Problem with gps after ea28 update and/or google maps update?

Discussion in 'Samsung Fascinate' started by fordee11, Feb 7, 2011.

  1. fordee11

    fordee11 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2011
    Messages:
    101
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    ill find out tomorrow if I do. haha

    Sent from my SCH-I500 using DroidForums App
     
  2. really fascinating

    really fascinating Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2011
    Messages:
    132
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    droidtown,usa
    Ratings:
    +0
    Good luck

    Froyo would be a just desert
     
  3. scissorfight

    scissorfight New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I also have the issues with phone saying fully charged - unplug, then when I unplug the USB (original samsung)... the battery is not charged. I also have issues with plugging charger in and NOTHING HAPPENS. Does not charge, does nothing. Sometimes a reboot does not help. About 4 days per week I must turn the phone off, pull the battery, then plug the charger will charge the Samsung OEM battery. These issues did not happen before the "update".

    Sick of this phone. I had the Eris, updated to the Fascinate. Boy, I know how to pick them!!

    Getting sick of Samsung and Verizon. Everything they do is for profit sake. They seem to be unconcerned with customer satisfaction and only worried about tricking folks out of their cash. Very smarmy practices here... really.

    10 million units sold across carriers. Seems samsung sees this as a platform to create future revenue. I wouldn't doubt these "updates" are more about generating income somewhere. Why else would 3rd party batteries be targeted? They worked great. Actually longer life than the original in my experience.

    Wonder if VZ navigator is able to lock to GPS currently. My thinking here is if Google Navigator runs like crap... there is a percentage of folks who will just blame google and use VZ, because it "runs better". Have not tested this (refuse to pay for GPS when the best on the planet should work fine). Anyone know if VZ is working on any of the GPS handicapped units?

    This is getting to be a little ugly now.
     
  4. Jamis0n

    Jamis0n Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2010
    Messages:
    569
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +2
    Everyone I understand all your issues and I was very skeptical about rooting phones and was thinking it was only for the people who are passionate about changing the way their Droids looks, but for the fascinates case it made the phone function correctly and there are ways to revert back to stock and it is quite simple. Everyone knows how to install a program on their computer and adjust preferences and change options and it takes some time reading to find out and it becomes second nature .

    This is my first Droid and I find many people in the community reluctant to help users who don't do research, and yes they're right, because there is so much info ready at your finger tips. These phones were created with the intent of making it something that really is yours. Take initiative and find the info or ask for help. Many people like myself will be more than happy to help you if you get the basics down and do a little research.

    rockin froyo:
    super clean 1.0
    dark theme

    btw, this was 8pen-ed.
     
  5. fordee11

    fordee11 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2011
    Messages:
    101
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0


    thanks for the support... i'll let you know if i mess up. the problem right now is getting the program on my computer to work right in the command prompt
     
  6. Jamis0n

    Jamis0n Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2010
    Messages:
    569
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +2
    What are you using? One click or the primitive one?

    rockin froyo:
    super clean 1.0
    dark theme

    btw, this was 8pen-ed.
     
  7. fordee11

    fordee11 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2011
    Messages:
    101
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    the one called newbie guide to rooting fascinate on here.. I'm trying one from android central that looks easier

    Sent from my SCH-I500 using DroidForums App
     
  8. fordee11

    fordee11 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2011
    Messages:
    101
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
  9. Jamis0n

    Jamis0n Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2010
    Messages:
    569
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +2
    Reason being, after the dl09 update the kernal refreshes keeping you from getting into clockwork. You need to flash an older clockwork then you'll get onto green. ill pm you and give you the link that will give you everything in a bit when I get to the CPU.

    rockin froyo:
    super clean 1.0
    dark theme

    btw, this was 8pen-ed.
     
  10. fordee11

    fordee11 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2011
    Messages:
    101
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    thanks ! I had noo idea what was causong it I thought I messed somthingup.. can you send me some instructions on how to do that?

    Sent from my SCH-I500 using DroidForums App
     
  11. Jamis0n

    Jamis0n Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2010
    Messages:
    569
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +2
    fordee11; i PMed you the solution.
     
  12. fordee11

    fordee11 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2011
    Messages:
    101
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    so, i'm successfully rooted, can somebody please point me in the right direction to getting froyo? thanks
     
Search tags for this page

verizon fascinate gps not working on 2.3.5