Problem with minfreemanager

Discussion in 'Android General Discussions' started by zenman77, Feb 22, 2010.

  1. zenman77
    Offline

    zenman77 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Messages:
    186
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Toledo, Ohio
    After hearing others promote this it sounded like a great app. to try out but after installation it will not allow me to apply or apply at boot without producing a popup that states (Failed, Ok). I'm running bugless beast 7.8 at the moment and was curious as to whether anyone else is having this the same experience.....
  2. STIDRIVER
    Offline

    STIDRIVER New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2010
    Messages:
    499
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Running DroidMod 2.0.6... not getting that error...
  3. hacksaw
    Offline

    hacksaw New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2010
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I'm running Bugless Beast 7.6 and minfreemanager is working great for me.

    This is pure speculation, but I'm wondering if it's the same problem that Titanium Backup or Metamorph run into when they try to access Busybox when the permissions are set wrong. Do those apps work for you? If not do this from either the adb shell or terminal emulator on your phone:

    su
    mount -o remount,rw -t yaffs2 /dev/block/mtdblock4 /system
    chmod 755 /system/xbin/busybox
    mount -o ro,remount -t yaffs2 /dev/block/mtdblock4 /system
    sync
    reboot

    That will allow the utilities in Busybox to be used by other apps.

    Again though, I have no idea if this is the issue or not with minfreemanager but given that we're both running Bugless Beast it's the first thing that leaps to mind that might be different between our systems. I did this on mine in order to get Titanium working.
  4. zenman77
    Offline

    zenman77 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Messages:
    186
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Toledo, Ohio
    I tried going to terminal and entering (SU) as you suggested and it's stating (Permission Denied)

    I wonder if I'm unrooted now after installing bb 7.8?
  5. zenman77
    Offline

    zenman77 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Messages:
    186
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Toledo, Ohio
    Ok............. an update............ I'm now running bb 1.1 and have access to the terminal again..... It appears to be a very solid version and I think the only thing that I'll be missing is ocing to 800mhz as it looks like I can't go past 550mhz now but it's running fast and smooth anyway.
  6. Tanknspank
    Offline

    Tanknspank Beta Team Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010
    Messages:
    3,506
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    North Carolina
    You have to download a OC kernal from his page and apply it as an update.zip
    There are 600mhz, 1.2Ghz, and 1.25Ghz.
  7. zenman77
    Offline

    zenman77 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Messages:
    186
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Toledo, Ohio
    I'll be sure and do that........... Most likely it will be the 600mhz as I'm hesitant to go over 1ghz..... Thanx for your input everyone. I've never hacked phones before but it is so much fun
  8. Tanknspank
    Offline

    Tanknspank Beta Team Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010
    Messages:
    3,506
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    North Carolina
    It is isn't it?:icon_ devil:
    Oh and if your afraid of 1Ghz, then don't use it, because one you use it, you won't want to go back. Trust me...
  9. zenman77
    Offline

    zenman77 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Messages:
    186
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Toledo, Ohio
    I'll bet! I'm going to stay with 800 and will see where it goes when the 2.1's start making there way to us............
  10. ViciousCircle
    Offline

    ViciousCircle Android Addict Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009
    Messages:
    570
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I applied Chevy's 1.2 kernel and it's working great Zenman77. I'd recommend that one. It'll let you set it at 800, but if you want (and your phone can handle it), you can go all the way to 1.25gHz.
  11. hacksaw
    Offline

    hacksaw New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2010
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Did changing ROM versions fix the problem with minfreemanager?
  12. jasonb
    Offline

    jasonb New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2009
    Messages:
    1,153
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    minfreemanager is not keeping it's settings when i reboot the phone. i clicked set on boot, and it still doesn't default to the setting i chose.
  13. JonKyu
    Offline

    JonKyu New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    2,398
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Provo, UT
    Amen to that...somehow I got addicted to 1.1GHz+ I now choose ROMs and kernels based on how stable they are and whether or not they'll allow me to OC to 1.1GHz+. Haha this is comming from "meh I'll stick with 950MHz, I have no need for 1GHz+" I tried it out one and day and once I saw it ran fine on my phone I was hooked!! :icon_ banana::icon_ banana:

    Oh BTW just so I'm not completely off-track. Minfreemanager didn't work for me, kept rebooting my phone and restarting my browsers :(
  14. zenman77
    Offline

    zenman77 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Messages:
    186
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Toledo, Ohio
    Thanx again for everyone's prompt and helpful responses and here's the results of my real world test with this minfreemanager. I have to admit that when I first heard of it, I was sceptical about the claims that people were making. With bb 7.9 and 800mhz, no live wallpapers I would go to sleep at night after just taking the Droooooiiiid off of the charger and by morning it had a 70-80% charge. It had actually dropped up to 30% in a few hours! I should also mention that at that time minfreemanager was not working.,

    Now, I'm running bb 1.1, 800mhz, live wallpapers, chevy 1.25 and set minfree at aggressive and the phone barely dropped 10% in the same time period.

    I'm absolutely amazed and digging this phone. :icon_ banana:
  15. dbol
    Offline

    dbol New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    minfreemanager failed to impress me. Once I upgraded to droidmod 1.0 and overclocked to 800 MHz, that's all I needed... I tried minfreemanager afterwards, and it seemed to do a poor job at memory management, slowing down my phone and causing unnecessary lags.

    This is however, just my experience...
  16. Chief Wahoo
    Offline

    Chief Wahoo Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Messages:
    330
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    South Central PA
    I have MinFreeManager on my Droid, BB1.1/Chevy's1.2 kernel OCed at 1000 and I am just not sure whether the app is doing what it is supposed to and I frankly cannot tell whether when I pick "aggressive" it sticks, although the app returns an "OK" message, when I go back in to the presets, it doesn't show anything selected.

    Anyone have a sense as to how to recognize whether the app is doing much and whether the user selections actually "stick" or not?
  17. r-dubya
    Offline

    r-dubya New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2009
    Messages:
    208
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    houston
    Was able to install and run it fine. Though i uninstalled after one day of use. I found the exact OPPISTE effect then what was claimed. My battery died 5 hours before it normally does, and my phone seemed bogged down.
Search tags for this page

minfree manager

,

minfree manager settings wont stick after boot

,

minfreemanager settings won't stick after boot

,

why is minfreemanager failing?