Problem with gps after ea28 update and/or google maps update?

Discussion in 'Samsung Fascinate' started by fordee11, Feb 7, 2011.

  1. fordee11

    fordee11 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2011
    Messages:
    101
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Is anyone else getting stuck on searching for gps screen with the new ea28 update? it seems like it is just the same as it was before the dl09 update.
    it could also be google maps, which also recently updated.. but i'm guessing thats not the culprit.. thanks everybody.
     
  2. scissorfight

    scissorfight New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I couldn't use GPS before the update. Then DL09 comes and my GPS FINALLY WORKED!!

    Then...


    EA28 comes along and breaks, not only my GPS again, but also has killed my 3rd party, aftermarket batteries. You read correct. It has rendered my batteries useless, unable to accept a charge... IN ANY CHARGER!

    GPS will not sync... have left it running for hours and only 2x been able to get a GPS location fix. That fix was only for a seconds, then lost signal again. WTF??

    Before the recent update, batteries would charge just fine in the separate AC adapter/charger I got with the batteries. RIGHT AFTER THE UPDATE the battery in the phone needed charged and I took it out of the phone and plugged it into the charger. It no longer charges in the charger. I then tried another, non samsung battery. This one ran down to dead, took it out of the phone, plugged into charger... AGAIN, battery is shot, will not charge in the external charger or the phone.

    Seems to me that Verizon and Samsung are actually only sending out BREAKS (revenue increasing patches) and not FIXES for the Fascinate.

    The first update broke the ability to charge aftermarket batteries, the second one actually broke the batteries themselves. Have 3 batteries that no longer charge after this latest update. GPS is now again USELESS.

    I think it's time to organize a bit to find out just how many people are being effected with these UPDATES!
     
  3. fordee11

    fordee11 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2011
    Messages:
    101
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    thanks for that :) now I know I'm not alone... do you know of a way to go back to dl09? I didn't even have a problem with the emergency calling.. pointless "update" in my opinion and I'm sure many others


    Sent from my SCH-I500 using DroidForums App
     
  4. really fascinating

    really fascinating Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2011
    Messages:
    132
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    droidtown,usa
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yeah have had battery related issues since update. Its taking forever to charge, have had the icon show it is charging while not plugged in, also twice since the update the time on the top bar will not change, seems to always be around 930 when it does. And the only fix so far to get it moving is to restart.

    Froyo would be a just desert
     
  5. really fascinating

    really fascinating Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2011
    Messages:
    132
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    droidtown,usa
    Ratings:
    +0
    Oh and I forgot last night was charging while looking on line from phone and it shut down stoped charging and said was to hot

    Froyo would be a just desert
     
  6. fordee11

    fordee11 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2011
    Messages:
    101
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0

    I havent had that... but have you had it telling you it is fully charged and to unplug when it is only twenty percent? that happened yesterday.. this was definately a mistake to download.. i'm going to attempt to root.. i've put it off long enough
     
  7. fordee11

    fordee11 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2011
    Messages:
    101
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0

    I think i saw that on another post... probly you too
     
  8. really fascinating

    really fascinating Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2011
    Messages:
    132
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    droidtown,usa
    Ratings:
    +0
    No but seems to take twice as long to charge. Not even going to bother with rooting, or any of that getting really sick of this phone. Already have the one I should have got in the first place, on its way and samsung can go #+@$ off. Will never buy anything they have put their hands on again

    Froyo would be a just desert
     
  9. fordee11

    fordee11 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2011
    Messages:
    101
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0

    I had absolutely NO complaints once dl09 came out and fixed most things.. its a great phone without froyo and even better with. then they had to rush an update to fix something that wasnt broken.
     
  10. really fascinating

    really fascinating Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2011
    Messages:
    132
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    droidtown,usa
    Ratings:
    +0
    R u rooted

    Froyo would be a just desert
     
  11. fordee11

    fordee11 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2011
    Messages:
    101
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    nopee.. my luck would have it.that my computer is having some trouble with getting the adb app thing working... I'm gonna try on my sisters mac tomorrow

    Sent from my SCH-I500 using DroidForums App
     
  12. really fascinating

    really fascinating Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2011
    Messages:
    132
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    droidtown,usa
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yeah I have to say and sorry if I offend any one but I just didn't trust the files I downloaded so I didn't do it

    Froyo would be a just desert
     
Search tags for this page

verizon fascinate gps not working on 2.3.5