Problems connecting RAZR (Maxx) with Alpine Stereo Bluetooth

Discussion in 'Droid RAZR' started by lyrictenor1, Jun 13, 2012.

  1. lyrictenor1
    Offline

    lyrictenor1 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Droid RAZR Maxx, stock ROM, rooted.

    I recently installed an Alpine CDE-HD137BT stereo in my car, which has quite a bit of bluetooth functionality. However, I do have quite a few issues connecting my Razr's BT with the Alpine.

    -Sometimes the BT icon on the stereo will light up, and the BT icon on the RAZR will turn blue, indicating that they are paired. However, even though they showing as being paired and connected, it occassionally won't play any audio through the stereo (in fact, the audio will play through the RAZR's speaker). This some times happens with CALLS as well.

    -Sometimes the two devices will connect fine, which then automatically causes my phone to start playing music from whatever music app was being used last; the music will play fine through the car stereo's speakers for maybe 20 seconds, followed by a shrill, loud, high frequency tone that only goes away by switching the source or by turning the radio off/on (by turning the car off/on).

    -Sometimes the phone will pair perfectly to the stereo, and I make a call before listening to any music. The call is executed beautifully, but then following the call, audio will not stream through the stereo, nor will any subsequent calls work via bluetooth.

    -(known problem) the specific Pandora fucntions on the stereo do not seem to work with this device.

    Anyone else have the above issues? If so, what did you do to remedy them?

    Thanks in advance!

    Sent from my Transformer Prime TF201 using Tapatalk
  2. lyrictenor1
    Offline

    lyrictenor1 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Bump. Anyone?
  3. William_04_x
    Offline

    William_04_x Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2011
    Messages:
    505
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Which music player do you prefer to use? You might want to open that up and make sure the headset controls are enabled. On those you don't use, make sure they're not enabled.

    I had similar problems with Winamp, and music not playing after a call. Haven't had the problem with Poweramp.

    If you're getting the devices to pair, its most likely a matter of getting all the settings correct.

    Sent from my DROID RAZR MAXX using Droid Forums
  4. lovemyram4x4
    Offline

    lovemyram4x4 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2012
    Messages:
    238
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    18
    I've had a similar problem where both the phone & car showed connected but I couldn't make/receive calls or view contacts. I had to clear all saved pairing data on the car then repair & all was good. I got this issue everytime I repaired my Razr after a FDR or phone swap, oddly the Razr is the only device that had this issue with the car.

    Might not help with your issues but worth a try. If it ends up being a compatibility issues maybe the ICS update will correct it or Alpine may have a firmware update-if you haven't done so yet check their support network.

    Sent from my DROID RAZR using Forum Runner
  5. wookv
    Offline

    wookv New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I have the same problems too. I unpaired and re-paired it. It'll start playing my music from doubletwist instead of google player (which is good music wise because it's not streaming, but it won't send mp3 info to the screen).

    Pandora, for the first week that I had it, turning on the stereo and going over to pandora would automatically get pandora going my phone, I don't know what happened but after a week it just stopped doing that. And everytime I select the pandora option, I have to acknowledge the access key request that pops up on the phone, but after that it'll work great until I turn off the stereo or car engine (I'll have to redo it again when I turn the ignition). Kind of a pain but...

    FWIW, I am using ICS, not sure about the timeline, I think the problems started before I got ICS.

    Anyone knows if there's a software/firmware update for the alpine receiver?
  6. ghicks12
    Offline

    ghicks12 Developer Developer

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2012
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Wahiawa, Hawaii
    What ROM were you running? All CM9 and AOKP ROMs for the RAZR have that issue.

    Sent from my DROID SPYDER using Tapatalk 2
  7. lyrictenor1
    Offline

    lyrictenor1 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Okay, all seems fine now after the ICS upgrade...I guess Moto fixed something in the OS.
  8. jns.das
    Offline

    jns.das New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Is all still working well for you? I have the same head unit and razr maxx as well... I found some quirky things... For instance... If you begin in bt pandora mode and pair the phone you can not only pair the phone with no problems... it will eventually connect to your pandora acct. And if you do this this way, thumbs up/down etc all work... There is a bt audio selection which pairs much easier.... but you can only skip tracks... When in bt pandora mode, on your razr hit the menu button and you will get a quit option......

