Problem with new facebook update

Discussion in 'ShadowROM' started by motoconvert, Nov 12, 2010.

  1. motoconvert

    motoconvert Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Messages:
    340
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Norwalk OH
    Ratings:
    +0
    Anyone else having troubles with the new facebook update??
     
  2. spaz33g

    spaz33g Rescue Squad
    Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2010
    Messages:
    6,374
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Location:
    orange county, ca
    Ratings:
    +0
    Not that I've noticed. What kind of problems?

    Edit: oops my bad, may be shadow specific. But still what issues.

    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums App
     
  3. motoconvert

    motoconvert Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Messages:
    340
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Norwalk OH
    Ratings:
    +0
    Well, I'm thinking it might be shadow specific...but could ne theme specific now that I think about it...but, when I try to update it says install fail. I'm running black and bold theme...all I know is I can't update...

    Sent from my Droid 1 using DroidForums App
     
  4. spaz33g

    spaz33g Rescue Squad
    Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2010
    Messages:
    6,374
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Location:
    orange county, ca
    Ratings:
    +0
    That could be a problem if it is included as a system app in your theme or rom. Not familiar with either of them but I know people had trouble updating with blackglassx for that reason.

    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums App
     
  5. OneTenderRebel

    OneTenderRebel Silver Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    3,327
    Likes Received:
    63
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Hampton Falls, NH
    Ratings:
    +64
    You need to use an app like root explorer and put the phone in mount r/w, you will see it in the top right corner to do that. Go to the folder "system" then to the folder "app". Delete facebook, reboot and then reinstall. It won't be themed anymore until a patch is made by the dev.
     
  6. spaz33g

    spaz33g Rescue Squad
    Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2010
    Messages:
    6,374
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Location:
    orange county, ca
    Ratings:
    +0
    + 1 I was trying to remember how it was done but you hit the nail on the head.

    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums App
     
  7. revenge8

    revenge8 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2010
    Messages:
    256
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    NY
    Ratings:
    +0
    if your using shadowrom just go to manage applications, go to facebook, move the app from Data to System..reboot.. then uninstall and reinstall from market.
     
  8. greenjeff41

    greenjeff41 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I was having the same problem, thanks everyone for the solutions!
     
  9. billygalbreath

    Developer

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2010
    Messages:
    678
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    Ratings:
    +0
    Your two responses are the old-school way of doing this. I've spent many hours on the System Queue feature of ShadowRom, and its entire purpose was to avoid issues like this.

    You, sir, are indeed correct! That's how easy I've made it. Works for any application! :D
     
  10. motoconvert

    motoconvert Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Messages:
    340
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Norwalk OH
    Ratings:
    +0
    You, sir, are indeed correct! That's how easy I've made it. Works for any application! :D[/QUOTE]

    I tried doing it this way, but that still didn't work. It let me move it from data to system, but didn't give me the option to uninstall...I went ahead and got root explorer and did it that way.

    BTW....LOVE shadowROM!

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums App
     
  11. billygalbreath

    Developer

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2010
    Messages:
    678
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    Ratings:
    +0
    I tried doing it this way, but that still didn't work. It let me move it from data to system, but didn't give me the option to uninstall...I went ahead and got root explorer and did it that way.

    BTW....LOVE shadowROM!

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums App[/QUOTE]

    you can only uninstall apps located on data. Move the app from wherever it is to Data, then reboot. Go back to that screen and there is an uninstall button up top.

    ;)
     
  12. motoconvert

    motoconvert Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Messages:
    340
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Norwalk OH
    Ratings:
    +0
    That's what I forgot...the whole reboot thing...geesh, gotta get use to that!

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums App
     
Search tags for this page
facebook wont stop refreshing
,
facebook wont stop updating
,
fix for facebook won't stop updating
,
problems with facebok app updating today
,

problems with new facebook update