Problem installing new Google Map update?

Discussion in 'Bugless' started by kzmania, Jun 22, 2010.

  1. kzmania
    Offline

    kzmania New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2009
    Messages:
    82
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I use BB 0.21 with NexTheme on and today I tried to install the new update from Google Map but keep getting unsuccessful installation. Anybody is having this problem? I am wondering if there is a way to remove the original map and install a new update from the market.
  2. trebb
    Offline

    trebb New Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2010
    Messages:
    159
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I was just about to post the same thing.
  3. JRogers1978
    Offline

    JRogers1978 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Fairhaven, MA
    There's already several threads about this. Waiting for a fix...
  4. ZeroBarrier
    Offline

    ZeroBarrier New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2010
    Messages:
    991
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Uninstall maps > go into recovery > advanced > wipe dalvik-cache > reboot > install new maps.
  5. golffreaksi
    Offline

    golffreaksi New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2010
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Has anyone tried this because it doesn't work with V0.2.1 and Nextheme.
  6. xfrost11
    Offline

    xfrost11 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yes - I tried it and it didn't work. Maybe I did it wrong.
  7. ZeroBarrier
    Offline

    ZeroBarrier New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2010
    Messages:
    991
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Working just fine here.
  8. skaman9876
    Offline

    skaman9876 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009
    Messages:
    103
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I tried your fix and wiped dalvik-cache and rebooted. I then tried to install the new maps again but got a new error. "Package file not signed correctly" :(
    Last edited: Jun 22, 2010
  9. ZeroBarrier
    Offline

    ZeroBarrier New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2010
    Messages:
    991
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Do the wipe dalvik-cache again > reboot > terminal emulator > su > sync > reboot > try installing maps again.

    See if that works for you.
  10. jrummy16
    Offline

    jrummy16 Premium Member Theme Developer Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2010
    Messages:
    1,213
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Orange County, CA
    do this:

    su
    mount -o remount,rw -t yaffs2 dev/block/mtdblock4 system
    rm system/app/Maps.apk (if busybox isn't symlinked it would be busybox rm)
    pm uninstall com.google.android.apps.maps
    (if you get some sh error do this:
    cd system/bin
    sh pm uninstall com.google.android.apps.maps)
    mount -o ro,remount -t yaffs2 dev/block/mtdblock4 system
    sync

    then install it from the market.
  11. dave4100
    Offline

    dave4100 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    169
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I'm surprised someone doesn't have an APK file of it yet.
  12. J*Bishop
    Offline

    J*Bishop New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2010
    Messages:
    540
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0

    it's out. someone posted a link to it in the main maps update thread.
  13. jimmiet
    Offline

    jimmiet New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010
    Messages:
    141
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Awesome...worked great!!!!!!!
  14. skaman9876
    Offline

    skaman9876 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009
    Messages:
    103
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thanks jrummy that definitely worked you are awesome, for some reason it cleared out all my market links for all my installed apps though
    Last edited: Jun 22, 2010
  15. GTiceman
    Offline

    GTiceman New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    nothing is working for me ... i have tried just about every remedy on here and I can't get maps back

    Edit:
    I finally got it after doing all kinds of stuff i think it was reverting and wiping and such multiple times that the phone gave up haha
    Last edited: Jun 22, 2010
  16. stark23x
    Offline

    stark23x New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2010
    Messages:
    185
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Okay I tried all methods and they failed, so I started messing around, and got it. Here's what I did:

    First and foremost; NANDROID - BACKUP BACKUP BACKUP. Can I say that again? Back. Up.

    I used Root Manager to remove Maps. I rebooted into recovery and wiped cache *5* times! Just to be like, paranoid-y safe.

    I then used the maps reinstall file that was floating around last week or so to reinstall Maps.

    Then I went to Settings > Apps >Manage Apps and uninstalled Maps the normal way. This was the first time the uninstall button was available to me.

    I rebooted into recovery and wiped cache again. Rebooted. Then went to market and downloaded Maps and lo and behold, it installed.

    I'm fairly sure that's what I did. I've been messing w/my phone all day so I may have done 64523 other things and it's all a haze, but I'm pretty sure those are the steps I took.
  17. pigpen
    Offline

    pigpen New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009
    Messages:
    190
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    bronx ny
    Awesome ... this worked for me too like a charm. Thanks jrummy

    i'm running BB V0.2.1 w/smoked glass and Petes stock kernel 800 MHz.
    (still have all my market links too, and currently have updates for handscent and Rom manager)
  18. samiusmc
    Offline

    samiusmc New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2009
    Messages:
    756
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Worked for me running stock froyo FRF57. Thanks for the fix.
  19. thegreydog
    Offline

    thegreydog New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Tried it all and nothing is working. All of the files listed to be removed are off the phone. Installation Error from market and apk. Thoughts?


    Bugless Beast V0.1
  20. jaw4bama
    Offline

    jaw4bama New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2010
    Messages:
    189
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    North Alabama
    Thanks jrummy worked for me!