1. You want that $100.00 in your pocket or an Amazon Fire TV don't you? Well here's the deal. With our new updated look we are in desperate need of an updated logo. The 'old' one has certainly served us well, but it's time. Find all the details here: bit.ly/1q0k6Wa
  2. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

Problem sync'ing facebook with contact pictures

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid 2 Global' started by aorr17314, Jan 4, 2011.

  1. aorr17314
    Offline

    aorr17314 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I sync'd my contacts with my facebook contacts so now the pictures are showing as profile pictures from facebook, but none of them are updating to their current profile pictures, they are staying the same as the day I synced them. Is there a way I can update them? Even my profile picture wont update on my phone.
  2. mrapollinax
    Offline

    mrapollinax New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    Messages:
    99
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Try this:

    Menu > Settings > Accounts > FB Account > Menu > "Sync Now"

    Do you see the updates now? If you go in and edit the contact is the FB picture updated?
  3. DroidCoug
    Offline

    DroidCoug New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2009
    Messages:
    207
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Burlington, WA
    if not, also try the app called syncmypix
  4. aorr17314
    Offline

    aorr17314 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    mrapollinax thanks for the suggestion but when i go into my account settings and into fb settings there is no menu to sync now, it only allows me to change my password. and i tryed your other suggestion with editing my contacts but that didnt work either. its so frustrating!!! even my picture wont update :-(
  5. mrapollinax
    Offline

    mrapollinax New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    Messages:
    99
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hmmm.... I'm running Fission ROM. Are you running the Stock ROM with all the Moto Blur stuff? When I go into my Accounts and select FB I get a page with a button to remove account and if i press the menu button I can "sync now."

    So far I can confirm that the steps above work as I have had 6 or so friends update their profile pic and it is now reflected in my contact list.
  6. aorr17314
    Offline

    aorr17314 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    haha i have no idea what i am running, its whatever came with the phone its the droid 2 global. i dont know if that helps?? im still new at all of this stuff!
  7. mrapollinax
    Offline

    mrapollinax New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    Messages:
    99
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
  8. aorr17314
    Offline

    aorr17314 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    ok i checked it out... well hopefully the problem gets fixed, so i guess there isnt much i can do until it gets fixed! thanks for your help! :)
  9. shalyse
    Offline

    shalyse New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    With stock ROM I found that if you remove your facebook account and then reload it, it will resnyc but you need the facebook app for Droid already downloaded to properly sync. When you go to re-add the facebook account make sure to pick the facebook icon with darker blue (there will be 2 to choose from). The darker blue one syncs it properly with facebook.
  10. marawrcus
    Offline

    marawrcus New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hey i used the syncmypix and i loading up the app and signed in and a lot of the friends i have said "cannt syn pic" when i clicked on the contact it couldn't load it brought up the pic. But when i held down the contact and asked if i wanted to "link to contact" it couldn't sync it. It said "cannot acess read only" What can i do
  11. LoMoPo
    Offline

    LoMoPo New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I'm experiencing the same problem as described. This suggestion actually did work. Menu>settings>accounts>facebook account>Remove. It will ask you where you want your picture source to come from for your contacts. Pick something else for now-I picked Myspace.

    When you re-add the facebook account, I have 2 icons, but only one lets me add it, which is okay. I selected it to be my new picture source and so far so good. It has updated the pics. The only issue now is that some pictures are remaining as Myspace pics instead of FB pics or contact shortcut pics aren't the same as my contact pics. I'm hoping time and maybe a reboot will fix the quirks.
Search tags for this page
droid 2 global sync facebook pictures
,
facebook images not showingon droid 2 global
,
facebook sync profile pictures problem
,
how to sync facebook contacts on droid 2
,
im having a problem syncing my photos of facebook
,
sync facebook pictures to contacts motorola
,
sync me posted wrong profile pictures
,
syncing profile pics to droid
,

why wont motorola bravo update contact photos