1. You want that $100.00 in your pocket or an Amazon Fire TV don't you? Well here's the deal. With our new updated look we are in desperate need of an updated logo. The 'old' one has certainly served us well, but it's time. Find all the details here: bit.ly/1q0k6Wa
  2. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

Problem with Market

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid 2 Global' started by jb0072011, Dec 31, 2011.

  1. jb0072011
    Offline

    jb0072011 New Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2011
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I have an interesting new problem. Whenever I go to the marketplace and try to download something over 3G I get a red triangle with a 1 exclamation mark in it on the notification bar and it does not start to download. However when I use wifi it works good. I am using market version 3.4.4, GB. This problem is only with the market, all other apps that use data work good over 3G. This started about a month ago for no known reason. I am located in Vietnam and use GSM on a rooted phone. Any thoughts?
  2. JSM9872
    Offline

    JSM9872 Super Moderator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2010
    Messages:
    12,932
    Likes Received:
    281
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Somewhere In Pennsylvania...
    The only thing I can think of right now is to go into your market settings and make sure that "Update Over Wi-fi Only" is not checked.
  3. jb0072011
    Offline

    jb0072011 New Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2011
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    It's not. I checked that first
  4. JSM9872
    Offline

    JSM9872 Super Moderator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2010
    Messages:
    12,932
    Likes Received:
    281
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Somewhere In Pennsylvania...
    I honestly have never heard of it doing what it is doing then.

    If it worked on older market versions than try uninstalling updates on the market and then disabling MarketUpdater.apk in system. That way it will not update on it's own anymore.
  5. Insidious
    Offline

    Insidious New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2011
    Messages:
    1,034
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Maryland
    Hmm maybe there could be something to do with the carrier?
  6. jb0072011
    Offline

    jb0072011 New Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2011
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    nope not carrier. I took out SIM and put it in other phone (G1). Market worked fine although it was older version. Will try to find older version of market to use
  7. jb0072011
    Offline

    jb0072011 New Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2011
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    OK installed older version of market 3.3.1. Same problem except no orange triangle with the exclamation point
  8. tituswife
    Offline

    tituswife Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2011
    Messages:
    493
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    How do you do that? Thanks!

    Sent from my stock Thunderbolt
  9. JSM9872
    Offline

    JSM9872 Super Moderator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2010
    Messages:
    12,932
    Likes Received:
    281
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Somewhere In Pennsylvania...
    Did it used to work or has there always been problems? I honestly have not encountered this issue for myself or others reporting it so I am not entirely sure what to do from here.

    Are you trying to do it on a stock phone? You require root to do it.
  10. tituswife
    Offline

    tituswife Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2011
    Messages:
    493
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Yes, stock. Oh well. Thanks!

    Sent from my stock Thunderbolt
  11. JSM9872
    Offline

    JSM9872 Super Moderator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2010
    Messages:
    12,932
    Likes Received:
    281
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Somewhere In Pennsylvania...
    No problem.

    Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using Tapatalk
  12. bhojo1
    Offline

    bhojo1 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2011
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0

    check you don't have data saver enabled. If you do it will not let you download any file larger than a certain size and you will get the warning triangle if you try...
  13. TuBitMittens
    Offline

    TuBitMittens Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Messages:
    599
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Having the same exact problem. I have everything enabled right on my d2g but nothing is downloading over 3g??? There must be a way to make it work on the current market version...
  14. TuBitMittens
    Offline

    TuBitMittens Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Messages:
    599
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    EDIT nvm it was the data saver as stated above

    Sent from my DROID2 GLOBAL using Tapatalk