    My main problem is that Every time I leave my car and come back to it, the only way I can get anything to work is if I am in hd radio mode. Unpair phone from radio, wipe radios history and repair.... Im on hold w alpine now....(past 22 minutes).... will see if they have any answers.

    regards,
  9. jns.das
    Offline

    jns.das New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ok all,

    I just got off the phone with a level 2. Anyway. according to him doing the below does a complete bluetooth reset on the head unit and "Typically" fixes this issue. So he says...

    -With key in and radio on, Pull the face plate off.

    -Press the reset button thats behind the face plate.

    - Cycle the Key - (off, on, off, on)

    -Put the faceplate back.

    -Re-pair the unit to your phone.


    Im gonna try this tonight. Good luck.

    Jay
  10. jns.das
    Offline

    jns.das New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Worked for me

    Ok, I did what I posted last night...Worked like a charm.

    Now, I find that all I have to do is the following and I keep a flawless connection between the two.

    When done playing music in car. On phone. Goto pandora (it shows a pandora-alpine black screen), press menu, and select quit.

    The radio will then say "See Device." Press and hold power on head unit to shut down.

    --->

    Then when turning on. Make sure bluetooth is on on phone and pandora is closed... Go to my Bluetooth menu screen. Turn on radio... and on my Droid Razr I get a pop up asking if I wanna pair... Press pair... voila... connects and opens pandora. works every time I have tested it so far.
  11. Katoomr
    Offline

    Katoomr New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2012
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I just installed this stereo in my truck and I'm having all of the above issues and the above mention "fix" does not solve my issue. Anyone found any new info for solving this issue?
  12. jns.das
    Offline

    jns.das New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0

    What phone are u on? What rom?

    I will say its very finicky. Mine still works but. I have to jump thru hoops.

    Turn on car then turn on blutooth. Then go in and make sure connected... from the android connections screen... on the radio. There are 6 source screens. Bt pandora bt audio hd radio etc... while connected i will cycle thru those 6 sources until i get back to the bt pandora screen. And then on my razr on the blutooth connections screen i will get a pop up request asking if i wish to pair.... when i press pair pandora connects.

    Btw.... i need to do this every time i get back in and start the car up
  13. Katoomr
    Offline

    Katoomr New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2012
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    RAZR MAXX - v4.04
  14. jns.das
    Offline

    jns.das New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Can u connect enuf to make phone calls?
  15. Katoomr
    Offline

    Katoomr New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2012
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I've been able to connect and make calls, however its sporadic at best. As for custom ROMs, have you found one that helps?
  16. jns.das
    Offline

    jns.das New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0

    Im on rooted ICS. nothin special.

    Its finicky.
  17. adcurtin
    Offline

    adcurtin New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2013
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hello everyone!

    Just put this head unit in my car today. Luckily I'm not having most of the issues here. however "everytime I select the pandora option, I have to acknowledge the access key request that pops up on the phone, but after that it'll work great until I turn off the stereo or car engine (I'll have to redo it again when I turn the ignition)." is happening to me. I've got a droid 4 rooted stock. I'm gonna try my CM10 rom (which I can't use as a daily driver due to other issues in the rom), and I'm gonna try a few other device (N7 stock, D3 stock and CM10 / 9, D1 CM7, stratosphere whatever's on it).

    Hopefully I can figure out where the blame lies (motorola or alpine). I might have to dive in to the bluetooth spec to see what the behavior is supposed to be. What is actually causing the issue is that the head unit switches passkeys every time it starts. If it keeps the same passkey, I don't think there will be any problems.

    edit: some quick research (before testing) found this: http://mclean-linsky.net/joel/cv/Simple Pairing_WP_V10r00.pdf
    It looks like devices are only supposed to generate the passkey when pairing, and not during every connection. This seems obvious, due to the security risks associated with generating a new key every connect. I'm hoping that by finding out which device doesn't comply with bluetooth standards, we can force the manufacturer to release an update (or lose their bluetooth certification). Otherwise, I doubt anything will be done to fix this.

