Problem with booting into recovery(clockwork)

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by tu3218, Jul 20, 2010.

  1. tu3218

    tu3218 Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    1,217
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Baltimore, Maryland
    Ratings:
    +0
    So I read a lot of posts on people who couldn't boot into recovery, some methods worked an some didn't. For anyone that knows more then me or had read more up on this an had this problem, what method did you use? Last week I tried flashing SPRecovery from clockwork an when I tried to boot into recovery it still didn't work. Any suggestions?
     
  2. ChugIt

    ChugIt Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2010
    Messages:
    475
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Indianapolis, IN.
    Ratings:
    +0
    I had that problem once and just started from scratch and reflashed SPRecovery. As long as there is a nandroid backup on your SD card you will be able to bring it back once you get your phone back to normal.
     
  3. tu3218

    tu3218 Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    1,217
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Baltimore, Maryland
    Ratings:
    +0
    So did you go into RM an flash sprecovery an then when you went to boot into recovery, sprecovery showed up?

    EDIT: I flashed SPRecovery an tried to boot into recovery holding power button an x an still all I got was the M symbol. What else should I try?? Please help, this worries me not having recovery.
     
    Last edited: Jul 20, 2010
  4. BayouFlyFisher

    BayouFlyFisher Rescue Squad Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    4,960
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    Baton Rouge, LA
    Ratings:
    +17
    If using Rom manager, you need to reflash spr until it loads quickly. When it installs correctly you will the notification in RM within 15-20 seconds. Just keep reflashing until you get a quick notification.

    Sent from my Droid using Tapatalk
     
  5. tu3218

    tu3218 Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    1,217
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Baltimore, Maryland
    Ratings:
    +0
    What do you mean until it loads quickly? After I click flash SPRecovery, all the options become grey an then it tells me it was successfully flashed. But it wasn't because when I tried booting into recovery, I got nothing.
     
  6. BayouFlyFisher

    BayouFlyFisher Rescue Squad Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    4,960
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    Baton Rouge, LA
    Ratings:
    +17
    Well, for me, when I get the successful install message within 10-15 seconds, spr really was installed successfully. Ymmv.

    Sent from my Droid using Tapatalk
     
  7. tu3218

    tu3218 Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    1,217
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Baltimore, Maryland
    Ratings:
    +0
    ughh, any other ideas?
     
  8. kevdog

    kevdog Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2009
    Messages:
    722
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Downgrade to Clockwork Recovery 2.0.1.3 (or 14). There is a problem with the latest release.
     
  9. tu3218

    tu3218 Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    1,217
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Baltimore, Maryland
    Ratings:
    +0
    go that far down? An once I flash that version, do I try to boot into recovery using that version or do i flash back to the recent version right away?
     
  10. metiCkOne

    metiCkOne Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    1,717
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Portland, OR/Boston, MA <-- Born N' Raised
    Ratings:
    +0
    With most of the froyo roms you need to flash clockwork, then reboot, then sprecovery, reboot, then finally install clockwork again and try to get into recovery. That is what I've been doing. It has worked every time, with every froyo leaked rom.
     
  11. tu3218

    tu3218 Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    1,217
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Baltimore, Maryland
    Ratings:
    +0
    Okay ill give that a shot. After I reboot from flashing sprecovery an I reboot, do I just boot up normally an then flash clockwork? So don't boot into recovery until the end of flashing clockwork for the 2nd time?
     
  12. metiCkOne

    metiCkOne Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    1,717
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Portland, OR/Boston, MA <-- Born N' Raised
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yeah, just flash recovery, reboot, flash alt. recovery, reboot, flash recovery, reboot into recovery to make sure it worked
     
  13. tu3218

    tu3218 Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    1,217
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Baltimore, Maryland
    Ratings:
    +0
    thank you sooo much. worked perfect!!!
     
Search tags for this page
how to boot into clockwork with captivate
,
recovery booting not working samsung galaxy s3
,
vibrant not recovering to clockwork
,
vibrant will not reboot into clockwork recovery
,

vibrant wont boot into clockwork recovery