1. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

Problems Updating BB v1.1

Discussion in 'Droid Rooted Help' started by jadams7469, Jan 19, 2011.

  1. jadams7469
    Offline

    jadams7469 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2010
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Philly Burbs
    I have a rooted A855 running BB 1.1. I am getting the OTA to go from ESE81 to FRG01B. Consequently, it is burning up the battery, plus I want to get to 2.2. The problem I have is this, when I try to flash another ROm based on 2.2, it always hangs on the Motorola logo. I can go back to BB 1.1 w/o any problem and even earlier versions.

    Anyone have any idea what may be going on? I got this phone off of e-Bay and didn't know it was rooted until I had it for a while. Could there be a hardware issue? I don't know, just guessing. One strange thing that I noticed happening is that I cannot do a backup with SPR or CLockwork. So when I flash back to BB1.1. I have to start all over again.

    Any thoughts, ideas or suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

    John in PA
  2. furbearingmammal
    Offline

    furbearingmammal Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    10,354
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    So far north in NY I smell maple syrup when the wi
    Holy crap are you out of date.

    Tell me what you want to do and I'll get you there. :)
  3. jadams7469
    Offline

    jadams7469 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2010
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Philly Burbs
    Thanks,

    Yeah, I am out of date, its a long story. I would like to stay with BB, getting to the latest version V0.6.2.1. Whatever guidance you can give would be great. I am at a loss, I have tried flashing various custom ROMS and they all hang on the Motorola logo. I even tried using RSD Lite, same problem. But like I said, I can always go back to BB 1.1.

    Looking forward to hearing what you have to say.

    Thanks,

    John
  4. furbearingmammal
    Offline

    furbearingmammal Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    10,354
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    So far north in NY I smell maple syrup when the wi
    Are you wiping between ROM flashes? Moving from 1.1 to .6.2.1 is moving from one version of Android to another -- Eclair to FroYo -- so you HAVE to wipe.
  5. jadams7469
    Offline

    jadams7469 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2010
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Philly Burbs
    Yes, I do a factory reset and wipe cache whenever I flash.
  6. furbearingmammal
    Offline

    furbearingmammal Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    10,354
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    So far north in NY I smell maple syrup when the wi
    Are you running a stock kernel on the ROMs? What kernel are you running on your current ROM?
  7. jadams7469
    Offline

    jadams7469 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2010
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Philly Burbs
    Not certain I know what is stock and what is not. Here is the kernel version currently on the phone - 2.6.29-omap-bekit-0.8.3-stock
    bkriebel @ ubuntu#1.

    The baseband is C_01.43.01P

    As an FYI, I got this phone off of eBay to replace my stock Droid that I dropped in the ...er... sink, yeah thats right the sink. After I had the phone activated I noticed the poor battery performance. I did some research and discovered that it was in fact rooted.

    So, I know very little about the history of the phone, other than I am the second owner and the guy I bought it from disavowed any knowledge of it being rooted. Why didnt I send it back? I had already started playing around with the ROMs when I got stuck, so it would have been my word against his.

    Anyway, I have the phone back to the way it was when I got and it is activated. Let me know if there are any other details you may need.

    John
  8. furbearingmammal
    Offline

    furbearingmammal Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    10,354
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    So far north in NY I smell maple syrup when the wi
    Okay, if you haven't messed with the kernel then you're probably running the stock kernel.

    Question. Do you want it rooted or would stock be fine? Do you have anything on there you HAVE to keep?
  9. jadams7469
    Offline

    jadams7469 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2010
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Philly Burbs
    Which ever process is the easiest to do. I like the custom ROM aspect, but if every upgrade is going to be a pain, maybe I should just go stock.

    I don't have anything that I have to save that is not on my SD card or that I can't re-download from the Market. I have invested a few bucks in ROM Manager but that doesn't matter at this point.

    John
  10. furbearingmammal
    Offline

    furbearingmammal Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    10,354
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    So far north in NY I smell maple syrup when the wi
    You were using ROM Mangler. I understand every last part of your update woes. You need say no more.