    edit 2: OK, I did some testing. Verdit: bugs abound. My nexus 7 worked fairly well, and reconnected automatically after power cycling the car, so this leads me to believe that the head unit is complying with the spec (unless android has a hack to get this sort of thing to work). The droid 3 was pretty much the same as the D4 stock. The custom rom didn't really support bluetooth. I also tested an HP touchpad, which couldn't connect to pandora (it's running a really old CM9 version, so understandable that it doesn't have good bluetooth support). The droid 4, I tried a few custom roms: the latest CM10 build from hashcode, which didn't work for pandora (can't remember audio though), the december 17th CM10.1 build, which couldn't even turn on bluetooth, and lastly, the 1-16 build of CM10.1 (ooh, two newer builds, I'll try the latest tomorrow), which worked flawlessly! (well, the bluetooth did. Every time I recieve a call, phone crashes, rings forever, and I have to hard boot the phone. unfortunately, this is a bigger issue than the bluetooth one, so I'm stuck on stock until this is fixed. I'm contacting hashcode to see what I can do).

    I have not yet tested the stratosphere and the droid 1 (they were dead). I think the stratosphere will be the most telling: if it works, it's a motorola issue. If not, it's something alpine might want to fix.


    I also found a few bugs on the Alpine side though. First, when trying to 'clear' (which is actually unpair) a device, the head unit seems to need to connect to the device first. That's a problem if you already removed the pairing on a target device. I had to reset my radio to get rid of the device. Second, when a bluetooth device tries to connect to the radio while the radio is connected to a different device, the connecting device will give a passkey error (the head unit is probably trying to use the passkey of connected phone). Alpine should either disable discovery during this time (and make sure searching works) or fix it to be able to handle two passkeys simultaneously. The former seems much easier. Third, after a reset, the radio takes a while to start up. However, it finishes loading the main screen and the first level of menus before it's actually done. When I went into the main menu, I couldn't actually click on anything until it finished booting. I thought my knob was malfunctioning.
    Last edited: Jan 20, 2013
  18. Katoomr
    Offline

    Katoomr New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2012
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Don't ya just love how this went through such exceptional Q/A before being released for resale.... :frown:
  19. adcurtin
    Offline

    adcurtin New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2013
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    My thoughts exactly on the QA.

    I tried the latest rom for my D4 (CM10.1 1/19) and it works great. The head unit reconnects without issue, and the phone doesn't crash when I get calls (I somehow missed that CM10.1 is still an early beta for the D4, whoops). This will now be my daily driver ROM.

    I also tested my Droid 1 with CM7 on it. It worked flawlessly, and the head unit was able to reconnect without issue.

    Unfortunately, I was unable to test the stratosphere because it couldn't connect to the play store to update pandora or google music, and couldn't actually stream pandora either.

    However, I am led to believe that since this works in non motorola stuff pretty reliably, it is a motorola issue and not an alpine issue. If you've got a moto device, I'd suggest trying the latest CM10.1 from hashcode to see if that works for you, and is stable enough (and has enough functions) to be your daily driver.
    http://goo.im/devs/Hashcode/
    Last edited: Jan 20, 2013
  20. fd2blk
    Offline

    fd2blk New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2013
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ok here is what I have found that may or may not helps some of you. I have the RAZR MAXX and had ICS 4.04 and the radio was pretty much useless for Media BT. I manually upgraded to Jellybean 4.1.2 today and it has fixed 80% of the problems. I now can stream Pandora and Tune in Radio over BT without a problem and make voice command phone calls and it returns to BT audio. Not much luck with the Pandora selection it won't launch Pandora or even find the phone most of the time. I have seen a few glitches when transferring back off phone to BT but it seems to recover quickly and I am able to use my se3lection arows on BT audio to FF through the Pandora songs. Hope this helps and just a little further info I manually updated to JB and have not rooted my phone.
Search tags for this page

alpine bluetooth problems

,
alpine car stereo bluetooth pin reset
,
alpine cde 143 st bluetooth pairing
,

alpine head unit bluetooth not working

,

alpine pandora see device

,

alpine radio bluetooth

,
alpine radio not pairing with bluetooth
,
alpine tune it app saying device not connected
,
android razr maxx bluetooth music not working
,
android wont connrct with bkurtooyh to alpinr
,
auto connect droid maxx to sony csr sterio
,
connecting razr to allpine stereo bluetooth
,

droid maxx bluetooth issues

,

how to connect razr maxx to car

,

razr maxx connected to alpine