Problem with minfreemanager

Discussion in 'Android General Discussions' started by zenman77, Feb 22, 2010.

  1. zenman77

    zenman77 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Messages:
    186
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Toledo, Ohio
    Ratings:
    +0
    After hearing others promote this it sounded like a great app. to try out but after installation it will not allow me to apply or apply at boot without producing a popup that states (Failed, Ok). I'm running bugless beast 7.8 at the moment and was curious as to whether anyone else is having this the same experience.....
     
  2. STIDRIVER

    STIDRIVER Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2010
    Messages:
    498
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Running DroidMod 2.0.6... not getting that error...
     
  3. hacksaw

    hacksaw Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2010
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm running Bugless Beast 7.6 and minfreemanager is working great for me.

    This is pure speculation, but I'm wondering if it's the same problem that Titanium Backup or Metamorph run into when they try to access Busybox when the permissions are set wrong. Do those apps work for you? If not do this from either the adb shell or terminal emulator on your phone:

    su
    mount -o remount,rw -t yaffs2 /dev/block/mtdblock4 /system
    chmod 755 /system/xbin/busybox
    mount -o ro,remount -t yaffs2 /dev/block/mtdblock4 /system
    sync
    reboot

    That will allow the utilities in Busybox to be used by other apps.

    Again though, I have no idea if this is the issue or not with minfreemanager but given that we're both running Bugless Beast it's the first thing that leaps to mind that might be different between our systems. I did this on mine in order to get Titanium working.
     
  4. zenman77

    zenman77 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Messages:
    186
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Toledo, Ohio
    Ratings:
    +0
    I tried going to terminal and entering (SU) as you suggested and it's stating (Permission Denied)

    I wonder if I'm unrooted now after installing bb 7.8?
     
  5. zenman77

    zenman77 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Messages:
    186
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Toledo, Ohio
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ok............. an update............ I'm now running bb 1.1 and have access to the terminal again..... It appears to be a very solid version and I think the only thing that I'll be missing is ocing to 800mhz as it looks like I can't go past 550mhz now but it's running fast and smooth anyway.
     
  6. Tanknspank

    Tanknspank Beta Team Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010
    Messages:
    3,506
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Location:
    North Carolina
    Ratings:
    +0
    You have to download a OC kernal from his page and apply it as an update.zip
    There are 600mhz, 1.2Ghz, and 1.25Ghz.
     
  7. zenman77

    zenman77 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Messages:
    186
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Toledo, Ohio
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'll be sure and do that........... Most likely it will be the 600mhz as I'm hesitant to go over 1ghz..... Thanx for your input everyone. I've never hacked phones before but it is so much fun
     
  8. Tanknspank

    Tanknspank Beta Team Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010
    Messages:
    3,506
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Location:
    North Carolina
    Ratings:
    +0
    It is isn't it?:icon_ devil:
    Oh and if your afraid of 1Ghz, then don't use it, because one you use it, you won't want to go back. Trust me...
     
  9. zenman77

    zenman77 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Messages:
    186
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Toledo, Ohio
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'll bet! I'm going to stay with 800 and will see where it goes when the 2.1's start making there way to us............
     
  10. ViciousCircle

    ViciousCircle Android Addict Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009
    Messages:
    570
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I applied Chevy's 1.2 kernel and it's working great Zenman77. I'd recommend that one. It'll let you set it at 800, but if you want (and your phone can handle it), you can go all the way to 1.25gHz.
     
  11. hacksaw

    hacksaw Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2010
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Did changing ROM versions fix the problem with minfreemanager?
     
  12. jasonb

    jasonb Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2009
    Messages:
    1,151
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Ratings:
    +0
    minfreemanager is not keeping it's settings when i reboot the phone. i clicked set on boot, and it still doesn't default to the setting i chose.
     
  13. JonKyu

    JonKyu Silver Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    2,396
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Location:
    Provo, UT
    Ratings:
    +0
    Amen to that...somehow I got addicted to 1.1GHz+ I now choose ROMs and kernels based on how stable they are and whether or not they'll allow me to OC to 1.1GHz+. Haha this is comming from "meh I'll stick with 950MHz, I have no need for 1GHz+" I tried it out one and day and once I saw it ran fine on my phone I was hooked!! :icon_ banana::icon_ banana:

    Oh BTW just so I'm not completely off-track. Minfreemanager didn't work for me, kept rebooting my phone and restarting my browsers :(
     
  14. zenman77

    zenman77 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Messages:
    186
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Toledo, Ohio
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanx again for everyone's prompt and helpful responses and here's the results of my real world test with this minfreemanager. I have to admit that when I first heard of it, I was sceptical about the claims that people were making. With bb 7.9 and 800mhz, no live wallpapers I would go to sleep at night after just taking the Droooooiiiid off of the charger and by morning it had a 70-80% charge. It had actually dropped up to 30% in a few hours! I should also mention that at that time minfreemanager was not working.,

    Now, I'm running bb 1.1, 800mhz, live wallpapers, chevy 1.25 and set minfree at aggressive and the phone barely dropped 10% in the same time period.

    I'm absolutely amazed and digging this phone. :icon_ banana:
     
  15. dbol

    dbol Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    minfreemanager failed to impress me. Once I upgraded to droidmod 1.0 and overclocked to 800 MHz, that's all I needed... I tried minfreemanager afterwards, and it seemed to do a poor job at memory management, slowing down my phone and causing unnecessary lags.

    This is however, just my experience...
     
Search tags for this page

how to run at boot minfree manager

,

minfree manager

,

minfree manager settings wont stick after boot

,

minfreemanager android stopped working

,

minfreemanager apply failed

,

minfreemanager at boot

,

minfreemanager failed

,

minfreemanager settings

,

minfreemanager settings won't stick after boot

,

why is minfreemanager failing?