Problem switching... can't mount sd card.

Discussion in 'Bugless' started by zaldonisj, Sep 28, 2010.

  1. zaldonisj
    Offline

    zaldonisj New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I am on BB v4 and have been trying all day to upgrade to BB v5... everytime i do it through ROM Manager, it downloads, i choose wipe, and then when it goes to install it says can't mount the sd card or something along that. This message comes up within clockwork recovery... whats going on here?
  2. thinkmega
    Offline

    thinkmega New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010
    Messages:
    285
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    This is what I would do:

    1. backup whatever you want to keep on the sd card to a PC;
    2. format the sd card;
    3. download the ROM again;

    I ran into similar problem but not exact. At the end, formatting made it work. You can consider this option.
  3. zaldonisj
    Offline

    zaldonisj New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yeah that seems like it may work but i really am skeptical of backing it all up. I dont know what files are important to keep... Also, the rom has a built in function, as you know, that redownloads all the apps and idk what files those are...
  4. zaldonisj
    Offline

    zaldonisj New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    So i reformatted my sd card and i am still getting the same problems.

    After i re-tried to install the new rom this is what i was faced with

    --Installing: SDCARD:/FRG...
    Finding update package...
    E:Can't mount /dev/block/mmcblk0 or ( /dev/block/mmcbl0p1)
    (No such file or directory)

    This is the same error message i was getting last time too...
  5. zaldonisj
    Offline

    zaldonisj New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Also, I tried to nandroid myself back to an older rom and it told me i still cannot mount the SD card.
  6. BayouFlyFisher
    Offline

    BayouFlyFisher Rescue Squad Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    4,966
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Baton Rouge, LA
    Your problem is with Clockwork/Rom Manager not your sdcard.

    Go into Rom Manager and flash Alternate Recovery (all the way at the bottom of the menu). Then reflash Clockwork and keep reflashing clockwork over and over until the confirmation for a good install comes on the screen very quickly (5-10 seconds). You then have a good clockwork install.

    Now when you get into clockwork, if at any time it lags, get ready to press the X key because it is going to reboot the phone. The minute the screen goes black press and hold the X key. The phone will reboot back into Clockwork and it will then be stable for you.

    Down load the rom to your pc and in Clockwork go to the partitions menu and mount your sdcard. You can then move the rom to your sdcard. Unmount the sdcard from the pc and select "install zip from sdcard". Select choose zip and then navigate down to the rom and install it.

    Good luck.
    Last edited: Sep 29, 2010
  7. zaldonisj
    Offline

    zaldonisj New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    This still did not work. I also tried installing the rom from sp recovery... I am at a loss.
  8. zaldonisj
    Offline

    zaldonisj New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    b u m p... h e l p m e p l e a s e ! ! !
  9. jasonppp
    Offline

    jasonppp Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    May 27, 2010
    Messages:
    959
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    pull your sd card out put in your computer make sure it didnt take a poop on you
  10. Jmart922
    Offline

    Jmart922 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    352
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Just a guess Here, have you tried uninstalling and reinstalling RM
  11. zaldonisj
    Offline

    zaldonisj New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    everytime i try to put the rom on my cell then it wipes the data and such so i have to reinstall rm everytime i try to flash the rom. So i am at a loss right now...
  12. jasonppp
    Offline

    jasonppp Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    May 27, 2010
    Messages:
    959
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    take battery cover off pull your battery then you will see at the top of where battery was pull the sd card out plugin your computer and check it the file system could have gotten corrupted may need to reformat card
  13. stabl4life82
    Offline

    stabl4life82 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2010
    Messages:
    724
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    south carolina
    i use to have the same problem with sd card and i took everything off and actually did a format sd card on my phone and then i put everything on it again and has worked fine since and i was having the same exact problem with rom manager as well....what i found to be best also was to flash clockwork ,then sprecovery and then clockwork two more times like the other guy said and then instead of download rom i go to reboot into recovery and find it on my sd card now instead of the other choice of downloading rom ..thats how i backup now and install anything try it and this might work bro
Search tags for this page

loaded kik-kat go launcher cannot mout sd card

,

p1000 e can't mount

,

p1000 e: mount

,
p1000 e:can't
,
p1000 mount e
,
p1000 mount e:
,
p1000 mount sd
,
p1000 mount sd card
,
p1000 sd card mount