Problems purchasing Apps or Widgets

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid' started by Krazy8, Mar 1, 2010.

  1. Krazy8
    Offline

    Krazy8 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Cannot seem to get passed the invalid credit card message when trying to purchase apps or widgets. My credit card number and CVC code along with all my personal information in Google settings are correct. If I try to purchase I receive an invalid credit card message with the ability to add new card or cancel. I have tried another card and still receive same message. All credit cards are active and available for use.

    Am I the only one....thanks
  2. jstafford1
    Offline

    jstafford1 DF Super Moderator Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    9,058
    Likes Received:
    127
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Hebron, Oh.
    Are you tring this straight through the market? If so get on your home pc and setup google checkout there. I had the same issue at first as well and that solved it. You just need to have google checkout done, and you have to do it on a pc can't do it from your phone. Hope this helps.
  3. Krazy8
    Offline

    Krazy8 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    That's the frustrating thing. All my google checkout data was set up originally through my laptop before I tried my purchases through the phone. I may try to delete everything and resubmit although some things you know just aren't going to solve the problem.

    I appreciate the help anyway..
  4. mwhartman
    Offline

    mwhartman Super Moderator/RS Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    10,739
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    South FL
    I had the same problem. I had a credit on my Discover card so I entered it to purchase. Not sure why, but Discover will not authorize for purchases out side the USA. If the purchase has the British Pound symbol try a VISA. That worked for me.

    Mike
  5. Krazy8
    Offline

    Krazy8 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Mike,

    Changing the card to a Visa worked. My American Express would not work as well so not sure if the same problem applies.

    Thanks for the help..Now I can begin my home page creation..
  6. mwhartman
    Offline

    mwhartman Super Moderator/RS Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    10,739
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    South FL
    Great!

    What app are you purchasing?

    When you finish the customizing please send me a PM and I'll provide an email address so that you can send screen shoots.

    Mike
  7. Krazy8
    Offline

    Krazy8 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Right now I'm just starting off with Beautiful Widgets to see how far I was to take the customization. I would be more than open to any other cool apps/widgets recommendation to get me started.

    I will send over after completion..thanks
  8. mwhartman
    Offline

    mwhartman Super Moderator/RS Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    10,739
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    South FL

    I have BW They are very nice. Several skins to pick from. The active weather is a nice touch.

    Have you rooted your phone? If so, what ROM are your running?

    I'm having a lot of fun with all of the customization. I want to learn about customizing the icons. That looks like fun and should really change the appearance.

    Mike
  9. Krazy8
    Offline

    Krazy8 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Not yet.. I want to see how far I can take it on a local level before I get over the fear of rooting it. I hear once you do its crazy amazing. I'll let you know if I ever want to begin that journey.

    Customizing the icons will definitely give it a whole new look. Good luck with that..
  10. mwhartman
    Offline

    mwhartman Super Moderator/RS Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    10,739
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    South FL
    I understand about rooting. I read, read, read, and read some more about it.
    Not sure what finally convinced me but I'm glad that I did.

    If you decide to root read the forum. There are several different processes. I used Matth3W's (http://www.droidforums.net/forum/ha...ng-only-sprecovery-terminal-emulator-zip.html). His requires you to enter the OS commands while others have it automated. I chose Matt's because I like to know what is and is not being added to my phone plus, Matt was a real help during the process.

    Mike