Problem with Rooted phone update PLZ HELP!

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by delco714, Sep 2, 2010.

1. delco714

delco714 New Member

Ratings:
    +0
    OK GUYS thanks for reading. I'm in a pickle and need some help!

I had a Droid and it got "destroyed". Long story. I got a barely used preowned one shipped to me. The original user had it Rooted with Frozen Yogurt and had some special kernel on there (I didnt know this at the time). I am a med school student and I dont want anything flashy or extra and I was upset he sent me a phone like this. It took me 4 hours to research, try a few things, and finally figure out how to revert the phone to stock 2.01 android. I used RSD Lite and a flash rom, etc etc. This was my first attempt at "playing with the droid". I wish to have froyo (updated) on the phone like my old one had, but I am afraid that since he rooted it, it will never get an OTA update. I tried some suggestions by reading through the forum and getting the deodexed update and stuff but nothing work. It says E: signature failed, and it aborts all updating. I really want the newest updated android and I really need help from one of you wise-to-droid guys as I expended all viable options known to me. Any one have some insight as to how to go about this? He originally had ClockWorkMod on it, but I don't know if it's still active since I completely flashed it back to 2.01. Everything is back to stock. The 2.01 is there, non-rooted, and the kernel is back to stock. PLZ PLZ PLZ someone assist me. I am fairly technology savvy as it comes to phones and computers, but I really never bothered with rooting android, so I will classify myself as a semi-n00b. Thank you guys. I will provide free medical opinions in return :p :blush:

2. Moto Droid

Moto Droid New Member

Ratings:
    +0