Aug 13, 2012
  5. daryls61

    daryls61 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2010
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Buffalo, NY
    Ratings:
    +2
    So where exactly is the downloaded update stored? I hate re-downloading it everytime. I have been fixing my files that cause the install to fail but I am stuck on phonesky.apk. I can't seem to find the right one to make it work.

    If anyone has the correct file, that would be great. Any help would be appreciated.
     
  6. tcrews

    tcrews Premium Member
    Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    1,353
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    53
    Location:
    Lexington, SC
    Ratings:
    +22
    It is stored in /cache and deletes after install.

    The thread with leak .217 has the same file in it as the leak .217 is the OTA .217
     
  7. orangechoochoo

    orangechoochoo Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2012
    Messages:
    1,109
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    On a caboose
    Ratings:
    +12
    It's in /cache of the root directory, get the zip and crc files.
     
  8. WaltA

    WaltA Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2011
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I haven't gotten the OTA update to ICS yet, but I am starting at pretty much the same place. Just rooted, with Smart Actions and a few other pre-loaded apps frozen.

    I hope when I do get the OTA update, all works well, though I am reading through threads like this one, to learn as much as possible from other's experiences. Trying to see what should I do, and not do, before kicking off the OTA update.
     
  9. daryls61

    daryls61 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2010
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Buffalo, NY
    Ratings:
    +2
    Copying it back to the /cache folder does not work for me. It still downloads the update. Thoughts?
     
  10. jsnweitzel

    jsnweitzel Developer
    Developer

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2012
    Messages:
    539
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    South Carolina
    Ratings:
    +1
    If you have an sd card just drop it there. Then reboot to recovery and flash from there or from the cache if you want. Recovery - press both volume buttons and then power, select recovery, when the android appears press both volume buttons and release.
     
  11. daryls61

    daryls61 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2010
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Buffalo, NY
    Ratings:
    +2
    The OTA finally worked for me. I had to replace the following files for it to work:

    GoogleQuickSearch.APK
    Phonesky.APK
    VCASTVideo.APK
    Videos.APK
    VideoSurf.APK
    Youtube.APK

    No idea how these files got altered and thus caused the update to fail. They were there, just not the right ones I guess.

    Of course after I replaced the last one and re-downloaded the update it worked. Thanks for the advice about putting on the SD card. That would have worked if the update had failed again.
     
  12. orangechoochoo

    orangechoochoo Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2012
    Messages:
    1,109
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    On a caboose
    Ratings:
    +12
    I'm throwing out a theory here, but maybe frozen apps aren't updated to the newest versions so when ICS looks at the stock system it doesn't see the most current versions of those apps and then aborts.

    That's what I'm tending to think because quite a few people who only froze apps are having a hard time with the update and later discover that some of the stock apps have been changed (or according to my theory, not changed to the latest version).
     
Search tags for this page

android 2.3 doesn't have any of expected sha1 sums

,
assert failed: apply patch check(/system/etc/audio effects.c
,
cant do ota update phonesky
,
cyanogenmod assert failed apply patch check /usr/xbin/su
,

droid 4 ics update update failed

,
file /system/app/phonesky.apk doesn't have any of expected s
,
how i update phonesky apk in syestem
,
htc ota update failed
,
persist radio apm sim not pwdn 0
,

problems with ics san antonio