Problem with root apps

Discussion in 'ChevyNo1' started by dgonz, Oct 1, 2010.

  1. dgonz

    dgonz Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2009
    Messages:
    103
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Porterville, CA
    Ratings:
    +0
    Okay I'm new to SS, but loving it so far. I have Super User v2.3.1 (that I don't remember installing weirdly enough)

    but when I try to use drocap or wifi tether it says they are granted permissions but both fail to execute when I use them. Any ideas?
     
  2. dgonz

    dgonz Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2009
    Messages:
    103
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Porterville, CA
    Ratings:
    +0
    over 100 views and no replies? come on someone has to have an idea.
     
  3. Tallica

    Tallica Premium Member
    Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Messages:
    3,259
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Location:
    Middleboro, MA
    Ratings:
    +1
    Uninstall and reinstall the apps that aren't working
     
  4. ChevyNo1

    ChevyNo1 Premium Member
    Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Messages:
    5,354
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Ratings:
    +5
    Also, what is the specific error that either of them give you? If you have used adb, run this command:

    adb shell ls -l /system/bin/su /system/xbin/su
     
  5. dgonz

    dgonz Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2009
    Messages:
    103
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Porterville, CA
    Ratings:
    +0
    Well I reinstalled them both and it seems to have worked. I apologize for not thinking of that earlier...

    Chevy....it didn't give me a specific error persay. It just had a small popup toward the bottom of the screen that said "unable to execute wifi tether/drocap2"

    Also, I noticed I couldn't find superuser in my installed apps list....that means I don't have the option to uninstall it. Not a huge deal but just curious if you guys knew anything about that?

    Thanks for your help!
     
  6. Phreaker47

    Phreaker47 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2010
    Messages:
    753
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +20
    Superuser comes with the ROM, and you do not want to uninstall it, unless you actually want to lose root access.
     
  7. dgonz

    dgonz Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2009
    Messages:
    103
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Porterville, CA
    Ratings:
    +0
    That's what I figured, but I'd read posts before about how when SU went to 2.2 people were having problems so they'd manually downgrade to version 2.1 or whatever, I wasn't sure if there was a similar issue here. Thanks again for the help guys, Mod's, feel free to close this thread.