Problems with Nexus 6 and Verizon

Discussion in 'Motorola Nexus 6' started by Rognish, Aug 12, 2015.

  1. Rognish

    Rognish Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010
    Messages:
    237
    Likes Received:
    79
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Location:
    Ohio
    Ratings:
    +109
    Current Phone Model:
    Nexus 6
    Twitter:
    rognish
    My N6 has been doing great, until today, for some reason it will not make or receive calls. I did a factory reset thinking something was wrong and still not working. I manually flashed to latest firmware and it's been at least 4-5 days with no problems.
     
  2. Rognish

    Rognish Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010
    Messages:
    237
    Likes Received:
    79
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Location:
    Ohio
    Ratings:
    +109
    Current Phone Model:
    Nexus 6
    Twitter:
    rognish
    until today that is.
     
  3. patmw123

    patmw123 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Messages:
    1,759
    Likes Received:
    61
    Trophy Points:
    78
    Location:
    North Carolina
    Ratings:
    +78
    Current Phone Model:
    Nexus 6
    Are you rooted? Is your bootloader unlocked? (I'm assuming it is if you flashed the new firmware). Which build version are you on? Have you deviated anything away from stock other than unlocking the bootloader?
     
    • Like Like x 1
  4. Rognish

    Rognish Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010
    Messages:
    237
    Likes Received:
    79
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Location:
    Ohio
    Ratings:
    +109
    Current Phone Model:
    Nexus 6
    Twitter:
    rognish
    I have root and i'm running LMY48I and it's the stock boot image.
     
  5. patmw123

    patmw123 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Messages:
    1,759
    Likes Received:
    61
    Trophy Points:
    78
    Location:
    North Carolina
    Ratings:
    +78
    Current Phone Model:
    Nexus 6
    That's what I'm running - nice choice :). Are you using a standard nano sim or did you cut an older one down? Have you checked your APN settings and network settings? Are you on Global or LTE/CDMA? Worst case scenario you might just have to get a replacement SIM card from Verizon unless there is an actual hardware issue, which is unlikely.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  6. Rognish

    Rognish Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010
    Messages:
    237
    Likes Received:
    79
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Location:
    Ohio
    Ratings:
    +109
    Current Phone Model:
    Nexus 6
    Twitter:
    rognish
    My wife has a droid turbo which has the same sim card type. I swapped cards and same results. It's a standard nano sim I got at a verizon store.
     
    • Useful Useful x 1
  7. patmw123

    patmw123 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Messages:
    1,759
    Likes Received:
    61
    Trophy Points:
    78
    Location:
    North Carolina
    Ratings:
    +78
    Current Phone Model:
    Nexus 6
    What are your network settings looking like?
     
  8. Rognish

    Rognish Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010
    Messages:
    237
    Likes Received:
    79
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Location:
    Ohio
    Ratings:
    +109
    Current Phone Model:
    Nexus 6
    Twitter:
    rognish
    preferred network type LTE/CMDA
     
  9. Rognish

    Rognish Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010
    Messages:
    237
    Likes Received:
    79
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Location:
    Ohio
    Ratings:
    +109
    Current Phone Model:
    Nexus 6
    Twitter:
    rognish
    So after an hour with moto they said they will replace my device under warranty, yea!.

    Catch is it will be at least two weeks minimum using the standard equipment replacement with a "new" device. which requires me to send in my phone and and then they would send out a replacement. They put a hold on a credit card for the device or they offer a special offer for $25 dollar the expedite the return they will send out a replacement and once you receive the device you can return the old phone back to them.

    Verizon also offered to add the complete warranty replacement to my account for $12 a month they will ship out my replacement in 2 days.

    Just for good measure, I decided to go back and a factory reset using Nexus Root Toolkit v2.0.5 and revert back to stock & unroot. once i got it back up running again I tried to dial out and it worked.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  10. FoxKat

    FoxKat Premium Member
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Messages:
    14,806
    Likes Received:
    4,751
    Trophy Points:
    838
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Ratings:
    +5,290
    Current Phone Model:
    Droid Turbo 2 & Galaxy S7
    So are you going to do the replacement or wait it out and see if it was the ROM?
     
  11. Rognish

    Rognish Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010
    Messages:
    237
    Likes Received:
    79
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Location:
    Ohio
    Ratings:
    +109
    Current Phone Model:
    Nexus 6
    Twitter:
    rognish
    The level 2 verizon help desk was going to call me back tonight and add it on. but I'm thinking if stock unroot will fix the problem for now then I will run it for a few days.
     
  12. cybertec69

    cybertec69 Silver Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2010
    Messages:
    2,207
    Likes Received:
    267
    Trophy Points:
    148
    Location:
    Staten Island, NY
    Ratings:
    +318
    I use Wug's Root Tool Kit with stock image on my Nexus 6 64 GB white model on Verizon, and never had any issues, even with my trimmed down micro SIM card to nano SIM "used a SIM tool cutter".
    I suggest you stop messing with ROM's, I did a long time ago, just to many issues with most of them.
    I used Wug's tool kit to root and unlock so I can use the tethering feature "foxfi does not work on Motorola devices", and it works great, one click tethering is fantastic.
    Also no Verizon bloatware "non Verizon Nexus 6".
    My Nexus 6 runs smooth as butter.