    Okay, do me a favor and boot into recovery. Tell me what you see. If you've done this manually today already you can skip this step and just tell me if it's Clockwork, SPRecovery, or Stock recovery. :)
  11. jadams7469
    Offline

    jadams7469 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2010
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Philly Burbs
    At the moment it is Clockwork. But it came loaded with SPRecovery. I have used bothwith similar results.

    I can use ROM Manager to flash SPR, but sounds like you would not advise that.
  12. furbearingmammal
    Offline

    furbearingmammal Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    10,354
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    So far north in NY I smell maple syrup when the wi
    Actually, I would, but right now I'm thinking wipe everything out and start over. We can try that, use SPR to manually install a ROM, try to force an update, or any number of things. I'd advocate using SPRecovery to try to install a specific ROM or saving time, saying screw it, and just wiping the whole thing out and starting over.
  13. jadams7469
    Offline

    jadams7469 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2010
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Philly Burbs
    OK, lets wipe everything and start from scratch then. Just tell me what I need to do.

    I have the latest SBF file for SPR. Is that the best way to do this?
  14. furbearingmammal
    Offline

    furbearingmammal Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    10,354
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    So far north in NY I smell maple syrup when the wi
    You need a full sbf. I'll link you after I get home. :)

    This came from my brain by way of my finger and my phone. Don't ask where any of them have been. Especially the brain.
  15. jadams7469
    Offline

    jadams7469 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2010
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Philly Burbs
    Thanks, In hope the SBF works. I haven't had any luck with except for loading SPR.

    John

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums App
  16. furbearingmammal
    Offline

    furbearingmammal Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    10,354
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    So far north in NY I smell maple syrup when the wi
    Sorry, I didn't get home till so late I'd completely forgotten.

    Since we're wiping the phone out and rerooting it then it doesn't really matter which stock SBF we use, but I'm going to suggest we try a 2.2 SBF to make sure your phone isn't one of the few that couldn't run the FroYo kernel (the bump to 800MHz was too much for some phones).

    http://androidoverdrive.com/pete/OEM/VZW_A855_FRG22D_QSC6085BP_C_01.43.01P_SW_UPDATE.sbf

    If you get an update notice after installing this SBF, DO NOT INSTALL IT! It might make things more difficult. :)
  17. jadams7469
    Offline

    jadams7469 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2010
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Philly Burbs
    Thanks, I'll download the zip later this evening when I get home. I have some links to instructions for using RSD lite, but do you have a step by step that you would recommend?
  18. furbearingmammal
    Offline

    furbearingmammal Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    10,354
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    So far north in NY I smell maple syrup when the wi
  19. jadams7469
    Offline

    jadams7469 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2010
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Philly Burbs
    Well, I have bad news. I finally got around to flashing the sbf tonight. I went through the steps that you gave me to completion. I ended with a Finished and not a PASS, though. I rebooted the phone and it hung on the Motorola logo.

    So, I tried to do the flash again, but this time it failed. I cant boot to SPR, but I can get to the boot loader. Problem that I have now is that I get the low Battery, Cannot Program message. Left alone, it finally reboots and hangs on the logo

    After months of trying to get this phone right, have I finally bricked it?
  20. jadams7469
    Offline

    jadams7469 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2010
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Philly Burbs
    As an update to this saga, I purchased a battery charger. Charged up the battery and I was back in business. Using the RSD Lite and the SBF file from the link you provided, I flashed my Droid, following the directions until I received a "PASS" in RSD Lite. Unfortunately, the phone still hangs on the Motorola logo.

    The good news is that I was able to flash SPR and flashed BB 1.1 using an update.zip. So, I am back to where I started.

    The question that I have is why can I not flash anything ROM with 2.2? Is there some physical limitation with the phone? I can and have flashed earlier versions. Unless anyone has any suggestions, I think that I will have to live with the OTA update burning up my battery. Good thing I have a spare battery and a charger now :)