Problem Flashing SPRecovery

Discussion in 'Android Tech Support' started by emueller2001, Aug 4, 2010.

  1. emueller2001

    emueller2001 New Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Howell, NJ
    Ratings:
    +0
    I am rooting my new Droid (the last one that I had rooted was stolen) and I am trying to flash SPRecovery using RSD Lite. The process went fine and RSD now says to manually power up the phone. The phone rebooted but got stuck on the Motorola logo. It's been stuck there for ten minutes or so. Do I have a problem? Is there anything I can do to unfreeze the boot up? Thanks!

    --Erik
     
  2. deaf leppy

    deaf leppy Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    Messages:
    137
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'd wait for another 20 minutes or so, if you have the time.. If not, sounds like you'll have to do a battery pull and either try another boot, or re flash..
    That's just what I'd do, not saying that's what you have to do..
     
  3. pc747

    pc747 Administrator
    Staff Member Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    23,516
    Likes Received:
    4,727
    Trophy Points:
    1,123
    Ratings:
    +5,280
    Was your battery strong (I recommend 60%) at least 50% before you flashed
     
  4. emueller2001

    emueller2001 New Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Howell, NJ
    Ratings:
    +0
    Pilot, I just found another thread where you helped someone with the same problem. My battery was kind of low, def lower than 50%. I'm going to plug it into the wall to charge for a while. Can I unplug from the computer without messing anything up at this point?

    --Erik
     
  5. pc747

    pc747 Administrator
    Staff Member Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    23,516
    Likes Received:
    4,727
    Trophy Points:
    1,123
    Ratings:
    +5,280
    yes go ahead battery life is more important right now
     
  6. emueller2001

    emueller2001 New Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Howell, NJ
    Ratings:
    +0
    Great, thanks. When it's done charging should it be ok or am I going to need to reflash SPRecovery? RSDLite said everything was fine, it just didn't reboot properly. There were no failures or anything like that. That would make me think that the software was installed ok...
     
  7. pc747

    pc747 Administrator
    Staff Member Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    23,516
    Likes Received:
    4,727
    Trophy Points:
    1,123
    Ratings:
    +5,280
    let it get a good 1hr charge in the wall charger, It should boot up fine. If it dont then just redo the rsdlite sprecovey.
     
  8. emueller2001

    emueller2001 New Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Howell, NJ
    Ratings:
    +0
    Much obliged for your help! :) I'll post back and let you know how it goes.

    --Erik
     
  9. pc747

    pc747 Administrator
    Staff Member Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    23,516
    Likes Received:
    4,727
    Trophy Points:
    1,123
    Ratings:
    +5,280
    alright ill keep my eye out
     
  10. emueller2001

    emueller2001 New Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Howell, NJ
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ok...next morning. Phone charged all night and the Moto logo was still up. I pulled the battery and it hung on the logo again. I pulled the battery again and I was able to enter the bootloader without a problem. I tried reflashing SPRecovery and I got the same result: no errors on the flashing but it hangs on the Moto logo.

    My plan now is to re-download SPRecovery.sbf and try to flash again with that new version. I was using a .sbf file from a few months ago when I rooted my old phone. Maybe there is a newer version or maybe the old file is corrupted somehow...

    Thanks!

    --Erik
     
  11. Tallica

    Tallica Premium Member
    Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Messages:
    3,259
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Location:
    Middleboro, MA
    Ratings:
    +1
    So any results?
     
  12. emueller2001

    emueller2001 New Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Howell, NJ
    Ratings:
    +0
    Reflashed back to the 2.0.1 .sbf and it all looks good at this point. Phone is now running 100% on 2.0.1. Battery shows fully charged.

    I am going to download a new SPRecovery file just in case that old one is corrupted or something.

    The secret so far is not to panic. I knew that as long as I had access to bootloader I wasn't bricked. Now that the phone is fully charged, I'm going to try again with SPRecovery.

    --Erik
     
Search tags for this page

gs2 sprecovery

,

sprecovery sbf for samsung infuse