problems setting up?

Discussion in 'cvpcs' started by Axium, Aug 4, 2010.

  1. Axium

    Axium Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2010
    Messages:
    206
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    just flashed sapphire 1.0. it skipped the google activation when you start up the phone. so i dialed #228 and hit 1.. go to accounts & sync and try to add my gmail to it, says "Setup could not finish: Unable to open connection to server." how are you supposed to get a connection going when you flash a rom like this?
     
  2. bhughesiii

    bhughesiii Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2010
    Messages:
    430
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    you need to install the google apps update.zip

    Sent from my Droid
     
  3. Axium

    Axium Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2010
    Messages:
    206
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    omg that was way too easy lol, ily. thanks a lot! gonna check out this froyo rom see how it fairs tonight at work. :)
     
  4. b15nut

    b15nut New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I am having the same issue but still not resolved. I have tried wiping eveything, nothing, and just cache to no avail.

    Should I just reflash the sapphire rom and then do the gapps again? I will try that later tonight and see what I can come up with.

    Using clockwork do i need to rename to update.zip?
     
  5. pdroid

    pdroid Silver Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    2,252
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Philly
    Ratings:
    +7
    No need to rename on clockwork.

    All 1.0 files install fine on latest clockwork.
     
  6. b15nut

    b15nut New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks I will redownload and flash again later tonight without renaming.
     
  7. b15nut

    b15nut New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    We have lift off!!!! Downloaded both rom and app again. Wiped 3 times flashed rom then went straight back into recovery and flashed app and VIOLA. Thanks for the help!!