problems with droid forums application

Discussion in 'Android Applications Discussions' started by jcwilliams, Dec 3, 2010.

  1. jcwilliams

    jcwilliams Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2010
    Messages:
    1,394
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    53
    Location:
    OH
    Ratings:
    +3
    i have been using droid forums app for a while now and come to find out it can be set to get notifications. i have set it up to check and to notify me of mew posts and it dont work. it also forces closed on me quite a bit. i also have been trying to upload screen shots of my home screen with this app and it says invalid format. im using shootme to take screen shots. ive been able to upload background images from the app no problem and it seems im the only one having problems with uploading screen shots.
    thanks in advance
     
  2. mwhartman

    mwhartman Super Moderator/RS
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    10,737
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    453
    Location:
    South FL
    Ratings:
    +12
    I use the app and have no issues. Did you verify the notification rington has been selected? Do you have the latest release? If you feel these are in place delete the app and reinstall.
     
  3. jcwilliams

    jcwilliams Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2010
    Messages:
    1,394
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    53
    Location:
    OH
    Ratings:
    +3
    yea ive selected the ringtone i want and then backed out. ive also uninstalled and reinstalled twice. im not sure whats going on. is there a setting that i have to play with on the actual website to make the notifications work or something? i know that everytime i go into the app it actually loads up like its been shut down.
     
  4. jcwilliams

    jcwilliams Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2010
    Messages:
    1,394
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    53
    Location:
    OH
    Ratings:
    +3
    ive been having problems with widgets not staying on my screen also. this may be related some how im not sure but i downloaded poweramp music app and put the widget on my home screen and when i reboot my phone the next morning it was gone. so i then went to add the widget back and it was not in my widget list. so i uninstalled and reinstalled and then it worked but same problem it went away on a reboot and stayed away. this is one of 4 widgets doing it to me. the others are onesevenpro, winamp and circle battery indicator widget. im thinking of doing a wipe or something and see if its a setting issue or something...
     
  5. mwhartman

    mwhartman Super Moderator/RS
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    10,737
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    453
    Location:
    South FL
    Ratings:
    +12
    That does seem strange that your widgets are disappearing. Are you using a different launcher?
     
  6. jcwilliams

    jcwilliams Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2010
    Messages:
    1,394
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    53
    Location:
    OH
    Ratings:
    +3
    yes launcher pro plus and none of the apps that i am having problems with are on the sdcard either...
     
  7. mwhartman

    mwhartman Super Moderator/RS
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    10,737
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    453
    Location:
    South FL
    Ratings:
    +12
    Try removing the launcher if that does not rectify then it may be time for a reset.
     
  8. Tallica

    Tallica Premium Member
    Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Messages:
    3,259
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Location:
    Middleboro, MA
    Ratings:
    +1
    I might be wrong but I thought the DF app will only notify for PM's not new posts.
     
  9. mwhartman

    mwhartman Super Moderator/RS
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    10,737
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    453
    Location:
    South FL
    Ratings:
    +12
    I believe you are correct! The notifications I receive are for PM, duh!
     
  10. jcwilliams

    jcwilliams Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2010
    Messages:
    1,394
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    53
    Location:
    OH
    Ratings:
    +3
    ok the droid forums app notification being just for pm's makes since ive never gotten a pm so i didnt know thanks for the help on that. im still stumped as to why it wont let me upload my screen shots when other people can do it with no problems. and about the launcher im going to just try clearing the default real quick and use the stock home and see if that does the trick besides removing it and all my settings.
     
  11. mwhartman

    mwhartman Super Moderator/RS
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    10,737
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    453
    Location:
    South FL
    Ratings:
    +12
    I use DroCap not sure it makes a difference. What format does shootme create? When you want to upload an attachment it only accepts certain formats (bmp doc gif jpe jpeg jpg pdf png psd txt zip) check the size as well.
     
  12. jcwilliams

    jcwilliams Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2010
    Messages:
    1,394
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    53
    Location:
    OH
    Ratings:
    +3
    i cleared launcher pro default and those widgets still wont show up on the stock launcher. so i may be trying a reset id hate to do it though but if thatll help then...