Problems with Froyo 2.2 for droid X?

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid X' started by ggaabe, Aug 20, 2010.

  1. ggaabe
    Offline

    ggaabe Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    NY
    Ratings:
    +0
    I just recently put 2.2 on my phone and am very happy as this has fixed my wifi issues and losing service while sitting in one spot, however I notice now 2 new issues which may be a nuisance.

    1. My music no longer automatically goes to the next song once one is done, but worked perfectly with 2.1

    2. My computer is unable to find drivers to recognize my phone as "Droid X" and simply recognizes it as a external drive, so syncing with windows media player may but media in the wrong folders, but I imagine there will be drivers once it actually is released by verizon

    As far as music goes, I have played around with shuffle and repeating options and nothing seems to work. It just seems to stay on whatever song I select, even after clicking the arrows to go to the next song, every song has to be selected manually. I understand that more likely than not this was "leaked" on purpose so motorola could get some free beta testing out of it. Has anybody else had similar issues or any issues in general with froyo 2.2 though?

    EDIT: music issue was fixed by reboot, not sure what caused it

    ANOTHER EDIT: I figured out what caused the music issue, for some reason when I use the search function and look for an individual song, and select it, it will be stuck on that individual song, and if I go back to the music list and select another song it will stay stuck on the next song I select, and the only way to get out of the loop is to go back to the music list, click the menu button, and select play all.
     
    Last edited: Aug 22, 2010
  2. ccomengee86
    Offline

    ccomengee86 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2010
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    My wifi tethering doesn't work. It starts but it says "Tethering started with errors! Please check 'Show Log'."
    Apparently, it cannot enable access control. This is the only thing that fails.

    I do have su and all my other root only apps work just fine.
     
  3. Amagine
    Offline

    Amagine Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2010
    Messages:
    116
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +5
    my usb isn't working.. tried the driver update, no such luck.. else its all good
     
  4. Nemock
    Offline

    Nemock New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    MY Market seems to be ridiculously slow. Same after man restarts. Really annoying when you have to click retry on a connection multiple times when a webpage will load perfectly.
     
  5. Mean Bro Greene
    Offline

    Mean Bro Greene Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2010
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Conservativetown, TN -_-
    Ratings:
    +0
    If this is a recent issue within the last couple hours, it's due to a Market crash/downtime. It was a widespread issue across all devices/carriers. It's actually just now coming back.
     
  6. Sydman
    Online

    Sydman Premium Member Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010
    Messages:
    3,563
    Likes Received:
    304
    Trophy Points:
    198
    Location:
    Austin, Tx
    Ratings:
    +318
    My battery usage still FC. Other than that no.
     
  7. Sydman
    Online

    Sydman Premium Member Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010
    Messages:
    3,563
    Likes Received:
    304
    Trophy Points:
    198
    Location:
    Austin, Tx
    Ratings:
    +318
    And i don't have the problem with the music it goes to the next song just fine on shuffle and when I press next.
     
  8. RPMGSXR
    Offline

    RPMGSXR New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Boston
    Ratings:
    +0
    I can't believe they did not fix the NO landscape from homescreen or Apps Screen. I HATE THAT!!!!! I mean not enough to go back to my Storm II but I miss a lot of features from my Storm II.
    I want a hard END button.
    I want Landscape to be available from anywhere.
    Better battery life would be nice as well.

    I mean all I've noticed as being different in 2.2 is the lock/unlock icons.

    Can someone please tell me why I just wasted 6 hours trying to root my phone to load 2.2???
    Am I missing something?? What else is new here??
     
  9. cincycats51
    Offline

    cincycats51 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2010
    Messages:
    102
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    South Carolina
    Ratings:
    +0
    The battery life for me with 2.2 is absolutely terrible and I can't stand it...usage for maybe 10 minutes knocks down my battery 10%...
     
  10. Mule65
    Offline

    Mule65 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2010
    Messages:
    430
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Sounds like a lot of issues with 2.2 + DX. Now I see why it hasn't been deployed.
     
  11. jcstarr
    Offline

    jcstarr Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    Ratings:
    +0
    If you are using any kind of battery widget, uninstall, reboot, and then try again. I was having the same issue and figured it out. Now no problems since... just an FYI, my battery life is fantastic so far as well.
     
  12. throwscoach
    Offline

    throwscoach Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0

    I don't know man, but I can be in landscape mode anywhere, but I do run LP+ along with Froyo 2.2. I haven't noticed any battery life issues and I searched the web a great deal last night. I plan on putting it to the test today. My main issue is that "handcent" seems to not work quite so well with 2.2. Some of my received message times are strange (received one at 9:10 and it said 4:10...things like that).
     
  13. lawrence87
    Offline

    lawrence87 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Georgia
    Ratings:
    +0
    The only issue i have seen so far is that in youtube if your watching a video you can no longer search while watching a video. you can but i graphic glitch happens and you gotta back out of the video. Also when checking my memory its been saying i only have 43mb free. usually after a wipe it goes to 175 but its only goes 2 110. i guess thats another issue but it could be a memory leak in a application thats not compatible with froyo
     
  14. lawrence87
    Offline

    lawrence87 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Georgia
    Ratings:
    +0
    Oh and did you notice market now has a update all button. i dont know if its new but i never saw that before and i had to update each app on its own.
     
  15. Mikey311
    Offline

    Mikey311 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2010
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    there isn't any adb support for 2.2 droid x yet, but your computer should still read your phone as mass storage device