Problems with LauncherPro

Discussion in 'Android Tech Support' started by carluverdrm2004, May 25, 2010.

  1. carluverdrm2004
    Offline

    carluverdrm2004 New Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I am told to force close this application SEVERAL times a day.
    I tried deleting every widget from my original Home application, and i did the same thing with helixlauncher, then deleted the application itself.
    But STILL I have to deal with force closes all the time, and it is just a bother.
    Any advice?
  2. LtKen
    Offline

    LtKen New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    2,637
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    It's still a beta. Help the dev out and e-mail him exactly what's happening so he/she can fix it.
  3. brochaos
    Offline

    brochaos New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    781
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    thats weird. are you rooted, OC'd, running a ROM, etc? I'm stock 2.1 rooted and OC'd and launcher pro has not FC'd on me a single time. 5 screens, all filled, handful of widgets, no live wallpapers (but they have worked fine when i tried them).
  4. carluverdrm2004
    Offline

    carluverdrm2004 New Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I'm not sure what exactly is happening, it force closes all the time....

    And I am not rooted, would that help?
  5. jntdroid
    Offline

    jntdroid DF Super Moderator Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    6,437
    Likes Received:
    292
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    TX
    Shouldn't make a difference. I have heard of the occasional problem or FC with Launcher Pro, but nothing to this extent... not that it's not possible, as Ken said, it's still a beta. But it sounds like something is conflicting with it.

    How un-helpful was that? :)
  6. carluverdrm2004
    Offline

    carluverdrm2004 New Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0

    Quite ;)
    But thanks.
    It just did it again, unlocked the screen and then SORRY! Force Close or Report blah blah blah.

    I have widgets on every one of my 7 screens, and folders of apps, and apps themselves as shortcuts.
    Any other things you need to know that would help make sense of this problem?
  7. jntdroid
    Offline

    jntdroid DF Super Moderator Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    6,437
    Likes Received:
    292
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    TX
    Do you have any other home/launcher's installed?
  8. MuzzleBuster
    Offline

    MuzzleBuster New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2010
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    NE Ohio
    I tried LauncherPro for a few days and it started looping force close.
    Went back to Helix and will wait for Launcher to update. It worked very well at first, would like to have it work all the time!

    My Droid is not rooted and I think I had 3 widgets - Power Control, BatteryTime, and Beautiful Home.

    Only thing I can think that might affect Launcher would be a task killer. IIRC, it did show up as an app.

    For now, it can sit until update pops up in market.
  9. OSX2000
    Offline

    OSX2000 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2010
    Messages:
    336
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    The only time LauncherPro ever FCs on me is when I plug the Droid into its dock (OEM). And it doesn't happen every time, but maybe once every 10-15 times I plug it in. As soon as the screen goes horizontal, LauncherPro's Force Close box pops up, with the Clock app behind it. Force Close is always the only button, no Report or Wait.

    Running Ultimate Droid 10 (ESE81) with no task killers, and LPro is always the only running launcher. Stock Home and Helix 1 lay dormant.

    carluverdrm2004, are you saying you're still getting force closes, even after uninstalling LauncherPro? What app is closing now?
    Last edited: May 27, 2010
  10. carluverdrm2004
    Offline

    carluverdrm2004 New Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I had helix launcher installed, but I installed it because I liked launcher pro more.
    I do have advanced task killer installed.
    should I just re install helix and use it until launcher pro is updated?
  11. jntdroid
    Offline

    jntdroid DF Super Moderator Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    6,437
    Likes Received:
    292
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    TX
    i would uninstall launcher pro and helix, then just install launcher pro, which had a big update this morning that might fix your issues as well

    also make sure advanced task killer isn't screwing with it - if there's a way to add it to an "exclude" list or something along those lines

    edit: misread the first time that you did NOT have helix installed already... so I would just uninstall your current launcher pro and reinstall the new updated one, then check the task killer
  12. pc747
    Online

    pc747 DF Administrator Staff Member Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    17,504
    Likes Received:
    1,049
    Trophy Points:
    113
    I have noticed an usual amount of f/cs myself the last couple of days, but it does not lad like hl, and I was getting f/c from hl as well. I plan on sticking with launcherpro. I click report but not comment.Hopefully he get a good bug report so he can fix it.
  13. pc747
    Online

    pc747 DF Administrator Staff Member Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    17,504
    Likes Received:
    1,049
    Trophy Points:
    113
    just updated the app lets see what happens
  14. Mule65
    Offline

    Mule65 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2010
    Messages:
    430
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I found more trouble than benefit with launchers. They instantly add another possible reason for something to not work right.
    Last edited: May 27, 2010
  15. bump47
    Offline

    bump47 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2010
    Messages:
    266
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Hometown: Charlotte, NC
    I completely uninstalled ATK because you don't need. My phone runs faster now that I don't have it. Also, is SetCPU still causing problems for rooted users? I use BB V. 1.0 so I don't run SetCPU but I was wondering if that is still causing fcs and lag.
Search tags for this page

droidz force problem