Problems downloading new youtube

Discussion in 'ShadowROM' started by lurch81, Oct 27, 2010.

  1. lurch81

    lurch81 Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2010
    Messages:
    242
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Anyone else getting "installation unsuccessful"?
     
  2. joe3681

    joe3681 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2010
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Indiana
    Ratings:
    +0
    Everytime! When I was on MUIU it updated fine. Its gotta be this rom
     
  3. abraham3660

    abraham3660 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2010
    Messages:
    123
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    That's because on miui youtube wasn't a system app. You have to go into titanium backup and delete/uninstall youtube. Then reboot ur phone and install the new youtube from the market.

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums App
     
  4. lurch81

    lurch81 Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2010
    Messages:
    242
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I don't use titanium can I do this with root explorer or astro?

    Sent from my Droid using Tapatalk
     
  5. abraham3660

    abraham3660 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2010
    Messages:
    123
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I am not sure. You just need to completely remove youtube, so if any of those programs let you do that then yes.

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums App
     
  6. thc1967

    thc1967 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009
    Messages:
    110
    Likes Received:
    23
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +25
    I used Root Explorer to rename the YouTube APK to *.apk.bak in /system/app and /data/app, then I used Manage Applications to uninstall You Tube, then rebooted.

    Once I did that, You Tube installed from Market.
     
  7. lurch81

    lurch81 Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2010
    Messages:
    242
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thx! going to try this out


    Sent from my Droid using Tapatalk
     
  8. INSANENEIVIESIS

    INSANENEIVIESIS Active Member
    Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2010
    Messages:
    1,288
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Ratings:
    +0
    why not use the system in shadowrom application settings? its why we put it in there.
     
  9. Nblufire12

    Nblufire12 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2010
    Messages:
    302
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    Just tried and it works!
     
  10. billygalbreath

    Developer

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2010
    Messages:
    678
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    Ratings:
    +0
    For what its worth, I personally spent a LOT of time working on the Queue System in ShadowRom to avoid issues exactly like this one.

    Updating system apps always has issues, most ending with uninstalled updates. To fix this, you MUST move the app to data and then update from market as normal.

    To move apps to data is SIMPLE and does not require Root Explorer or Titanium Backup or Terminal Emulator

    Simply follow these steps:

    1) From Home screen, press Menu.
    2) Go to Settings.
    3) Go to Applications
    4) Go to Manage Applications
    5) Click on the ALL tab at the top
    6) Scroll to and click the app you want to move
    7) Below the normal "Move to SDCard" button, there is a NEW section called "Toggle System/Data Queue" - move the app to data.
    8) Reboot - The Queue will run (similar to FirstBoot)
    9) Update the app from market like normal.

    This was one of the MAJOR features of ShadowRom v0.2.x and I am suprised not many of you read the changelog to see it...
     
  11. Squadalah_man

    Squadalah_man Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2010
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    mountain view, callifornia (home of google and the
    Ratings:
    +0
    I use this all the time :) are you serious people have not been using this? Actualy I recomend that you use this to make the system cleaner, by moving system apps that can function happily in data/app I have noticed an increase in speed for system functions.

    However before you flash a rom ALWAYS move your original system apps back to the system or it will suck and u will want to flash a recovery. Never wipe data when system apps are "naked" or in the data and not in system. I will call all apps in data naked from now on.

    Squadala we are off!
     
  12. thc1967

    thc1967 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009
    Messages:
    110
    Likes Received:
    23
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +25

    I tried that with another application and it kept coming back on me. Either Twitter or Facebook, I think. It was so long ago, I don't remember the exact steps to duplicate the behavior.

    Then... I forgot this was there so I didn't try it with YouTube. :icon_ nono2:
     
Search tags for this page

miui youtube problems