Problems connecting to Wifi, need help please.

cparknson

Reaction score
Hi everyone. I'm using the Motorola droid and when I'm at my house I can connect to my Apple Airport Extreme wireless connection perfectly. My problem is I'm going to Southern IL University at Carbondale IL and on campus their wireless net for the campus runs on a Cisco VPN client where you have to download a program that allows you to enter your user name and password to connect and I can not figure out how to get this connected. I've found a few topics on here talking about VPN clients but haven't found the one that really explains what to do or is it even possible. I'm a definite newbie when it comes to working with this system. Anyone have any suggestions for me? I really need to be able to connect up there because the 3G coverage is spotty on campus and some rooms have cell signals blocked out completely.

Another minor problem while I'm asking, most the time when someone sends me a text that has a pic or video attached it either won't show them or will just show a very small pic in the upper left part of the screen. Sometimes I'll get the sound but no pic. Any fixes for that?

OyVOid

Reaction score
I didn't even know this before this weekend. I was at a family dinner and my older brother (who happens to be a computer programmer) immediately grabbed my Droid as soon as I sat it down on the dinner table and basically he had his way with it. I felt so helpless to protect it. LOL!

Anyways , he was doing God knows what to it and then he asked if I every use the Wi-Fi feature and I said, "Whaaaaaat?"

If you go to menu >settings> Wireless & networks> Wi-Fi settings, you can select Wi-Fi scanning and Network notification to be ON and it will search for a Wi-Fi signals anywhere you are located. Some are secured and you need to enter in a password. Beyond that I don't know anything else.

Pretty cool though.

OP
C

cparknson

Reaction score