Problem Installing Repo

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by ladodger1717, Dec 18, 2010.

  1. ladodger1717
    Offline

    ladodger1717 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2010
    Messages:
    97
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I have been learning Java for a little while now. I still have a long way to go, but I thought I would install Ubuntu on my machine for the first time since I heard it is better for programming than Windows. I have installed Eclipse and set it up with the Android SDK and also made the Hello World program. That was just to give you an idea of where I am at.

    So after that I decided I would try to "get the source" and was using Android Open Source Project website. Everything was going fine until I had to install Repo. I did all the commands for the install and then moved on to "initializing a Repo client" and got this error in the terminal after running

    "michael@michael-HP-TouchSmart-tx2-Notebook-PC:~/mydroid$ repo init -u git://android.git.kernel.org/platform/manifest.git"


    No command 'repo' found, did you mean:
    Command 'rep' from package 'rep' (universe)
    Command 'repl' from package 'nmh' (universe)
    Command 'repl' from package 'mailutils-mh' (universe)
    repo: command not found

    I have Googled this error and am either confused by the language that is being used or have been unsuccessful. So if you are going to give me a link, please explain in non-programmers language. Trying to teach myself this stuff and I run into problems occasionally that I just don't understand. Can someone please help me out with this?

    I am sure everyone knows, but here is the link I used to "get source".....

    Get Android Source Code | Android Open Source
  2. thinkmega
    Offline

    thinkmega New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010
    Messages:
    285
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Have you executed this command:
    curl http://android.git.kernel.org/repo > ~/bin/repo ?

    (Question mark is mine.)
    If not, you should do this:
    mkdir ~/bin
    curl http://android.git.kernel.org/repo > ~/bin/repo
    chmod a+x ~/bin/repo

    If yes, you want to make sure ~/bin is ON the PATH. Edit ~/.bashrc and
    add:
    PATH=${PATH}:~/bin
    to the bottom of the file.

    You can either open a new terminal or source .bashrc to make the change effective.

    Hope it helps.
  3. ladodger1717
    Offline

    ladodger1717 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2010
    Messages:
    97
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thank you very much. The problem was that I needed ~/bin "ON" the PATH. I did what you recommended and it all went through correctly. Thanks again.
  4. ladodger1717
    Offline

    ladodger1717 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2010
    Messages:
    97
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I have another question.................

    When I am building the code and get to the final step ($ Make) I get this message.......

    Checking build tools versions...
    build/core/main.mk:76: ************************************************************
    build/core/main.mk:77: You are attempting to build on a 32-bit system.
    build/core/main.mk:78: Only 64-bit build environments are supported beyond froyo/2.2.
    build/core/main.mk:79: ************************************************************
    build/core/main.mk:80: *** stop. Stop.

    I think it is pretty clear that any version beyond 2.2 will require 64-bit build environments. I am not sure if this means I need to do it on a 64 bit operating system or if I just need to download 64bit Java. If it is the Java, do I need both the 64 bit versions of the JRE and the JDK?

    Right now I am running a 32-bit Ubuntu on a computer that also runs a 64-bit Windows 7. Not sure if that matters.
  5. neubanks89
    Offline

    neubanks89 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2009
    Messages:
    130
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    You'll probably need to be on a 64-bit version of ubuntu. That's all I use now
  6. ladodger1717
    Offline

    ladodger1717 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2010
    Messages:
    97
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Alright, So I spent all last night switching over to a 64-bit version of Ubuntu and trying to get back to where I was. One thing I am curious about........The android open source project site says that Java 6 is not supported for getting the source. Does this still hold true? Hasn't it been over a year since Java 6 was released? Thanks.
  7. neubanks89
    Offline

    neubanks89 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2009
    Messages:
    130
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I use the open-jdk6. Development has been slowly pushing over to java 6 support. If you run into problems just change the 1./5's to 1./6 in the file it complains about
  8. ladodger1717
    Offline

    ladodger1717 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2010
    Messages:
    97
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Sounds good. Thanks for your help!dancedroid
  9. eagle1967
    Offline

    eagle1967 Developer Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Messages:
    1,186
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    colorado
    That was old we have actually been building froyo on java 6 for quite a while.
    but gingerbread requires a 64 bit system as well as java 6 it will not build with java 5 any longer. may be a way to mod around this as we did with java 6 for froyo but i doubt it , if you look in the build at envsetup.sh for gingerbread youll see its setup to build with java 6.

    hope this helps
  10. ladodger1717
    Offline

    ladodger1717 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2010
    Messages:
    97
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thanks. that makes everything a little more clear. I am now using Java 6 and it seems to be working fine. Thank you.
  11. eagle1967
    Offline

    eagle1967 Developer Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Messages:
    1,186
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    colorado
    Very welcome now if you get it to build all the way without removing the camera hit me up :)
  12. ladodger1717
    Offline

    ladodger1717 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2010
    Messages:
    97
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I'll be honest. I went through all the steps. Now I don't know where to go next. Like I had said earlier.... I am learning everything as I go. According to Get Android Source Code | Android Open Source ...... I finished building the code. Where do I go from here? Is there a guide to explain editing a ROM? Or can someone direct me to the next steps I need to take to understand this process?

    Thanks again.
  13. ladodger1717
    Offline

    ladodger1717 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2010
    Messages:
    97
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Can anyone direct me towards the next step?
  14. cowsquad
    Offline

    cowsquad New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    276
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    beaverton, Oregon
    Good thread
Search tags for this page
how to install repo
,
install repo
,

installing repo

,
no command 'repo' found, did you mean: command 'rep' from pa
,

no command repo found

,
no command repo found did you mean
,
no command repo found ubuntu
,
no command repo found,
,

no command repo found, did you mean

,

no command repo found, did you mean:

,
repo command not found
,
repo command not found ubuntu
,
repo command ubuntu
,
repo: command not found
,
ubuntu repo command