1. You want that $100.00 in your pocket or an Amazon Fire TV don't you? Well here's the deal. With our new updated look we are in desperate need of an updated logo. The 'old' one has certainly served us well, but it's time. Find all the details here: bit.ly/1q0k6Wa
  2. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

Problem with Corporate Account

Discussion in 'ChevyNo1' started by jlewi042, Jul 22, 2010.

  1. jlewi042
    Offline

    jlewi042 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    My company finally got their exchange server set up to accept android phones as clients for email. there are 6 other people in my company who have android phones. a droidx, 2 incredibles, 3 motodroids. all 6 people are able to set up corporate accounts on their droids and get their email on their devices. I have a motodroid running ss4.5. my IT admin has assured me that my exchange account has all the same privileges and settings as the other people with android phones. when i go to set up my exchange info, and hit next, it says it cant communicate with server.

    tl;dr: is there something in ss4.5 that prevents the creation of a corporate account?
  2. ChevyNo1
    Offline

    ChevyNo1 Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Messages:
    5,354
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I have heard of this happening - I wish there was some way I could test it ... can you capture a logcat from the time you hit the next button and it fails?
  3. KoD7085
    Offline

    KoD7085 New Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I'm running 4.5 and it works fine with my corporate email. Are you sure your putting in the correct domain information? One of our other users with a droid had the same "can't communicate with server" error and it was do to them inputing 'domain.com' rather than 'mail.domain.com'.
  4. RichStevenson
    Offline

    RichStevenson New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    476
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Medina, OH
    Mine works as well on 4.5 using Touchdown though.

    Sent from my droid using Tapatalk
  5. jlewi042
    Offline

    jlewi042 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    @chevy yeah ill do it as soon as i can.

    @KoD i am entering my credentials in the same way my other coworkers are as instructed by our IT dept.
  6. jlewi042
    Offline

    jlewi042 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    here ya go chevy... hope this helps out

    Code:
    I/ActivityManager( 1284): Starting activity: Intent { cmp=com.android.email/.act
    ivity.setup.AccountSetupCheckSettings (has extras) }
    D/Email   ( 2831): Begin check of incoming email settings
    D/EAS SyncManager( 2831): !!! EAS SyncManager, onCreate
    I/ActivityManager( 1284): Displayed activity com.android.email/.activity.setup.A
    ccountSetupCheckSettings: 293 ms (total 293 ms)
    D/EAS SyncManager( 2831): !!! EAS SyncManager, onDestroy
    V/EmailServiceProxy( 2831): validate returns 1
  7. ChevyNo1
    Offline

    ChevyNo1 Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Messages:
    5,354
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I was able to track down the last line ... however it is not AT ALL clear what the error is ... was there anything after that last line?
  8. jlewi042
    Offline

    jlewi042 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    nope. I just got to work, ran a logcat just now and i get the same thing. that last line comes up when the phone says "setup could not finish. unable to open connection to server" it will sit there until i hit the "edit details button"

    let me add this... i used RM to flash a "stock" image of a rooted 2.2... was able to set up my account just fine.
  9. jlewi042
    Offline

    jlewi042 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    i just ran a logcat on my coworker's stock 2.1 droid while i logged into my corporate email account. alas it was successful. so for the purposes of comparison, here is the code starting from the same "next" button press as when i did it on my phone.

    Code:
    I/ActivityManager( 1020): Starting activity: Intent { cmp=com.android.email/.act
    ivity.setup.AccountSetupCheckSettings (has extras) }
    D/EAS SyncManager( 7317): !!! EAS SyncManager, onCreate
    I/ActivityManager( 1020): Displayed activity com.android.email/.activity.setup.A
    ccountSetupCheckSettings: 342 ms (total 342 ms)
    V/EmailServiceProxy( 7317): validate returns -1
    D/EAS SyncManager( 7317): !!! EAS SyncManager, onDestroy
    I/ActivityManager( 1020): Starting activity: Intent { cmp=com.android.email/.act
    ivity.setup.AccountSetupOptions (has extras) }
    I/ActivityManager( 1020): Displayed activity com.android.email/.activity.setup.A
    ccountSetupOptions: 298 ms (total 298 ms)
    i may be able to do a logcat on a phone running a rooted 2.2 without a custom rom if it would be beneficial to you.
Search tags for this page
“setup could not finish. this eas account requires admin c
,
android 2.3.5 corporate sync
,
android corporate sync setup 2.3.5
,
corporate email and custom rom
,

eas account requires admin control

,
exchange server in droidx2 2.3.5
,
how to sync an android 2.3.5 (gingerbread) with an exchange
,
info ivity-corp com
,
mail ivity-corp com
,
mail ivity-corp.com
,
message this eas account requires admin control to set up
,
open xchange mail setup en android 2.3.5
,
setup could not finish unable to open connection to server
,

this eas account requires admin control to set up

,
verizon motorola droid x2 2.3.5 version cannot connect with