1. You want that $100.00 in your pocket or an Amazon Fire TV don't you? Well here's the deal. With our new updated look we are in desperate need of an updated logo. The 'old' one has certainly served us well, but it's time. Find all the details here: bit.ly/1q0k6Wa
  2. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

Problem setting a ringtone

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid X' started by jfrost1920, Jul 28, 2010.

  1. jfrost1920
    Offline

    jfrost1920 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2010
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Okay, When you go to set a ringtone, and you have other ringtone apps like Zedge or other, the phone asks you which do I want to choose from; android system or zedge. Then below that there is a box you can check for the phone to do that from then on. That way you don't have to choose every time. Well I didn't mean to and I checked that box. Now I cant set different ringtones the way I used to. It will only bring up the android system ringtones. I can work around it and open the actual app so I can change tones, but if I want to set a different tone for different people etc, I want that box to come up and ask me which program to use. It also remembers my choice for alarms and notifications, so i only get android system options instead of the ones I have downloaded. I've uninstalled and reinstalled apps but cant get that dang box to come back and ask me to choose which app to choose tones from! Is there a way to make the system forget my choice? Thanks for any help!
  2. lcole
    Offline

    lcole New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I have some what a similar problem. I selected the song I wanted to us as my personal ringtone, I set it up according to instructions, but continue to get the old telephone ring. I went to:
    1. Settings
    2. Sound & Display
    3. Selected Music (made my my choice of song)
    If I check the “use by default for this action” block it states: Clear default in Home Setting, Applications, Manage Applications. Once I get to the location, it doesn’t tell me what else to do. Can someone provide me the correct information on setting up a music ringtone?
  3. deftdrummer
    Offline

    deftdrummer New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    This is a problem between the os interaction and the app. I've dealt with this many times and unfortunately the option is to uninstall Zedge. Fortunately you can sync favorite ringtones in the app so not that big of a deal.

    Also the latest version of Zedge seems to have a "factory ringtones" option at the bottom when you are assigning tones through Zedge. That is a way the app attempts to remade this problem but it doesn't seem to work so well.

    *Oh, and I almost forgot to mention that for the future I found its best to just leave the checkbox unslected and choose where you want to grab tones from. Then there's the completely side issue of apps like Ringdroid asking you if you want to create the new sound as a "ringtone" or "alert tone." I understand the difference, but what if you want it to work with both! Confusing.
  4. memnv
    Offline

    memnv New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2010
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Carson City Nevada
    I use zedge and have never had a problem with it
  5. deftdrummer
    Offline

    deftdrummer New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thanks, but that probably doesn't help the OP much to know you are having such an awesome experience.
Search tags for this page
droid ringtone setting
,
droid x 2 alarm ringtone problem
,

ehy do i get restore default setting to change a zedge ringt

,
how do i get android ringtone option back
,
how do i set zedge as my default ringtone selector
,
huawei setting ringtone problem
,

i have chosen to use only the system ringtone how would i ha

,

motorola x ringtones not setting

,
reinstalled zedge and now my old ringtones are not showing u
,
zedgeringt